We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abode Gungahlin(Gungahlin)
US$92
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Diplomat Boutique Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Canberra Parklands Central(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canberra City YHA(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Reviews (3,502)
Filter reviews
3,502 results
Traveler rating
869
1,595
731
203
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
1,595
731
203
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationnorthbourne avenuecar parkingbuffet breakfastper daypleasant staywar memorialnational galleryparliament housevaletsaunacbdaustraliaexhibitionfloriadeeateriescapital
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 3,502 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

With the Easter weekend looming, and the Cartier exhibition about to open at the National Gallery of Australia, it seemed an opportune moment to take our new car for a nice long drive from Melbourne to Canberra.
There have been lots of new hotel options arrive in Canberra over the last few years, but since I have a lot of Accor reward points to get through, we decided to stay at the Novotel.
The location of Novotel Canberra is certainly very, very good. Whether you're in Canberra for business or leisure, the location just can't be beat. The hotel was easy to find, despite the disruption of the Canberra Metro stations, and the car park is also easily located at the rear. Parking was $20 per day, with unlimited entry and exit.
Our check-in was seamless, and we were soon up to our room, 514. We'd booked a one-bedroom apartment, which was the quite small, and which I thought had a lot of wasted space. Nonetheless, the level of cleanliness was very good, except for black scuffs from luggage, etc, up and down most of the walls. This isn't "dirty", as such, but makes a room look tired and unloved. I suggest that housekeeping should invest in some "Magic Eraser" products and give all the rooms a really good once-over.
The bathroom amenities were acceptable, and there was plenty of flow from the shower.
The coffee in the room was instant, but I suppose that one must remember that this is a Novotel, not a Sofitel, so instant is to be expected.
Breakfast was standard hotel buffet, and I have no real complaints.
The only major problem I had was with the other guests. Most were Australian, and it was horrifying to hear the way they spoke to the staff, particularly the staff at the restaurant. There's an old saying about how one can catch more flies with sugar than with s**t, but this seems to have escaped most of the folks who stayed at Novotel Canberra over the weekend. Hell was, indeed, these other hotel guests, the boorish numpties who acted as if they were royalty on a meth bender.
In any case, Novotel Canberra was a reasonable option, and the location was great. Canberra does, however, need a Sofitel, and as soon as possible.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pete-from-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear pete-from-oz,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I agree that the hotel's location is excellent for all of the reasons you mentioned.

Your final remark is very much appreciated and I would like to respond by stating that it is always great to have guests, but especially when we have great guests like yourself. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Adriaan Du Plessis
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A balcony sold as a positive feature with the view of a double construction zone you would not even go out there.

At check in it was obvious yep just another number I was told this is the only room we have so take it or leave hard to leave when they have got your car locked away in there car park. On check out I spoke to the assistant manager and she assured me that she would look into the mater yesterday on the day via my mobile.

Still waiting and very very disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank deanrobertson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear deanrobertson68,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and sharing your feedback with us.

I hope you can accept our sincerest apologies for the challenges you encountered with us. It does not represent the quality of service and standard we aim to achieve at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Novotel for a Canberra get away with my partner! The hotel has a restaurant (which we didn’t eat at) as it is a short 500m walk from the CBD so plenty of food options there. The room had a separate bathroom and TV. The hotel provides a car service which costs $30 per day so if you’re bringing your car, just know it will cost you to park it. We had no problems accessing it when we needed to retrieve items. There is a pool, sauna and spa which we also didn’t use. Not a bad hotel for cost!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Georgia D,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated in providing this encouraging feedback.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at Novotel Canberra and thank you for giving credit to our excellent location and highlighting the friendly atmosphere.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Novotel Canberra.

With kind regards,

Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel. Close to the city and short walk to some good restaurants. Unfortunately light rail construction happening right out side the hotel which is not the hotels fualt. Would have been nice if hotel had a warning on its website at booking. We had a hire car from the airport and parking on sight was reasonable at $20.00 a night. You should park yourself to avoid valet fees. As gold Accor plus card holders the check in process was slow and the reception person found the process complicated for some reason. Considering it was past midnight and we were the only guests checking in it should have been a short process. We were not automatically offered an upgrade room, which we had to ask about and eventually got, after a manager stepped in to assist. Not a good start to our stay. The first day on returning to our room our access card had been removed from the room master power supply switch by housekeeping staff and removed from the room. We had to go down to reception and obtain another access card. I asked the front desk staff why the card was removed from the room by housekeeping and there was no explanation other than “Oh, you wanted your aircon working” yes please that’s what we are paying for. The question is who has told these people to remove and confiscate the access cards if left in the room.? Breakfast is very poor considering they want $30.00 a head. One choice of eggs. Scrambled. When I asked about other choices from the staff I was rudely told “ what do you want then”. Dirty tables, rude staff that did not make you feel welcome and not enough staff on duty. We did attend again for an evening meal and could not find anything on the menu as it was very restrictive with poor choices. They are more interested in the bar service and once again not a good place to be. The room that we got was very nice and had obviously been upgraded although the carpet was dirty and the carpet in the hall ways was old and in a filthy condition with Stains everywhere. Not very nice for a Novotel. Very disappointing. Whoever is responsible for managing this hotel needs to fix this now. Three star max rating at this time until staff are trained properly and the hotels presentation is improved greatly. Don’t stay here it’s not worth the money.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Don G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I am pleased to say that the carpets in the hallways are scheduled for replacement as they are not dirty, but shaded due to the pile falling flat.

I apologise as well for the staff removing the key card from your room. The hotel participates in the company's environmental program called Planet 21 and switching off of air conditioners when guests are not in the rooms are part of the energy savings initiatives. The ACT is also working towards 100% renewable energy use by 2020. I am also sorry to hear that the service in the restaurant was not up to standard. The hotel does have scrambled eggs on the buffet, however does offer an array of eggs to order, as well as special offers to meet dietary requirements such as gluten free bread etc.

If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warm regards,

Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews