We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of The Hay Barn Cafe

The Hay Barn Cafe
Ranked #10 of 233 Restaurants in Newark-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Situated in a beautifully converted old hay barn which is part of the Kneesall Estates, The Hay Barn prides itself on serving well presented top quality food using local ingredients. Our specials board changes frequently depending on what has been grown, picked and delivered by our suppliers that day. We also stock a growing range of superb local produce: from ales, ciders and liqueurs to jams, sauces and chutneys - all of which at used in our menu. As well as indoor seating we have a beautiful Barn Yard eating area which catches the sun all day - a perfect place for enjoying a delicious home cooked breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I had lunch here on Easter Monday. My son and daughter-in-law brought me as I live in Suffolk and was visiting. The bubble and squeak was lovely and the lemon cake I had was about the best I’ve ever had. Gorgeous. There’s lots of lovely cafes in Suffolk but the Hay Barn is up there with the best. Hope to go again! (Unable to access the ‘service etc) but would give top marks for all)

Thank NanaBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey C, Owner at The Hay Barn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Wow, what a great review, thank you. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Hay Barn and it's reassuring to hear that we are up there with the best Suffolk has to offer. Thanks again for your time taken in reviewing our cafe and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Saw this little gem on fb thought we would have a run out and sample the food. Wow... lovely homemade food, delicious ❤

Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey C, Owner at The Hay Barn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for giving us a go and I'm pleased to hear that word of our cafe is spreading. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Truly lovely place for breakfast lunch or tea. The food here is to a very high standard all cooked on the premises by the team at the hay barn. Everything is beautifully presented and portions are generous at reasonable prices. It's a lovely comfortable place at anytime of the day but be prepared to wait for a table it is that good. Today we sampled the new addition to the menu of scotch eggs all made in house. They were wonderful with the addition of the spiced pumpkin sauce. Lovely friendly staff who work incredibly hard to make this in my opinion the best cafe for miles around.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henryroley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey C, Owner at The Hay Barn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much. What a great review and its fantastic to hear that you have noticed all the things we work really hard to achieve. Sometimes our customers do have to wait for a table, however we do our best to seat customers as quickly as we can and hopefully, when we get some better weather, our outdoor seating area will help relieve the wait.
Thank you once again, your comments are most valued and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Called in to have lunch st the Hay Barn Cafe in the village of Kneesall near Newark.

Very friendly and clean place on arrival and a real country barn feel on the inside. Stacked with good home made produce such as condiments, pickles and preserves.

We ordered the plowmans meal which was excellent and huge. Really good cheeses and meats. It says on the menu you will not be disappointed and believe me we weren’t. Ham, pork pie, cheeses, salad, bread sticks, crusty bread, chutney - pickled onion - delicious all for less than £10. It comes on a huge slate tray. All cakes and quiches are home made and there is a real family feel to the place.

I gave them 5 stars and they deserve it! Even if you just want a piece of cake and a coffee it’s worth a visit.

Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey C, Owner at The Hay Barn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe and for your kind comments. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Ploughman's, they are very popular with our customers and they are a dish we love to serve.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stopped for lunch yesterday and enjoyed a fine ploughman’s and mushrooms on toast. The place was very busy but staff were attentive and accommodating.

Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey C, Owner at The Hay Barn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do tend to get busy across the lunch period but do our best to seat customers as quickly as we can. Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hay Barn Cafe also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Hay Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing