We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Japanese Teppanyaki”

Nogusaya Teppanyaki & Grill Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Nongsa
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: For guests who enjoy LIVE cooking, Nogusaya serves Japanese Teppanyaki and Grill offering a visual and gastronomic treat as the Teppan Chef whips out a tantalising meal of prime meats, seafood and vegetables right in front of you. Nogusaya is located on the same level of Taming Sari, Level 1.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Teppanyaki”
Reviewed May 5, 2016

We had a lunch and a dinner here, returning because of the juicy steaks and beef. The flavours of the beef was well sealed in and I highly recommend their New Zealand sirloin, either as teppanyaki or as grill. The dishes are a bit on the saltier side, mainly because only salt and pepper was used to season the dishes.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Alvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special food at a Special Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 25, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet getaway a few weeks ago in the Nongsa area of Batam. We decided to try the Nogusaya restaurant on our final night and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed both the show (we sat grill-side in the restaurant and watched the chef cook all the food) and the food! The meat was tender and delicious. The fried rice was expertly cooked! The price is perhaps slightly high by Batam standards (about IDR700,000 for the two of us), but probably quite cheap by Singapore or U.S. standards. I would recommend this as a special place to go!

  • Visited April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Telunas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Hilaire-d'Ozilhan, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is far from Teppanyaki”
Reviewed February 13, 2016

I longed for teppanyaki and the layout of the place was promising. The friendly cook looked as if he hadn't done anything else in his life. But the meat was tough, the vegetables boring and the flavour that sesame oil and mirin and grated ginger could have added to it all was not there. It didn't help that the cook concluded the session with a little fire-spiel on the griddle.

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozilhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Taste Sensation”
Reviewed January 31, 2016

A great and tasty experience. Staff excellent, never disappointed whenever we have been there.
Hot and cold Sake, yum yum and the chefs perform a few more things like the egg tossing that I have seen before would be good. Let them interact more with the guests.
Serving staff are attentive and everything comes at a good pace, a relaxed delicious dining experience. To be tried for sure.

Thanks all.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank 167Happiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia, Argentina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food, poor restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

1 for the food that is truly good
0 for the price that is way too expensive in Indonesia.
0 for the atmosphere that is old and just not good feeling.
0 for the location (far from everything in Batam)
0 for the staff that even if they are friendly, they are incompetent and useless.

Total 1/5

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank elPatagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nogusaya Teppanyaki & Grill Restaurant also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Nogusaya Teppanyaki & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing