We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,201)
Filter reviews
2,201 results
Traveler rating
850
738
347
156
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
850
738
347
156
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room leisure facilities lovely grounds small lake evening meal main building set menu lovely hotel drawing room bar prices buffet style stable block a lovely stay relaxing break afternoon tea birthday treat four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 2,201 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We have just had two lovely nights at this hotel on a Bed breakfast and evening meal.

Our room was very spacious even though the bathroom could do with a bit of updating.
Food was excellent and staff arervery friendly and helpful.
Grounds are lovely and really enjoyed the spa

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shfalkeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Mercure Albrighton Hall hotel & Spa

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nicki Titley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This review is addressed to the catering manager. The restaurant service on the evening of 1 April 2018 was all over the place. It was surprising to be asked to “wait outside” the Oak Room in the corridor while the table was prepared. The starter arrived far too quickly, the main course took almost half an hour to come (the fish was overcooked). After another half hour I had to ask for the dessert menu. Two hours over dinner could be considered leisurely, but I was dining alone so some recognition of the needs of the lone diner would have been appreciated.

The day hadn’t started well. My order of a ham sandwich from the bar at lunchtime took 25 minutes and only arrived after I had to ask. The menu description of ham with apple chutney and rocket materialised as ham, tomato and lettuce.

A pity, as this was my first stay at a Mercure hotel as a loyalty cardholder.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
2  Thank Davidsw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be rest assured your comments have been passed through to our Food & Beverage Manager Angela and our Head Chef Debbie so that they are able to review and offer more training in areas that may be required, We do thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nicki Titley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have just come back totally relaxed from staying here for two days, the hotel was excellent, staff were extremely polite and helpful, the room was spotless and the food was superb! I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms in the "School Masters House"
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Mercure Albrighton Hall hotel & Spa

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nicki Titley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Myself & my partner stayed at The Mercure Hotel,Shrewsbury as part of a Wowcher deal.
The hotel is a partly a renovated school & is situated about four miles out of Shrewsbury on the edge of Albrighton Village.
We had an excellent stay. Our room was comfortable & spacious,clean & well appointed. Our evening meal meal was very good & enjoyed in a wood panelled restaurant. I had whitebait as a starter & steak as a main course. Breakfast was pretty standard fare but well cooked & presented.
All in all a very relaxing two day stay. During the day we explored the lovely medieval city of Shrewsbury. We found the best option was to use "Park & Ride". The terminus was situated about ten minutes drive from the hotel at a suburb called Battle.
A great stay which may well be repeated. Recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Mercure Albrighton Hall hotel & Spa

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nicki Titley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Room had everything we needed and expected and was also very spacious. The bathroom had no heating other than a heated towel rail but that wasn’t too much of a problem. We were on the ground floor in the Masters House but experienced a lot of floorboard noise from the room above which became a nuisance after we had retired to bed. We had a good side view of the main building and the pretty gardens in the front. The room was clean and serviced well. My personal disappointment was our restricted menu as part of our two day deal with Wowcher. We were not informed that it was only a two course dinner but not told we could have upgraded to other choices. However all of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. A very nice little break and we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If your not a heavy sleeper ask for an upper room. Get to breakfast early.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Z8854NZcarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Mercure Albrighton Hall hotel & Spa

I will be sure to pass your comments regarding the noisy floorboards to our maintenance department in order for them to investigate this further. Nonetheless we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nicki Titley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews