We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Agoda.com
$12
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
25
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
6
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2019

I travelled alone with Cresta de Gallo in mind and it brought me to this wonderful place. I was met by the owner who eventually helped me out as my pair of flipflop gave up on me (lent me his own).. staff were great and friendly.. and the property - it was all worth the travel! stunning views at the viewpoint which is an easy hike (with Mt. Guiting-Guiting on one side and the breathtaking sunset at Magdiwang Bay on the other).. the rooms are made of fine wood (Im a lover of structures made of wood) and very clean & spacious.. The owner arranged for my Cresta de Gallo trip and gave me tips in the whole Island.. very welcoming and accommodating..

I’d highly recommend staying here first if you’re bound for Cresta de Gallo or just stay here to commune with nature..

I rarely write reviews, but this place and the people that make this place are remarkable.. Wish I could stay longer..

Thank you Sanctuary Garden Resort team for your warmth and genuine hospitality. Will surely be back - this time with family or maybe friends!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank manlalakBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

The best place in the island. The hospitality of the owner Mr Edgar and his wife,They are both very kind and friendly. We felt like we are not just a guest. The room is clean and espicially the restroom. In just a small island this place is more than perfect compare to any other place we been. To there staff espicially Bong who always been helpful to us.. This guy is amazing he only smile.. We highly recommend this place for your stay in Sibuyan.. You feel like home, very quite, clean, the food is fresh..

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank DianneG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

This place is located in very beautiful nature setting. We stayed at the executive bungalow that had a nice balcony and very clean and spacious bathroom. Nothing to complain about the accommodation at all.

However, nothing else we experienced in this place was satisfying. We read a lot of nice reviews about the staff but our experience was totally opposite. All the staff were very young girls who barely spoke any english. They were clearly not taught any basic customer service skills and made us feel absolutely uncofortable and not appriciated with their rudeness. Nobody around the resort greeted us, usually not even when we first greeted them. They didn’t understand basic questions and were not cabable of helping us planning our stay in Sibuyan.

We booked and prepaid this resort for four nights in advance but left after one night. We figured it’s better to loose money for 3 nights than to stay here. We even requested to meet the owner but this was never arranged for us.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Pekka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
edgar_mayor, Owner at Sanctuary Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Hello Sir/Mam: Thank you for your review regarding our accommodation. We sincerely apologize however about your experience with the "incompetent staff".
During your visit, Sanctuary Garden was hosting Immersion Program with the Magdiwang National High School. In this program we host about 72 young students in batches of about 7 students per forthnight in order to be immersed or exposed to the real workworld of hospitality establishments and some to private and government offices. Those assigned to Sanctuary Garden is expected to be able to overcome their shyness and learn to talk comfortably with stranger-customers and to learn the skills of providing basic customer service. Most of these young students come from poor and marginal families trying to finish secondary education.
I personally manage Sanctuary Garden as the managing owner. When you came, i had an urgent trip to Manila. Unfortunately, my wife who assists me in running the business had to come with me.
Your review has helped me decide to employ an assistant when I and my wife are out.
If ever you have a plan of coming back, we will be glad to compensate your bad experience with us by crediting the 3 paid nights you did not use and we are determined to give you better service. Otherwise, I wish to reiterate my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The resort was beautiful as it was surrounded with plants and nice view of the mountain.

We loved how they lay out the grounds and the rooms. Our room is located behind the main restaurant and lobby. Room was neat, pillows, beds and sheets were clean/comfortable, space had enough leg room and the view is amazing.

The food served were delicious. Our favorite drink was their mango shake. It is a must try.

Good service and kudos to the staff.

Recommending this to all types of travelers.

Room tip: Loved our room behind the restaurant and lobby
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank may_mktgnbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

My friends and I wanted to just stay in Sanctuary Garden. But we never expected that Tito Edgar Mayor will go beyond what we had expected.

It is a given that Sanctuary Garden is indeed a haven - relaxing ambience, lush greens, good food. And my favorite part is that it has a fresh water river in its premises where you can actually swim!

All other accommodations may present the same amenities, but what makes Sanctuary Garden stand out is how we were taken care of by Tito Edgar and his staff. What started as an inquiry turned into him providing recommendations and helping us plan the rest of our itinerary, from transportation to food. He even did the same for the Romblon island leg of our trip - such invaluable help for first timers like us!

The place is majestic as it is, and one has to see it for himself. I will have no qualms coming back to enjoy what Sanctuary Garden has yet to offer and see more of Sibuyan Island.

Kudos!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews