We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Agoda.com
$12
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
25
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
6
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 32 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

This place is located in very beautiful nature setting. We stayed at the executive bungalow that had a nice balcony and very clean and spacious bathroom. Nothing to complain about the accommodation at all.

However, nothing else we experienced in this place was satisfying. We read a lot of nice reviews about the staff but our experience was totally opposite. All the staff were very young girls who barely spoke any english. They were clearly not taught any basic customer service skills and made us feel absolutely uncofortable and not appriciated with their rudeness. Nobody around the resort greeted us, usually not even when we first greeted them. They didn’t understand basic questions and were not cabable of helping us planning our stay in Sibuyan.

We booked and prepaid this resort for four nights in advance but left after one night. We figured it’s better to loose money for 3 nights than to stay here. We even requested to meet the owner but this was never arranged for us.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Pekka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
edgar_mayor, Owner at Sanctuary Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Hello Sir/Mam: Thank you for your review regarding our accommodation. We sincerely apologize however about your experience with the "incompetent staff".
During your visit, Sanctuary Garden was hosting Immersion Program with the Magdiwang National High School. In this program we host about 72 young students in batches of about 7 students per forthnight in order to be immersed or exposed to the real workworld of hospitality establishments and some to private and government offices. Those assigned to Sanctuary Garden is expected to be able to overcome their shyness and learn to talk comfortably with stranger-customers and to learn the skills of providing basic customer service. Most of these young students come from poor and marginal families trying to finish secondary education.
I personally manage Sanctuary Garden as the managing owner. When you came, i had an urgent trip to Manila. Unfortunately, my wife who assists me in running the business had to come with me.
Your review has helped me decide to employ an assistant when I and my wife are out.
If ever you have a plan of coming back, we will be glad to compensate your bad experience with us by crediting the 3 paid nights you did not use and we are determined to give you better service. Otherwise, I wish to reiterate my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The resort was beautiful as it was surrounded with plants and nice view of the mountain.

We loved how they lay out the grounds and the rooms. Our room is located behind the main restaurant and lobby. Room was neat, pillows, beds and sheets were clean/comfortable, space had enough leg room and the view is amazing.

The food served were delicious. Our favorite drink was their mango shake. It is a must try.

Good service and kudos to the staff.

Recommending this to all types of travelers.

Room tip: Loved our room behind the restaurant and lobby
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank may_mktgnbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

My friends and I wanted to just stay in Sanctuary Garden. But we never expected that Tito Edgar Mayor will go beyond what we had expected.

It is a given that Sanctuary Garden is indeed a haven - relaxing ambience, lush greens, good food. And my favorite part is that it has a fresh water river in its premises where you can actually swim!

All other accommodations may present the same amenities, but what makes Sanctuary Garden stand out is how we were taken care of by Tito Edgar and his staff. What started as an inquiry turned into him providing recommendations and helping us plan the rest of our itinerary, from transportation to food. He even did the same for the Romblon island leg of our trip - such invaluable help for first timers like us!

The place is majestic as it is, and one has to see it for himself. I will have no qualms coming back to enjoy what Sanctuary Garden has yet to offer and see more of Sibuyan Island.

Kudos!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Me and my husband were here with our 3 friends, we originally planned to stay for 3 nights but because of the rainy season(boat transfers to romblon were cancelled) we extended one more night.
The place itself is lovely and quiet, the gardens are beautiful, our rooms were all nice and clean, beds are comfy and the showers are amazing!
The owner Sir Edgar was just incredible, he went above and beyond to make sure our stay was great even though the weather was bad, he made sure that we had a great time, we were able to explore most of the island and was able to see the cleanest rivers in the country! thank you sir Edgar and to your lovely staff for taking good care of us!
all in all it was a great experience and hopefully we can come back in the summer to explore more of the island! Highly recommended!

Room tip: rooms with hot showers are great especially on rainy season
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROXYLADY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

After discovering Sibuyan a little bit, I am convinced that Sanctuary Garden Resort is probably the best place to stay on the island. The location is great, the room we stayed in was clean and spacious but a little bit outdated (it actually smelled moldy in the room - not sure, whether it was due to rainy season etc.), the aircon loud, at the same time I was missing a fan that would have been totally sufficient, the bathroom with marble tiles nice but after coming back from a morning run I had no water in the shower.

However, the buildings and the garden have been designed in an authentic way, and it is beautiful to be in nature. The food I would rate as surprisingly boring. I read many reviews here and maybe I just ordered the wrong things (we had at least 10 different items, though), but I could not tell it was special or even good.

All in all, still a good experience (I would rate it with 3.5), the rooms are fairly priced, and given the fact that Sibuyan is really remote, one should not expect that everything is perfect, especially food-wise. It is a good place to start your Sibuyan adventure around Mt. Guiting-Guiting.

Date of stay: August 2017
2  Thank johnr110783
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews