We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RESTURANT WITH A VIEW”
Review of Sierra Mar

Sierra Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$120
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: High atop the cliffs, offering breathtaking views is Sierra Mar, winner of Wine Spectator's prestigious Grand Award. Offering an unconventional fine dining experience, Executive Chef John Cox presents inquisitive food creations featuring ingredients highlighted by a sense of place and culture. Selections from the award-winning wine cellar enhance the innovative, inspired cuisine.
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We would have breakfast every morning to an unbelievable view of the ocean. Food quality and service was beyond excellent.

Thank DEBRA-RUSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Geanides, General Manager at Sierra Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

DEBRA-RUSS,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write your review of Sierra Mar. Literally a breath taking view. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 683 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2015

Celebrated my 50th birthday here. We made an early reservation to try to catch the sunset, but since we weren't staying at the resort, we weren't allowed to come any earlier than our 5:30 reservation time, so we missed the sunset. While that was a bit annoying, the food and service was very good. Everything we had from the tasting menu was superb. Would recommend for a special night out - perhaps in the summer so you can enjoy the sunset!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wapatula87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Geanides, General Manager at Sierra Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Wapatula87,

Thank you for celebrating such a special birthday with us. The tasting menu is the best way to truly experience Chef Cox's taste of Big Sur. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2015

A lovely restaurant perched over the ocean. The breakfasts were terrific. We ate there on two evenings too and the food was fresh and excellent.

1  Thank FranDob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Geanides, General Manager at Sierra Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015

FranDob,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2015

We came here for lunch on a whim. We were concerned we would be underdressed (I had on sneakers and jeans for a day of sightseeing through Big Sur), but for lunch, we were ok. The views here are unobstructed and pretty amazing. The architecture in the dining room is great- there is a wood burning fireplace, and a nice outdoor deck with a fire pit that gives the place a warm, cozy feel. The food was fine- there were some vegetarian options to choose from, which we appreciated, but nothing special. Service was fantastic- our waitress was warm and attentive. Overall, worth a stop if you're in Big Sur.

Thank Corey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Geanides, General Manager at Sierra Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015

Corey L,

Sierra Mar is such a beautiful restaurant, we are very happy you joined us. It is not uncommon for guests to stop by after a hike. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015

You expect when eating lunch at a place that charges $1000+/night, that it is going to be out of this world. While good I would not say it was mind blowing. $55 for a 3 course lunch (I had salad, wagyu burger and spice cake). The burger was excellent while the other items were ok. They kept mixing up the food with the next table and bread was brought out with butter that needed to defrost. Great view and worth a visit if you're in the area. However, doesn't feel like a 5 star experience for the cost.

1  Thank Dlbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Geanides, General Manager at Sierra Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015

Dlbos,

Thank you for writing about your experience. I am disheartened to hear your experience was less than stellar. We appreciate your point of view and will take your comments into consideration. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing