We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,453)
Filter reviews
7,453 results
Traveler rating
4,558
1,776
653
266
200
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,558
1,776
653
266
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world cafe plunge pool preferred club seaside grill el patio swim up bar kids club french restaurant explorers club coco cafe oceana restaurant ocean view paella wedding coordinator family vacation destination wedding master suite
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 7,453 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was our second trip to Mexico. The first time we stayed at the Now Jade. We got suckered into the whole time share thing at the Now (do not get hooked into this scam, especially Canadians). For our 'free' week we chose to stay at the Dreams this time, since it is supposed to be a level up. It wasn't. The resort is nice but not as nice as the Now. Overall the staff were not as friendly, the pools were not at nice, pool side service was lacking compared to the Now, with the exception of Alejandrio (sp?) he was amazing. The buffet was half the size of the Now. The beach is full of sea weed which has nothing to do with the resort. They do their very best to keep it clean but it makes it difficult to go swimming. One of the things that really bothered us were the number of people walking around smoking. Even smoking in the cabanas that have thatched roofs. They are not supposed to be smoking in those areas but no one enforced it until we complained. They need to go over the smoking policies with guests when they arrive. The outstanding things we would like to mention are some of the workers there, Gabriella, Jose Diaz & another Jose at the Seaside grill. Paedro at the buffet and Oceanside Grill, David the amazing server at El Patio, FANTASTIC, and Alejandrio at the pool. All of them were excellent, great service, kind, funny. They made our stay fabulous. The house keeping staff did a great job keeping the room very clean and well appointed. Our hats off to all of your hard work. We would also like to commend the resort on not using straws. They are a scourge to the environment and we thrilled to see that they do not use them. Kudos. Will we stay at the Dreams again? No, since we know that the Now Jade is better but it wasn't horrible. Costs less to go to the Now so you will get more bang for your buck there. Just do not get scammed into the stupid timeshare not matter what they are giving your for 'free' say NO!! On a side note, if you stay here and decide to walk the beach and go into Puerto Moreales it takes about an hr not 20 mins as we were told and you have to walk past a nude beach. My husband didn't mind that too much but our 13 yr old son was a bit shocked. Made for a good laugh though.

Room Tip: The room we had was well appointed (King size with ocean view) but a bit small for adding a cot as we had requested. Great if it was just for 2 people. Staff keep it very clean. Make sure you show your appreciation for their hard work.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tworussians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeKarla, eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear tworussians,


Thank you very much for choosing our resort to spend your vacations and for taking the time to share your personal experience.

On the other side, we are terribly sorry to read that some of our services couldn’t fulfill your expectations, be certain that we will share your comments with the departments involved.

We truly hope someday you can give us a another chance as we are sure that we will be able to change these perceptions and show you the services and standards that has giving us countless international awards such as being a Four Diamond Resort by the AAA, receiving the Certificate of Excellence for seven consecutive years and be part of the Travelers Choice list 2017 as one of the Best Family Resorts in Mexico, these last two awards by TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Karla Ortiz
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had a great time March 24 to March 30 2018 at Dreams Riveria Cancun.

The basics:

Pros: Service, Service, Service – the customer service was overall fantastic. Food was very good and kids could eat grown up food or have kids food any time. Resort was clean and well maintained. The little chocolate chip cookies which were everywhere – best ever.

Cons: WiFi – was absolutely horrible. Also there were not as many kids activities as we had hoped / expected. Explorers club really for younger kids than mine (10 and 12). Sometimes cleaning carts started pretty early and woke us up. Lots of noise in our room from shows (we were very close to the entrance).

I did not get reimbursed to write this review.

Details:
Service -
The most amazing thing about the Dreams resort (and its sister Secrets resorts) is the fantatic service everyone gives from the front desk to the pool. Abrahim, the manager of Oceana heard that I was asking about el pulpo (octopus) I had had on my last trip. In an unbelievably generous gesture he invited me and my family to come back the next day and had prepared octopus ceviche, salmon ceviche and grilled octopus – enough for a small army. It was amazing. Our waiter at Oceana, Jesus, and the hostess Yadira were also both awesome. Other folks who stood out were Antonio at Portofino, David at El Patio, Daniel at Himitsu (as well as the Himitsu manager whose name I’m sorry I did not get, the wonderful ladies at the coco café, and Juan our poolside waiter many days. While these folks stood out EVERY person I met at the resort was always happy to try and help. While many of the cleaning and maintenance staff speak little English my high school Spanish was enough to communicate and they always tried to help. This was our experience at the Secrets resorts in the past which was one of the main reasons we chose Dreams when taking the kids.

Food –
The food was excellent or very good. The breakfast buffet was excellent except for the omission of guacamole which we expected after Secrets. Some of the buffet food was a slight downgrade from the adults only buffet but still excellent. We enjoyed Oceana, Portofino and El Patio. The calamari salad at Himitsu was amazing. Seaside grill was good for lunch and for breakfast. The kids (10 boy and 12 girl) always found something to eat and got to try many new foods. For people with smaller kids it seemed like there was always noodles or chicken fingers around. The only restaurant we did not try was the French one but everything else was great. The pool side buffet had burgers and hot dogs along with chips and fries almost all day and each day something new was cooked poolside (fajitas one day, paella another). The drinks were very good though we mostly stuck to beer and wine for alcohol due to some of the issues in the news though we met many folks drinking liquor without a problem. The kids had a kids drink of the day which was fun (until they got home and discovered the drink of the day at home is “tap water”). Ice cream or some other treat as well as an adult drink were also available at the pool. The dinner buffet was a bit of a disappointment and I recommend avoiding if you can. The coco café was a great coffee shop and had my special chocolate chip cookies (See above) all day. The coco café also started service gelato of about 8 different types at about 9ish each day unti they closed at 10.

Beach/pool-
The beach, like all the riveria maya beaches, has a serious seaweed problem. They try and keep it clean but it’s a losing battle. This resort had a reasonable amount of beach for volleyball and soccer activities and plenty of little huts to sit under. The pools were all great with the infinity pool and swim up bar the standout. Chairs around the pool began to fill up by about 815-830 for prime spots (I went down at 750 each morning and got a good set of pool or beach side seats no problem.)

Entertainment-
Unlike my experiences at Secrets the entertainment staff were not quite as engaged with the guests. However, they ran non stop activities for the adults and kids. Bracelet making, crazy game of the day, volleyball (pool and beach), soccer one day, daily bike rides into town (my wife and daughter did this and had a good time and felt safe), water aerobics etc. We had believed there were special activities for teens but never saw them and friends we ran into at the resort said their 15yo did not find any. My son, 10, tried out the explorers club but it was very “young”. Things like face painting, kiddie ball games, movies etc were not his speed so he spent the time with us or his sister. The parents with little kids said their kids enjoyed it. Entertainment in the evening usually had a kids show about 730 or 8 then a more adult but still kid friendly show from 830 to 930 or 10. We particularly enjoyed the magician they had. In between they usually had live music or a kid friendly dance party. In addition to all this they had ceviche making classes and a paella making demo. Sadly the tequila tasting was cancelled after a bunch of us waited 30 minutes – never found out why. After the group entertainment ended there was a party in the nightclub. I went up for a few minutes one night and it seemed like a nice party though the club is very small. Good place for drinks and pool or a game.

Room –
We did not upgrade so had a 2 double bed room. It was a bit tight for 4 of us but very doable and bigger than a typical US hotel room. The shower was nice (took some practice to get the water temp right) and was kept clean by Shayla who did a fantastic job. For better or worse after being in the sun all day we were tired by 10ish and due to our room being right by the main entry area where the stage is set up nightly for the shows it was often loud up to 1030 or 11 but we survived. Getting a room a bit away from the main area (where check in is) might be good particularly if you have little ones.

Wi Fi-
If there was one actual negative of the trip it was this. Intermittent connections, even in the room. I do IT and still had a lot of trouble getting connections. There was also a strange 3 device per room limit so with 4 people and 6 or 7 devices this became a challenge. While I’m all for not using phones on a trip it would have been nice to have reliable wifi to text with my daughter when she had gone off on her own but it was not to be. This was not the case the the Secrets resorts I’ve been to and every other guest at this Dream constantly complained about the wifi (especially the teens and pre-teens).

Overall: Amazing service like you usually see at AMR resorts in Mexico, great food with plenty of choices for all ages. Good entertainment but could use a few more options for older kids since the explorers club is really for the 8 and under set. Best chocolate chip cookies ever and tasty gelato. Horrible WiFi. Would definitely come back again. I hope this review helps someone make a decision. Cheers.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeKarla, eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Jonathan S,

Greetings from Dreams Riviera Cancun!

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments about our staff assistance, gastronomical offer, cleanliness, activities, surroundings and overall services during your recent family vacation at our resort.

Nothing makes us happier than to learn that the service provided was surpassing expectations and our guests receive the quality service they deserve.

Be confident that Abraham, Jesús, Yadira, Antonio, David, Daniel, Juan and Sheyla will be delighted to learn that you have acknowledged their hard work and we are proud to have them as part of the Dreams Riviera Cancun team.

We truly appreciate your kind observations about the areas where we need to improve our services, be certain that we will share it with the department involved.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again to add more amazing memories to your family travel experiences.

Kind regards,


Karla Ortiz
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is not 4/5 star, more like 2/3... rooms are so small, can’t even put 3 suitcases in them, they basically all accommodate max 2 people, no place to sit other than on the bed, no dresser or table. We have been to lots of other resorts in Mexico & never seen such terrible rooms as this place (especially for a family resort). Forget VIP service— unless you want a few finger foods (which are the same they serve at main buffet), nothing special. Pools are packed and chairs on top of each other, and people put towels out in middle of night.
No reservations for restaurants, so expect to wait 1-1.5 hours for a table... or go to buffet which is disgusting. Other things outside of resort control, but nonetheless terrible— beach covered in seaweed (unswimable), super loud rooms/halls, night shows are no good, kids club offers maybe 1fun activity per day (other stuff is same most everyday) and twice in our 3 days here the pools have been shut down for personal accidents (turd alerts)...so gross!
Waiting for this bad Dream to be over!!! Of course resort staff could care less, as we have already paid in full.
This place gives Dreams a bad reputation, they need to get it out of their portfolio of resorts, would never stay at another Dreams after this experience (much prefer Azul, Paradisus or Hard Rock).

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank DeniseM1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeKarla, eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear DeniseM1232014,


Thank you very much for choosing our resort to spend your vacations and for taking the time to share your personal experience.

On the other side, we are terribly sorry to read that some of our services couldn’t fulfill your expectations, be certain that we will share your comments with the departments involved.

We truly hope someday you can give us a another chance as we are sure that we will be able to change these perceptions and show you the services and standards that has giving us countless international awards such as being a Four Diamond Resort by the AAA, receiving the Certificate of Excellence for seven consecutive years and be part of the Travelers Choice list 2017 as one of the Best Family Resorts in Mexico, these last two awards by TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Karla Ortiz
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had our wedding here in March 2018. It was fantastic! Our wedding coordinator Natalia Del Olmo was so detailed and great to work with. She didn't miss a thing and made sure everything was perfect for our special day. Natalia and her team exceeded our expectations from the beginning to the moment we left! The resort has great food, friendly service, and is family orientated. Its a great place for a vacation or destination wedding. We will diffidently be back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeKarla, eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Heather P,

Greetings from Dreams Riviera Cancun!

Thank you very much for sharing your great comments about our staff assistance, surroundings and overall services during your wedding held in our resort, it has such an honor to be part of this special event.

Nothing makes us happier than to learn that the service provided was surpassing expectations and our guests receive the quality service they deserve, especially in such a unique and special event in our guest´s love story.

Be confident that Natalia will be delighted to learn that you have acknowledged her hard work and we are proud to have her as part of the Dreams Riviera Cancun team.

We will be looking forward seeing you again to add more amazing memories to your romantic getaway experiences.

Kind regards,


Karla Ortiz
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My daughter (14) and I visited Dreams Riviera for a 7-day stay last week. It is a really beautiful spot with lots to offer. The staff was consistently pleasant and helpful, always responding with "it's my pleasure" to any question or request. Our room was beautiful, and the common areas are well designed. The pools are nice, and we never had trouble finding a place to sit on the beach. A little tougher to find chairs near the pools. The Bali beds behind the Seaside Restaurant are the BEST! They are first come, first served but are usually taken early in the morning. They open up in the afternoons and are a perfect spot to rest in the shade. The food is decent, and we actually preferred the more simple offerings - coffee and pastries from Coco's Café, the nacho bar at the pool, and the outdoor Italian restaurant next to the spa. Wonderful pizza! As nice as the resort it, there are a few con's I should mention. The rooms are NOT sound proof in any sense. We could clearly hear the conversations next door, and their alarm woke us up earlier than our own. Also, our room (2325) overlooked the hotel's "work shop" - a tented area where repairs are done - so we heard circular saws and drills all day. This made it unpleasant to use the balcony. The beach is nice but you won't want to get in the water - about 12 feet of seaweed to push through before you reach water that is nice to swim/play. Stick with the pools. Overall, a very nice spot.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the South side (2000's) that overlook the back of the hotel. Very loud.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeKarla, eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Claudia G,

Greetings from Dreams Riviera Cancun!

Thank you very much for choosing our resort to spend your family vacations at the Mexican Caribbean and for your fantastic comments about our staff assistance, pool and room facilities, gastronomical offer, surroundings and overall services.

Nothing makes us happier than to learn that the service provided was surpassing expectations and our guests receive the quality service they deserve.

We truly appreciate your kind observations about the areas you consider we need to improve our services, be certain that we will share it with the department involved.

We truly hope to have the chance to host you again to add more amazing memories to your family travel experiences.


Kind regards,

Karla Ortiz
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews