We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
brian s
Chicago, Illinois

Samal Island day trip from Davao.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 16, 2024via mobile
This is a fun and relaxing place to visit when you are in Davao. The road to the port is easy to miss. The sun is small but it’s directly across from Waterman Water Supply. Parking is easy. The attendants guide you to a spot. Tip them when you leave.
The boat is efficient and runs regularly. The ride is fast. Maybe 5-10 mins. They have their own boats.
Once you get there you pay an inexpensive entrance fee and they help you find a table that will by yours for the day.
The service is wonderful. The food is tasty with a good variety. I’m American and a picky eater. My family is Filipino and loves all the food.
I got a massage there. 700php for an hour. I didn’t book it until I got there. Easy.
When in Davao take this trip.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Arrive early to get a good parking spot. Go early to get a good table location by the beach.
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
la piscina
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
4.7 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
    0.4 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      ₱19,529
    • Trip.com
    12.7 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    8.5 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      10.8 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      ₱1,679
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      4.6 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      Free parking
      ₱8,366
      Fully refundable
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      • Expedia.com
        ₱8,366
      1.6 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        ₱12,827
      • Vio.com
      1.1 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      The Pool at the Chema's by the Sea Resort
      • Priceline
      • Official Site
        ₱14,500
      • ZenHotels.com
      0.8 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      Free parking
      Pool
      ₱8,503
      • Expedia.com
        ₱9,447
      • Agoda.com
        ₱8,032
      • Hotels.com
        ₱9,450
      1.6 km from Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Island Garden City of Samal
      Reviews (526)
      Filter reviews
      526 results
      Traveler rating
      214
      215
      60
      18
      19
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveler rating
      214
      215
      60
      18
      19
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews mini zoo beach resort davao city day trip band playing table tennis white sand beach halo halo low tide the beach is nice place is clean fish a bit pricey family and friends paradise playground water
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 526 reviews
      Reviewed November 14, 2023

      They have a good quality services. The place was very relaxing and peaceful. The children enjoyed so much because they have a playground and different birds everywhere. The staff are approachable and friendly. They do their job accurately and insure that their guest enjoy and have a best experience.

      Room tip: Just explore everywhere and you will be amazed, enjoyed, satisfied, learned and renewed!
      Date of stay: December 2022
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank lhang16
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed November 3, 2023

      Great place for little kids. The beach is clean and safe. Water is ideal for 10years old and below.
      Although the resort doesnt allow bringing of food, they allowed us to bring some lootbags and candies when they learned that it was my son's bday. They even placed a surprise birthday card on his pillow. Food is quite expensive but delicious.

      Room tip: Swim early in the morning , 6-9am.
      Date of stay: November 2023
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank farrah S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed October 2, 2023

      We actually went as a couple and with friends. There's no option for that here.

      I am going to repeat some things you will have read in other reviews but there is much more that isn't.

      The place in general and the cottages are immaculate. We had a single cottage, not an attached one, same as did both of the other couples who were with us. All were equally nice. But it was not only the cottage, but the grounds, Heck they even racked the sand each night.. all the sand. The staff were amazing and more than earn they salary. They were great. We will return to the place again, so anything I say next is not to indicate anything other then there is always some room for improvement.

      In our cottage, (#01) you have to wait a good five minutes for hot water in the shower if you are to take your shower at 6am... later in the day, we noticed the hot water came faster, but I normally don't shower at 11am. Also, there are no hand towels, so if you are going to wash your hands, you have to use your bath towel.

      You get a thermal carafe of brewed coffee and a local newspaper left for you each morning on the terrace The coffee was not very hot, but it was OK. My wide did request a kettle and they did bring one to us.

      There is a safe in the room , but it is not programmable, nor is there any number pad. You need a key for it and that means a trip to the front desk. Ask for it when you check in. We didn't as we have never seen a safe like this before.

      The electrical outlets, with the exception of one on the terrace are all dual spade Philippine electrical outlets. Since, in the Philippines, when you buy something electrical, you often get a EU, or UK or US three prong plug, the lack of 'universal outlets and/or a converter in the room meant the only place my wife could plug in the hair straightener was on the terrace, outside. So bring your own converters and if you are coming from the USA, don't plug anything in. There is no 115V service.

      The food in is good and priced very fairly. However, breakfast items are beyond minimal. You want eggs? OK if you other sunny-side up, you will get two eggs with hard yolks. (That may be what you want, but I like runny yolks. One of our group not understanding how things works, ordered two sunny-side up eggs. He was given two two-egg orders... four eggs. Want them easy over?... that's not on the menu. You can get 'firm' scrambled eggs. And you can get an omelette if you want tomatoes and onions in it, not wrapped into it. But that is the only type of omelette. Our group grumbled a bit about the egg issues including fried eggs that arrived pretty cold. . Want cereal? Well that is only cornflakes, (which I ordered as there was no other option). It was served in a cup with some half sour (to my taste buds) 'fresh' mink in a separate coffee cup (not a pitcher) and no sugar. You have to ask for sugar separately. And yeh, the milk doesn't pour nicely out of the coffee cup. There are no other breakfast items on the menu. In general, while the menu was good for lunch, supper and dessert items, breakfast was a challenge

      I wanted an espresso. Well, no, while they will serve you a cappuccino or latte or Americano, as espresso is not on the menu, you can't get it. (Yes, I know that an Americano is an espresso with extra hot water, they don't or don't care. It's not on the menu.

      Be aware that the place has a strict policy of no outside food is allowed on the property and they inspect your luggage when you arrive. They opened ours and while they found nothing, getting the bag zipped up was a small hassle based on how tightly my wife packs things.

      Room tip: Bring a electrical socket converter. Ask for the key to the safe an arrival.
      Date of stay: September 2023
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Mike L
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed June 5, 2023 via mobile

      Paradise does NOT disappoint so far. Love everything about it. We've had overnight stays and day trip visits. We hope they keep the place affordable for Filipinos willing to pay for a great, quality beach experience. Love the staff, too! Helpful, prompt, and friendly. Best time to go on day trips is very early morning to enjoy the tide that's good for swimming. Starting 10am, the beach is gonna start receding, with low tide water, and it's gonna be super hot already. My hubby loves the deeper spot far from the beachline, where he could spot corals and fish.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      Trip type: Traveled with family
      49  Thank jonecabs
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed December 19, 2022 via mobile

      This resort was very good for staycation since it has deluxe and regular rooms, their staffs was also pleasing to their guests. They have mini zoo for viewing different animals. It's white sand beach gives more attraction of the view. They have also their motor boat services and having their own ports from Samal Island and Davao City for the VIPs and regular guests that came from Davao City.

      Date of stay: December 2022
      Trip type: Traveled solo
      4  Thank Marvin Palban D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews