We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Food good but well frozen

Some friends and I visited the Dovecote today for lunch. The barmaid/waitress was excellent. The... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Elaine S
,
Longfield, United Kingdom
Mediocre food

Lovely old pub but very mediocre food. My veggie lasagne was exactly as if It had bought in... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jessica C
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
4
1
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We had our surrogate sons 17th birthday party there. Ages in our party ranged from 11yrs to 67yrs. The menu catered for all our choices. They didn't do a child's portion, so our 11yr old had a rather large cod & chips! (Perhaps this is something to think of for the future). The food was delicious as was the service. We took our own birthday cake which was not a problem with the landlord. The staff brought it out singing 'Happt Birthday' which was a lovely touch. We will definitely be going back and would recommend them.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2016

A small pub on a country lane and quite off the beaten track. But the excellent food - particularly at lunchtimes - makes it well worth the effort of finding it! A wide-ranging menu, plus a dozen or so 'specials' mean that you should be able to find something to tempt you.

My wife and I have been here several times over the years - we live fairly locally - and neither of us have ever had sufficient room for dessert!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank pilaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Used to be such a lovely pub, now from the outside looks dirty and dingy, the beautiful garden is now a horrible car park, the beautiful white crisp painted dove cote no longer there, we walked in and walked back out again, such a shame

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank 145Lucinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Had a table for 9 - as always, the food, beer and service were fantastic. Their are a lot of pubs around the country that could learn a lot from Nicky and his team at the Dovecote Inn - Superb!!

Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Four of us had lunch at the dovecote 2/7/14
We were greeted by friendly staff
We had a quiet drink while we chose our food from the menu
We ordered our food and when it arrived it was delicious
The vegetables were properly cooked and the lamb was so tender it fell off the bone one of the nicest meals we have had for a long time
I did say that we enjoyed our meal but thought it worthy of recommendation on here
We were not rushed to move
Service was excellent thanks to all
Mike

Thank 36MikeM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews