We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
90
36
15
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
36
15
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnevill armssunny eveningpork bellypopular with the localsexcellent lunchreal firedog ownerslucky with the weatherold villagelovely location by the riverdelightful settingsunday lunchan evening mealpot of teapiebar area
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Attended a cricket club annual presentation evening with a meal. Considering the meal was £30phpp the service was appalling. Starters came out at 7.45 then by 10pm diners were having to ask where their desserts were. On top of this, waitresses were hanging around near the bar in the restaurant laughing and joking in front of everyone. Very unprofessional. Not a manager insight. Won’t be recommending this restaurant anytime soon..such a shame, used to be a lovely pub.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank jsjlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Nevill Arms Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Madam,
We were very disappointed to read your remarks from this years annual Cricket Club Presentation Dinner. If I may respond ? ....

The '£30 price per person' was your Cricket Club price, not ours. We charged £24 for the three course meal.

The event was booked for 7.30pm, your party was seated and first course served at 7:45pm.

The dessert course was delayed as we were asked to serve after your speeches and presentations.

The Floor staff are asked to 'hang around' the Waitress Station in the Restaurant so they have a presence on the Floor and can attend service, (I apologies for them being too unprofessional by 'laughing and joking' in view of people)

Our Restaurant Manager (white shirt with black waistcoat) was on service throughout the evening.













Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The hotel is really remote. Only way to get there is by car. The hotel is adjacent to the pub, and has decent size rooms. Bathrooms are small. I had difficulty operating the thermostate on the tap, as both hot and cold water delivered hot water... However in the shower it was the opposite...

Bed is comfortable. Good pillows.

As i had to leave early, they were kind enough to prepare me a breakfast pack.

I think you can stay here both for business as well as a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is set next to a stream. You register in the bar and then get shown to the room. There is a bit of a local feel to the bar and dogs are allowed in the bar but not the restaurant. On the night we stayed there were a few dogs and I am commited to the fact that the dog owners are the problem and this was the case on this evening. We had to constantly step over one dog which was allowed to roam around the bar area on a long lead. However, the room was really nice with a large bathroom. Room 9.
We had drinks in the bar and ordered food to eat in the restaurant, it was a long wait and it seems there are only minimal staff in the kitchen. So if you are in the queue behind a party on 10 or so, it's a long wait!
In saying that, when the food arrived it was very good. Very good. The 4 of us each had something different and the quality was very good. Great puddings too and a good wine choice.
Breakfast the next morning was in a courtyard cafe and was also good. The staff here were actually lovely, friendly, quick and nothing was too much trouble.

The place is clean and tidy and parking is plentiful
I recommend this place for a weekend stay

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ChrisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We had been working at the NEC for 3 days and didn't want to drive home. Booked in to the Nevill Arms and felt immediately relaxed. Lovely welcome, nice room and a very delicious meal were the tonic we needed. Slept well and breakfast was fab too! What's not to like, this place is a gem and we will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 41SueK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Superb Sunday roast. Large portions with attentive service. Little bit of a wait but well worth it. Latte and cake in the cafe to finish off a superb meal. Would highly recommend. Beautiful dining space. Bill for four was very reasonable.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Vantage8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews