We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vibe”

Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar
Ranked #7 of 124 Restaurants in Elsternwick
Price range: US$17 - US$21
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Very authentic Hungarian cuisine. It’s like dining with close family - the aim is to make sure you don’t go away hungry.

We all had schnitzels - some with mashed potatoes and gravy, others with salad and fries. You have about ten schnitzel options alone to choose from plus several other traditional dishes. The schnitzels were huge.

The size of the mains were such there was no room for dessert.

The restaurant obviously has a well deserved reputation for authentic dishes and a loyal following of regulars.

The decor is very basic but the food is well worth a try. Next time we will be more adventurous and try something else on the menu.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 751stephenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucky1975, Manager at Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thanks for the great review Stephen. We love our Schnitzels and serve 14 different types. We look forward to welcoming you back to try some of our other classics like the Hungarian Goulash and Chicken Paprika. Hopefully you can squeeze in a dessert next time too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

A table of ten of us went here on a Saturday night and while it was very busy, the table service was good. We all ordered various versions of a schnitzel each, and in every case it was so filling we had no room for dessert (or indeed a starter either). Certainly worth a try.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank petervF8431BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucky1975, Manager at Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks Peter for your great review. Budapest Restaurant is certainly famous for our schnitzels and we're glad you enjoyed them. Next time you might want to try some of our other dishes, like our delicious goulash or chicken paprika with house made nokedli dumplings. Feeling full? We're very happy for you to share desserts amongst your group :-)

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Came across Budapest by chance , very welcoming with excellent schnitzels and mushrooms followed by home baked apple and walnut strudel highly recommend will come again soon

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank peterhay2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucky1975, Manager at Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thanks for the great review. Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We really liked this restaurant, mostly because it reminded us our time in Europe. The ambiance is really nice. The food is delicious, and platters are fulfilling. We will be back. One small thing to improve, maybe more staff can work in the front during the busy days.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ezgi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucky1975, Manager at Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thanks for your lovely review. We're so glad we reminded you of your time in Europe. We always try to staff the restaurant appropriately, but sometimes we get more walk-in customers than we could have anticipated. We do ask people to book in advance, but sometimes the walk-ins can make things a little hectic. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Our group had been here before, and slid our other favourite Hungarian restaurant further up GlenHuntly Rd. Budapest has all the classics - goulash, schnitzels, chick pea soup, crumbed mushrooms, strudels, and plenty to choose from. We enjoyed all these, all hearty dishes, served with peasant potatoes. It’s a place you can rely on for good food.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 728MariaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucky1975, Manager at Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar also viewed

 
Elsternwick, Glen Eira
 

Been to Budapest Restaurant & Palinka Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing