We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Bell Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$252
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gate Inn(Diggle)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel(Rochdale)(Great Value!)
US$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
247Hotel(Oldham)
US$47
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadoak Hotel(Ashton-under-Lyne)
US$147
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Olive Branch Inn(Marsden)(Great Value!)
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clough Manor(Denshaw)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
289
83
12
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
83
12
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgin barold coaching innwhit fridaysignature menuresidents loungeconservatory loungegin loversthree coursesguinness book of recordsfirst floorworld recordbuffet tablebar stafflovely foodfriendly placebreakfast was excellenta lovely place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 407 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Good clean well equipped rooms, good food and bar with a good selection of ales and a gin collection to rival anything in the world. I think 1020 different kinds. Car park is small and awkward to park in, there is alternative parking in the Main Street but at your own peril due to one or two people who seems to be in a mega hurry. Traffic a little noisy if you have a road facing view due to frequency of cars on the road. But still a really good hotel.

Thank hawickman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and well equipped, and the food and bar selection impressive.
All our bedrooms are double glazed, but for future reference, if you prefer a room further back in the hotel this can be requested on booking.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

What a lovely place felt welcoming as soon as we stepped inside the room was fairly small but had everything we needed. Lovely bar good selection of beers for my partner and he loved the gin bar we ate in the restaurant good menu lots of choice we slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast.as this was my treat i was supposed to pay for everything but when i paid the bill i only had to pay for the room thought my partner had paid the bar bill when we went for a walk I discovered non of us had paid we went back and confessed to our mistake the bill hadn't gone to reception the lady was very good and offered us a reduction for ou honesty couldn't have not done will definitely go back the young staff are very friendly and efficient nothing to much trouble

    • Value
    • Service
Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Hazel for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found The Old Bell Inn so welcoming and found everything we have to offer so good.. Our rooms do vary in size and price and depends on which one has been chosen and of course availability at the time of booking. All our rooms offer everything needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Also, thank you very much for your honesty and returning to pay your bar bill. It is very much appreciated and we look forward to you returning in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for business on a Monday night, what can I say?, it ticks all boxes. Friendly staff, very helpful, good value, immaculate rooms which are well appointed. Ate dinner in the restaurant in the hotel, absolutely smashing meal. Will stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank ArronC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Hi Arron

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed everything we have to offer here and found your business stopover ticked all the boxes.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on the Sunday special for hubby's birthday tomorrow our daughter's treat. Arrived at hotel was shown our room which was very nice on the front side of road, had tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in room bed comfy, lovely bathroom. Had our evening meal which was well presented and ample servings. Had a black pudding starter, hubby had pate, I had the roast dinner very nice and hubby had fish and chips, his fish was beautifully cooked. Too full for intended sticky toffee pudding so shared ice cream. Had a pleasant evening and nice cooked breakfast. Staff really nice and hard working and made us welcome. Will be back, would recommend a visit.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ibizaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Special overnight stay and found everything we have to offer here so good.
What a lovely gift from your daughter.

We look forward to your coming back very soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

It’s my birthday Christmas Day but never get to celebrate it cos I’m usually feeding family. Also, my husband and I foster babies that are withdrawing from drugs and we currently have a 3 week old, after moving 2 babies into their forever homes recently........So I am worn out!
My lovely husband booked a surprise night away at this hotel and I loved every minute. We don’t live far from here but to get ‘away’ for a night was just what I needed. We booked in and was told we’d been upgraded to a superior room. It was lovely, quiet and peaceful. We had a wonderful evening meal and a few cheeky gins. Only down side is we had to be up at 7am to get back to our Little one! Hope the hubster surprises me like this again.
The hotel staff were lovely and the food was great and the gin was yummy. Thank you to everyone at The Old Bell Inn for my brief but refreshing night away. Will definitely be coming again!

Room Tip: We had room 5. Lovely. Quiet and a comfy bed.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LouM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Wow! We are so pleased you enjoyed your lovely surprise, even though you had to be up so early next morning. You truly deserve it, it must be very satisfying doing the job you do, but also very exhausting and stressful.

Hopefully the hubster will surprise you again very soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews