We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alam Citra Bed and Breakfast(Bantul)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Bedhot Homestay(Bantul)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kosala Jogja(Bantul)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
155
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsoutdoor bathroomdragon fruitrecycled materialsprivate sitting areathe main housebatik makingthick towelsmosquito nettingwooden househome away from homebatik workshopfruits and veggiesterima kasihgarden settingcall to prayerbeautiful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Yabbiekayu is an experience - one I’m sad to see come to an end. As advertised, it is thoughtfully eco-friendly and sooo atmospheric in terms of its location in Tembi Village...the calls for prayer, tokay geckos, chickens at 2:00 am, rice paddies, a great restaurant on the premises (right up there with the best fresh flavours I’ve experienced throughout the archipelago), and wonderful wonderful people everywhere. The open air concept to the rooms is the way to go here. Air con wasn’t needed and would have ruined the experience. The staff is fab and will see to all reasonable desires. If a place to unwind and clear the mind is needed, look no further. Terima kasih Yabbiekayu!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled solo
Thank AlohaLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manager at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Yabbiekayu. We love it when we can help guests truly experience the suasana (feeling,sense,essence) of life in a small Javanese village. Like so many other villages, Tembi is a place where life drifts slowly by, as you watch the rice grow and be harvested.
We are also super pleased that you liked the food at our new restauarant, and that you were pleased with the quality of service. We do try our hardest to make sure every single guest is treated as a unique and special person. We call ourselves a homestay, because we really do want you to feel at home, so, I'm glad to know you did.
We look forward to your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Yabbiekayu. It is by far my best Airbnb experience. From check in to willcheck out everything was well taken care of and because of experiencing an eco friendly way of living. I'm definitely going to start living in an eco friendly way. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, please pleasee do try the Pikelet dish which is super duper amazing like pancakes from heaven. The listing itself is cosy and cooling. Comminication with the service crew is smooth and easy as they never fail to impress by replying promptly with quality local recommendations. I definitely will be back again.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Thank damianjohnngiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, General Manager at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

What a simple and lovely review. Thanks so much Damien for the kind words.
It makes us incredibly proud to know that you both enjoyed your stay and felt moved by our philosophy.
Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

First time back here in over a year. It was wonderful then, even better now. Clearly established and run by people who have travelled widely themselves, and know just what creates ease and comfort. Staff anticipate your needs, quietly and unobtrusively. Supremely comfortable bed; lots of power points, and in the right places. Delightful courtyard bathroom with big, thick towels. Food and drink are excellent, swiftly served, and very reasonably priced. Perfect base to explore the Yogya region and all it offers (with expert advice from the staff, including lesser-known attractions and options), or for a quiet work retreat.

Room Tip: Not sure on this. Have stayed in three different bungalows, and all have been great
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, General Manager at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks Mark for the lovely review. It was such an absolute pleasure to have you back here again. Being here all the time we don't tend to notices the changes much, and tend to only see teh areas we wish to improve, so it's really lovely to be reminded of how far we have actually come :)
Expect to see you again soon, hopefully not so long this time, you are part of the Yabbiekayu family now :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for peace and nature stay, yabbiekayu is for you! This place is amazing. The staff is always smiley and makes you feel like home! Their in house dining is awesome and I had dinner there for 2 nights straight! Bring lots of repellent as there will Be mosquitoes! But mossie coil will be provided in the house too!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank felicia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manager at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thanks felisia, we really appreciate your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Yabbiekayu, particularly that you enjoyed the food. Our restaurant focuses on creating healthy wholefoods using as much local produce from our edible landscaped gardens as we can. All our recipes have been designed to be both healthy and delicious, with a combination of Indonesian and international dishes. As an example today's special is hand made roasted pumpkin ravioli with edible flowers in a light butter sauce, using freshly harvested organic pumpkins from our gardens.

I'm sorry that you were bothered by mosquitoes. This is the cyclical nature of living near rice fields. Actually we don't get very many mosquitoes and regularly have guests comment on it, except in the first few days that the fields are filled with water for planting, before fish have then breed up. Your visit happend to coincide with these exact days, sorry about that. Fortunately yogya doesn't have endemic mosquito born diseases and as you say we provide mosquito nets, fans, coils, and cream for sensitive guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Yogya :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This place truly is home away from home. The staff at Yabbiekayu is really what separates them from any other place I've stayed at. We gununiely felt like we were staying with family. So much so that when it came time to check-out, I forgot we even had a bill to settle. From the very beginning they set-up a pick-up at the airport and directly to local sites and never questioned whether there would be someone waiting for at the airport. We wanted to go into town and they called us a metered taxi, so we didn't have to pay more for a driver, and they gave us recommendations on what to see --they even hand-drew us a map! Nothing about Yabbiekayu felt like they were trying to take money from us. They reminded us when we were heading back to make sure that the taxi actually turned on the meter (or get out of the taxi) and I'm glad they did because our taxi driver tried to get away with it until we threatened to get out of the taxi. We also LOVED our cooking class. They took us out to shop at the local market and showed us all the different fruits and vegetables that we didn't have or rarely see back home. The lady who taught us was so much fun! Also, the room was so tranquil, after all the traveling, it was exactly what we needed. We loved waking up naturally to the morning sunlight, roosters crowing and morning call to prayer. If we had to do it all over again, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzz_ajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manager at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks for the truly lovely review.
In all honesty we really do welcome all of our guests in and try to our hardest to treat them as part of our family. It warms our hearts when we have guests who see and appreciate the efforts that we go to, even more so when those guests take the time to leave such a heart felt review. What greater reward could any hospitality company wish for.
It was a complete pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews