We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Super Food, Classy Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras
Ranked #3 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2016

A genuine 5 star hotel, in a superb location, near the centre of Meloneras, with 5 swimming pools, good facilities and with very friendly and helpful staff. This hotel offers an excellent choice of food in the buffet and lots of food to select. It has 2 speciality restaurants of which there is no extra charge to use if a guest has booked half board. Guests can walk through the reception area, past the buffet and bars through well maintained grounds past the swimming pools to the promenade and sea front. We upgraded our room to a side sea view. The room was spacious and well furnished with a mini bar and safe. There were many clothes hangers. The bathroom was large and well furnished. Everything was very clean and well presented. The only downside was the €20 charge for the safe. I thought this was excessive and I thought there to be no charge for this facility in a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre of the hotel cost more but have the best sea views. Rooms in the gardens are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2016

Very good resort on a very good location in Meloneras/Las Palomas. Excellent clean room and bath room.
Ample pool and sun bathing facilities. Exellent buffet restaurant. The two separate restaurants have limited capacity and should be booked well in advance.
Shops, cafes & restaurants and beach all on walking distance via a paseo along the seaside.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 879jackg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Given that the definition of 5 star varies from resort to resort I will compare this hotel to the Lopesan Boabab also 5 star where I have stayed 5 or 6 times and the hotels face each other. I had been very happy with Baobab but the Rio Palace was even better, some of the advantages include:/
Free Wifi that works
Exceedingly polite and efficient restaurant staff, in fact all staff very friendly and go out of way to help.
All 6 pools heated not just some.
Kettle in room along with free English tea, replenished twice a day, you have to hire a kettle in Baobab.
5 or 6 English language TV channels not just news which proves it can be done if European hotels make an effort.
Adults only pools so you can swim without kids playing, hardly saw any children all week which is big bonus.
Great location with direct beach access. Only 2 things let it down, no room service or food availability anywhere in hotel at all after 10.30 not even crisps when we got back from a trip late. Gym is very poor just some jogging machines and hardly any gym machines. Overall excellent and will return

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
6  Thank westdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

Our 8th visit.
Great location and facilities.
Buffet dining greatly improved by recent renovations and atmospheric outdoor restaurants.
Rooms well equipped and comfortable.
Sea views available.
Great pools with inevitable nocturnal sunbed bagging . In reality there are so many beds available that there is no need to reserve unless you want immediate sea view by the esplanade.

DC

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DSCMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Why ? Here are some of the reasons: The hotel does not accept American Express cards.They made some lame excuse that they could never get an answer from Amexco when they had some query but I suppose the real reason is that they do not wish to pay the high commission.We had to pay for the safebox in our room !There was not a single bottle of complimentary water in the room,not on arrival and not during our 3 day stay ! There were no slippers in our sea front room - we only got them after I went to reception to complain. The computer/printer in the lobby for guest use is payable ! There is no toilet available adjacent to the main buffet restaurant - you have to walk back through the lobby to find one.The bedrooms have old fashioned sheets and not the more modern duvets that 5 star hotels around the world have. Finally the food is not 5 star.It is quantity rather than quality.

On the positive side, the location is excellent, particularly the sea front rooms and the lobby is certainly palatial.We had a spacious well equipped room with balcony and an excellent sea view (room 5202) and stayed from 27 - 30 September 2016.

Room Tip: Try 5202 full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Richard028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.6 km away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.4 km away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.8 km away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,762 reviews
0.5 km away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
6.6 km away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras

Address: Mar Mediterraneo | Urb Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: ₱12,499 - ₱28,801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras opens all year round and is located in Maspalomas, in the southern coast of Gran Canaria, right next to the ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria and 800 m from the dunes beach. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Gran Canaria Airport LPA (37 km) and Playa del Ingles (5 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 332 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers modern amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape in the gym. 1 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool and 1 whirlpool. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet restaurant, Krystal Fusion and Spanish specialty Restaurant, as well as 3 bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing