We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NamitaSingh
Mumbai, India

Great sea view

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 26, 2016
The property is really pretty. The cottages that we stayed in were very spacious, with an open shower at the back. The beach is just a few steps from the cottages and early morning or late evening walks were extremely pleasant. It is a really good choice for a nice holiday, where you do not want to do much but soak in the sun!
Date of stay: March 2016
Room Tip: Try to be in one of the cottages, the swing outside, the open shower, they all add to the experience
Trip type: Traveled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BhattacharyaSouvik, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this review
Responded Sep 27, 2016
Dear Namita,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj- Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback. It is delightful to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Chennai and our location, room, beach, food & service measured to your expectations.

We appreciate your kind words of appreciation as the same will encourage us to strive further in the continuous journey of delighting our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities that we at the Taj strive to deliver.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,333
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱1,566
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,472
1.3 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
21.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Tripadvisor
₱12,625
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₱12,625
0.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
7.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.7 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Covelong
Reviews (3,307)
Filter reviews
3,307 results
Traveler rating
1,708
907
387
176
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,708
907
387
176
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper deck bay view the cottages main building outdoor shower seafood private beach bay of bengal seagull restaurant deluxe rooms clean beach in room dining beautiful property beach front swimming pool duty manager jiva spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,831 - 1,836 of 3,307 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2016

It is a great place to stay and enjoy your holidays. The cottage was very good and the food was exceptional. The cottages facing the sea were exceptional. We could feel the sea from there. The staff were very friendly and nice. The service was pretty fast and good. The overall experience was truly great. Keep it up.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sanjay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BhattacharyaSouvik, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Dear Sanjay,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj- Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback on trip advisor. It is delightful to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Chennai and our location, room, food & service measured to your expectations.

We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall and also would like to thank you for complementing our colleagues as they are a constant source of inspiration for us, in our journey of delighting our valued guests.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities that we at the Taj strive to deliver.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

In chennai for a month long business trip, we stayed at the Taj. The resort was beautiful. The service was attentive and friendly. On the weekends the hotel fills up but during the week it seemed like we had the place to ourselves. Nobody in the pools or restaurants. I read that the beach was too rough to swim. That is nonsense. What a gorgeous beach. Super clean and warm water. Yes it is wavy...it an Ocean!

They have 3 restaurants. Staying there for 30 days, we really tried almost everything off all the menus. Our favorite restaurant was the Mediterranean themed Upper Deck. Pastas were good and they had a good tenderloin. The Bayview had a limited menu. It was ok. The seagull restaurant was the only one with with air conditioning (the other 2 are outside beach front). It had a BIG menu as it tried to be everything to everyone. Indian, italian, burgers, french fries, etc. it is also where the breakfast buffet is. Breakfast had a nice mix of Indian dishes along with croissants, eggs, bacon, toast, etc. Though the restaurants were ok, unfortunately thats all they were, just ok. If you are a big foodie, and you have the patience to drive to another restaurant/hotel to eat, you may have a better meal.

We were in the original building. The room was nice. The handle in the shower fell off the wall and the room smelled slightly musty. But i am nit picking. The room was always clean. It has multiple universal plug so no matter where you are from, your plug will fit. Free water in the room each day you stay. Free wifi. What more can you ask?

If i am to return to Chennai again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank johnpops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BhattacharyaSouvik, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj- Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback. It is delightful to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Chennai and our location, room, food & service measured to your expectations.

We appreciate your kind words of appreciation as the same will encourage us to strive further in the continuous journey of delighting our valued guests.

We strongly believe customer feedback is an integral part of our learning curve thus helping us in our continuous journey of excellence. We have noted your feedback regarding the malfunctioning of shower handle and musty smell in the room and have discussed with our maintenance and housekeeping teams for corrective measures. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities that we at the Taj strive to deliver.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Great locality, and beautiful views of the Bay of Bengal! Thats where the wow factor ends sadly. The wifi sucks, the food is average and the service is very ordinary - much unlike a "Taj" property. Its worth the money for the property and location, but definitely nothing worth the food or the quality of amenities.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roya911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BhattacharyaSouvik, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Roy,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove!!

This is a short note to thank you for your patronage during your recent visit to our hotel!

We have noted the positives and have also noted our areas of improvement. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and I assure you we shall work on the areas we have faltered in, to ensure such incidents do not recur.

Please feel free to call me should you be planning another trip to Chennai and I shall be glad to assist to ensure you have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities that we at the Taj strive to deliver.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Fisherman's Cove for 3 nights in November. As we booked a hotel room only, we decided at check in for an upgrade to a cottage with garden view. This was the right decision: Great room with great outside shower.

The garden is great, the spa and massage is great. The seafood restaurant is extraordinary.

Nevertheless we had a bad experience, too: At check out I recognized a dinner in the seafood restaurant, which we didn't have. As we had to rush to the airport, we couldn't solve this issue. I then mailed several times to the hotel. After app. 10 mails I received the message from Patrick Raja, Duty Manager, that this was a mistake by the hotel:

"Greetings from vivanta by Taj fisherman’s cove Chennai

Please accept my sincere apology in delay in reverting your mail

The dinner bill of another guest posted in your bill erroneously. We will refund the money back in your credit card.

The refunding process would be take 10 to 15 working days.

Once again please accept my sincere apology for the in convenience caused you in this regard.

Patrick Raja
Duty Manager"

Since 9 months I'm now trying to get my money refunded - without any success. All my mails (more than 20 to different recipients) are not answered anymore.

This is really disappointing and in case nothing happens I won't go there anymore. Actually we planned a stay of 4 nights in April next year - but not if they try to cheat guests!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank SanjooM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BhattacharyaSouvik, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj- Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai!

At the outset kindly accept my most humble apologies for the delay in refunding your overcharged amount. I request you to treat this experience in isolation and not a measure for the levels of services and hospitality we take pride in delivering.

We had initiated the refund process a few days ago and the same has been credited to your account and we thank you for acknowledging the same via email.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you be planning another trip to Chennai, and I shall be glad to assist you for any query.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

I stayed in a Cottage Room near (but not right next to) the beach. The facilities were fantastic, loved the outdoor shower, free bottled water, in-room dining and excellent free wifi across the resort (even down onto the beach!)

Room tip: Cottage room near private beach
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BhattacharyaSouvik, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Dear Simon,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj- Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback. It is delightful to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Chennai and our location, room, food & service measured to your expectations.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

All of us at the Fisherman’s Cove are delighted to know you left Chennai with fond memories, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews