We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
₱9,752
Fully refundable before Sat, May 25
No prepayment needed
Trip.com
₱8,153
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
cebebe
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Bliss!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 2, 2014
The location is great, less than an hour from Chennai Airport on the East Coast Road, which makes a perfect location. Staff are child friendly, efficient and professional. Our stay here was perfect for a young family. The de luxe rooms by the beach are modern, spacious and the patio is great for lounging. The pool is extremely popular,and to secure a lounger you need to get there early and find a shady spot. The shallow pool and a deeper pool adjoin. There is a pool bar as a bonus. The grounds are spacious and buggies are always available to bring you to and fro if you do not wish to walk any distance.
The buffet breakfast has a great variety of choices to suit all tastes.The Bay View restaurant down by the beach is very popular also and is a great spot for lunch. Wonderful fresh local seafood is their specialty and the al fresco dining with a sea breeze is very pleasant and the sea view terrific.
We have stayed here three times over the last two weeks, the busy Xmas /New Year, and the Taj has proved to be the perfect find for this family.
Date of stay: December 2013
Room Tip: The deluxe beach rooms are perfect.
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BCKumar, General Manager at Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai, responded to this review
Responded Jan 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback and we are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every part of the hotel and the bliss of the Bay of Bengal

The generous feedback has motivated us to do better and hope to see you soon at the Vivanta by Taj Fisherman's Cove, Chennai

Warm regards,

B. C. Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,235
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₱2,205
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,241
1.3 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
₱1,257
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱1,326
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,175
  • Trip.com
    ₱1,195
1.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
21.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Booking.com
₱761
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱734
1.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Priceline
  • Booking.com
    ₱9,752
  • Trip.com
    ₱8,153
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,738
0.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Pool
Trip.com
₱2,795
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,024
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Agoda.com
₱8,852
No fees just great deals
  • ZenHotels.com
2.4 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,458
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Expedia.com
₱2,038
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,713
  • Hotels.com
    ₱2,038
  • StayForLong
3.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
View more hotels in Covelong
Reviews (3,303)
Filter reviews
3,303 results
Traveler rating
1,706
907
385
176
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,706
907
385
176
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper deck bay view the cottages main building outdoor shower seafood private beach bay of bengal seagull restaurant deluxe rooms clean beach in room dining beautiful property beach front swimming pool duty manager jiva spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,656 - 2,661 of 3,303 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Fisherman's Cove is certainly scenic, right on the beach! The rooms were spacious enough, but somehow, furniture and appliances seemed a little old, as if in need of renovation. Service was good, but the food was average. Expected better from a Taj property.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skakar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a sea view room. Was spacious with dry bathrooms and good view of the sea. Cottages on the beach looked very good with swing and open shower. However not all cottages have sea view, some are low lying. villas look spooky. New building is far from resort but cart seems to be plying around often. The room was comfortable and conveniently close to beach, restaurant. Room has coffee table with chairs, writing desk, tv, comfortable cot with pillows, minibar, kettle, file with papers, menu, ask services, spa details,newspaper, etc. Resort itself was green, beautiful and the beach was to fall in love. The sea brings in garbage can't help but beach is cleaned daily. Security is on the watch. Doesn't seem to be like Chennai, the place is much cool with sea breeze and the greenery maintained.
Restaurant - breakfast spread is awesome with south indian, north indian and continental to chose from. Seagull has good food and the dinner buffet was also good spread. Bayview has amazing ambiance and loved the food more than seagull. seafood here is fresh and tasty.
You have access to beach all the time. After 6pm you cannot get into water. swimming pool seemed good. there was a person entertaining kids all the time. kids get to cycle around. Only problem was, painting work was going on and so people are walking around the window all the time. In a sea view room with curtains pulled nothing to do.
There is so much to fall in love with this place but there is clearly a difference in way Indians and foreigners are treated. There is wet towel placed to welcome guest that they don't hand over. breakfast time gets busy, I could see so many Indians asked to come later while the foreigners are given a place in minutes. No napkins or side plates set. you are left to find your table nobody walks forward to get you one. Any guy would offer to get suitcase from a lady and this is a five star resort! keep dialing their 'ask' services and reception, they would not even call back to update. forget about decorative pieces out of towels or chocolates left behind, I had to remind about cleaning the room and get towels replaced. they don't have any regional newspapers. the managers speak french, german but try striking conversation in regional language or even english, they move away. Not well deboned fish, coffee filled with curdled cream from a five star restaurant!! you need to smile at your guests when you are talking. Surprisingly the waiters, house keepers, gardeners, security guys were way much pleasant! probably for them all are guests but the managers knew value of dollar is much more than rupee. But the rent is no less!
Thumbs up place for foreigners. I had pleasant time there ignoring all the differences shown. Would have been more memorable if there was warmth and hospitality, something that any Indian will know!

Room tip: sea view rooms have easy accessibility to beach and restaurants. cottages some are on the beach while some are low lying and hidden behind the others. deluxe rooms are best when you want to stay and not holiday
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasalaBoxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Fisherman’s cover earlier this week. Perfect time of the year. The weather was pleasant. What made it better was the ambience and the quality of the staff. Very courteous and staff friendly and go out of the way to keep the customer happy. Since it was the season, the day was filled with activities for the children. Good swimming pool. 4 feet all along. So no fear of drowning. The beach is clean and beautiful. Do not forget to visit Dakshin Chitra (Cultural Centre) located a couple of kilometers away from the hotel. Other attractions are Crocodile bank and Mahabalipuram. Having a vehicle adds flexibility as the hotel is in a secluded location. The only downsides were few maintenances issues as it is an old property but nothing significant to influence a decision. Wifi is a paid service unlike rest of the hotels worldwide. Overall a worthwhile stay.

Room tip: Take a beach facing room/villa
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reemsanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I visited this property to celebrate my anniversary. Great property with wonderful view from the sea facing rooms. Someone who loves water would love this place. One of the best beaches along the Chennai coast. The Bay view restaurant is bang on the sea...Gives a wonderful feeling specially in the evenings. So overall if you have money to spent it's a great place to be!

Room tip: sea facing room - 2nd floor or villas by the beach
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I Visited Fisherman Coves in the month of July , Proprety is over valued in terms of Pricing ,Food & Comfort ...

I am not sure same is folowing Taj Standards at all , ....

Hotel is not mainatined at all

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANISH526
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews