We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Special rate available
Hotels.com
₱9,738
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
₱9,738
Go to your Happy Price
StayForLong
₱8,574
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Pad D
Oslo, Norway

Good but expensive

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 21, 2013
Helpful staff, comfortable beds, but very expensive. The food is good and fresh, especially the breakfast. We did see a couple of rats when walking around the premises at night time, but the hotel is overall clean. During our last night there was a heavy rainfall, and when we woke up the floor was covered with water... We were not happy with the provided drivers. Even though you will pay more than 400% more than from a regular taxi, the driver will take you to annoying shops that you do not want to go to but where the driver gets some provision for providing customers.
Date of stay: November 2013
Room Tip: * Try to get a metered taxi, or order cars with driver from outside the hotel (we were not happy...
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
₱2,728
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,235
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₱2,205
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,241
1.3 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
₱1,257
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱1,326
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,175
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
21.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Booking.com
₱761
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱610
  • Agoda.com
    ₱734
1.2 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Hotels.com
₱9,738
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,738
  • StayForLong
    ₱8,574
  • Priceline
    ₱9,738
0.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free parking
Pool
Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,024
  • Vio.com
    ₱2,024
1.9 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Agoda.com
₱8,852
No fees just great deals
  • ZenHotels.com
2.4 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
₱1,458
₱1,219
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,458
  • Vio.com
    ₱1,458
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.0 km from Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Covelong
Reviews (3,303)
Filter reviews
3,303 results
Traveler rating
1,706
907
385
176
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,706
907
385
176
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper deck bay view the cottages main building outdoor shower seafood private beach bay of bengal seagull restaurant deluxe rooms clean beach in room dining beautiful property beach front swimming pool duty manager jiva spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,668 - 2,673 of 3,303 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Taj Vivanta is easily the best 5 star option in Chennai for its sheer luxury and comfort. You can get an awesome room here with most scenic sea view. Its maintenance and comfort makes this best 5 star. As the name suggests TAJ, they would never disappoint you with their service. every member of their staff from the bell boy to their Manager are all fine examples of what polite and efficient service is all about and other hotels in Chennai can learn from them. The rooms are the so good and automation was too good, very nice and super spacious. The bed is nice and comfortable helping give quality sleep. The chocolates (1/2/3)that they leave by your bed side each evening post room cleaning. At the reception, all are helpful in trying their best to meet your expectations of great service. Kudos to staff and i believe if he keeps up this good attitude. the Morning breakfast buffet which is easily the most elaborate and lavish in Chennai and comparable to the best in the World. Try it all as this Taj would not let you down...Go stay here!

Room tip: Just enjoy your stay....they would not let you down.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepG269
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Fisherman's Cove for three nights . We drove down from Bangalore and had actually combined this with a workday in Chennai. The place is not too far off from Chennai although given city traffic drive was a bit tedious. But the location is outstanding with a private beach on The Bay of Bengal. We were at the delight deluxe rooms which were well appointed with a private sit out but not sea facing. The property is huge so you definitely need Golf carts for going around the place. The service is exceptional ( what you would expect in a Vivanta property) . We had a problem with the first room we were allotted ( taps and showers had a problem). The room was immediately changed and all our stuff moved within minutes

We had most of our meals at Seagull their 24 hour coffee shop and as expected in a Taj property the variety and quality of the food was outstanding. The staff was very attentive and would quickly rustle up special meals for our little one.
The resort keeps you busy with multiple activities for kids and adults alike. These include sand castle making at their beach., In the evenings the main lobby areas have several local artists selling their wares and doing caricatures etc.There is also a special kids room with toys.
The high point of our visit was a special seafood meal at Bayview their open air restaurant. This is a great experience and a must have while you are at the resort

Room tip: Pay a little extra and go for the sea facing villas if you can....
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suvosinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week with my parents following a two week tour of Southern India. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome, we were greeted by Viva who had us checked in in no time and from that moment on we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. The staff were so friendly and helpful and ensured that we came away with many wonderful memories. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We stayed on a half board basis so ate in the Seagull restaurant. The food was excellent, a mixture of buffet and "a la carte", all freshly prepared and offering a huge variety. Rajneesh, our waiter was a gem, he took the time to explain all the dishes, instruct the kitchen as to our varying tastes for spices and produced many dishes that were not on the menu. Without his guidance we would have missed out on many culinary delights. My mum and dad celebrated their Golden wedding whilst here, a day made particularly memorable by the hotel and staff who provided wine, fruit and nibbles in their room, a special anniversary meal, 50 red roses, a bottle of Prosecco and a decorated cake, a special thanks to Dale for helping to organise this. We spent most days relaxing by the pool, due to a tropical storm off the bay of Bengal the weather was a little changeable but every day our sunbeds were set up ready for us, Prabu ensured that we had everything we could possibly need including a brolly to fend off the rain showers. He amused us with his local knowledge and kept my husband entertained. We have never stayed in a hotel where we have been made to feel so welcome, where nothing was too much trouble and the staff so friendly. On our last day the restaurant staff organised a Bon Voyage cake. We left with so many good memories and some very good friends that we will keep in touch with and hope to see again some time. The staff here are a credit to the Taj group.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolaw952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had been to this property recently in october 2013. The hotel is good with large room and good balcony. The aminities in this hotel are also good. The breakfast was not that great. It has a private beach.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Prashanth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a week with our daughter and son-in-law at the end of a tour to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. A week later we left knowing we had all had a wonderful time at a hotel where the staff had succeeded in making our stay absolutely memorable.
The Bay of Bengal was rough, tail end of the monsoon, making the beach a no go area but this was more than made up for by the garden and pool area. On the day of our anniversary the management had put a bottle of red wine, a bowl of fruit and a tray of nibbles in our room with a congratulation card. As if that were not enough, at dinner in the Seagull restaurant we were greeted by the staff and shown to a reserved table were we were served with a complementary bottle of Prosecco, one of our favourites, presented with a bouquet of fifty red roses and introduced to Rajneesh, who was to look after us for the evening. The chefs, not to be outdone, had made us a special anniversary cake to round off the meal. A very memorable evening!
That set the standard for the rest of our stay and we made very good friends with number of the excellent staff. The evening meals were a mixture of "a la carte" and buffet but our good friends always went the extra mile producing any number of dishes from the kitchen, not on the menu, for us to try. At the end of the week we had received an education into the extensive culinary heritage of India and I have to say that the food at this hotel was nothing short of amazing. Days were spent relaxing by the pool and contemplating our next meal!
On the day we finally had to leave, the restaurant had made the four of us a special Bon Voyage cake.
We leave behind many good memories and some very good friends who we will keep in touch with and hope, one day, to see again.
This hotel is a credit to the Taj group.

Room tip: Choose a sea view.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan551767
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews