We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst Sunday lunch ever”
Review of The Three Frogs

The Three Frogs
Ranked #30 of 161 Restaurants in Wokingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Food led pub, serving food from 12pm. Monthly live music plus charity events. Monthly quiz- 1st Wednesday of the month from 8:00pm. Bookings advisable
Reviewed 17 September 2021

It's a nice pub with friendly, welcoming staff. We have eaten at the Three Frogs many times in the past, but not recently. The food, whilst basic, has always been pretty good.

We visited again on a Sunday at the end of August. There were five of us and we all had a Sunday roast, partly on the recommendation of the young lady at the bar who told us that "the beef is really good today".

Unfortunately that could not have been further from the truth. The beef was like shoe leather. It was hard, dry and some of it was literally impossible to cut through. I have never come across beef like it. It was accompanied by undercooked vegetables (I like vegetables to firm but these were ridiculous) and Yorkshire Puddings that were like concrete.

Two of our party had the roast chicken, and that was considerably better than the beef. But it still suffered from rock hard vegetables and Yorkshire Puddings that can injure you.

At no point did anyone ask how the food was, not even when they cleared away plates that still had lots of food on them.

Really disappointing that the quality has dropped so far.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BearCountryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Three Frogs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Thank you very much for getting in touch and we're really pleased that you found the team friendly and welcoming although we're disappointed that you were let down by your meal and this is something that we will look into. If you would like to discuss this with us further please don't hesitate to get in touch by sending an email to 5299@greeneking.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Honestly doesn’t deserve a review, lovely hot day , drinks where delivered fast ( and they took my money fast ) only ordered 2 light lunches , sandwiches, after 50 minutes still nothing , asked a member of staff to chase up , whom also disappeared for another 20 minutes, went to the manager for a refund and to my surprise there was 3 other families also getting refunds and NOT one apology from staff or management, absolutely disgusting service and the tables and chairs outside where covered in bird mess…. Note to the Owners , get new staff who care and clean garden furniture

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank paulrW5011FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Three Frogs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

We're very sorry to hear that you were waiting so long for your lunch, Paul. It's disappointing to see that you had to wait so long for an update on your food. We're also concerned to hear that others were requesting a refund at the same time. Thank you very much for making us aware of your experience so we can look into this further, we will make sure the necessary improvements are made to our service and that the furniture is cleaned on a more regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

Had a nice lunch with a friend at the Three Frogs today. Even though it was a restricted menu the food was prepared very well and we enjoyed it. Thanks to the chef George Ellis today. Also thanks to lovely Jane who made us feel very welcome. Lovely service, a nice midweek treat.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Mitchley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Three Frogs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Thank you so much for your review, I will make sure these comments are passed onto George and Jane. we hope to see you again soon, kayleigh and the frogs team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Had arranged to meet a colleague of mine to have an informal meeting over a drink and was greet by George E and he made us feel welcome and served us straight away and made sure if there was anything he could do for us he would. Amazing service, lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 422johnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Three Frogs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Thank you for reviewing The Three Frogs. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and I will pass your comments on to George. Anthea and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Went for a meal with the family. Must say the food was very good and service perfect. Had a lovely young lady named ashli serve us and I can say her service made the meal out all the better so lovely and polite.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank carlwA3629PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at The Three Frogs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Absolutely lovely to hear, thanks for taking the time to review. Anthea and Team frogs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Frogs also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to The Three Frogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.