We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal at the Portomaso Casino Brasserie”

The Casino at Portomaso
Attraction details
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Meal at the Portomaso Casino Brasserie”
Reviewed December 8, 2015

The missus and I enjoyed a superb 'child-free' meal at the brasserie.

It started with an initial 20 minute delay to get registered, since we were first-timers and the computers required some kind of reboot. The girls at the counter were friendly and professional though the overseeing chap could have done with a smile.

Once in, we were well-served by smiling waitresses who didn't take a single note yet remembered perfectly our detailed order. The food was REALLY good. The chef must be a part-time artist as he manages both to infuse the food with taste and make it look spectacular. My grilled beef salad followed by calamari offered the best of both worlds and left me wondering when I'll be returning for more of the same... and that on a full stomach!

Aside from the understandable initial wait, the only grey streak consisted of a few people, seemingly foreign regulars, whose patronising attitude cheapened the ambiance, despite effusive pandering by the same overseeing chap who didn't spare us a look throughout the meal.

Still, the food and service is impeccable and worthy of praise. Prosit!

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank osa109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    43
    38
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Most Amazing Casino In Malta :))) great experience and staff very helpful. Food not very expensive even the drinks are not expensive

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Christmas was quiet, more life during the day”
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Very presentable Marina and clean, although hotel expensive. Not really worth a second visit unless entertaining on a boat. Perhaps a cold windy evening didn't help.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“EPT/BOM experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2015

Was there 2 times, both times - WORST ORGANISATION EVER !!! You need to wait in line for hours just to get in ...
Second time we came before the tournament just to avoid that, they had TWO counters open and after waiting for 45 min to simply get in, they said that they are closing the first one and everyone should move to the second. So After waiting 45 min and getting in front of the line, they told us to move to the BACK of the other line and wait another 45 min.
I DO NOT recommend this to anyone and will never again go myself !

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Dimitar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good IPT/EPT experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2015

Visited during the IPT and EPT poker events. At least at that time there was also good poker cash games available. Not too expensive drinks. Also healthy food options but might had been only because of the IPT/EPT, not sure.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Tuomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Casino at Portomaso also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Casino at Portomaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing