We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Allegro Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$333
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boho Hostel(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
be.HOTEL(Saint Julian's)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$217
US$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alexandra Hotel Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$122
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$365
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Burlington Apartments(Saint Julian's)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Spinola Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beach Garden Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$106
US$78
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,486)
Filter reviews
1,486 results
Traveler rating
276
512
376
165
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
512
376
165
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay view roomspinola baytwo double bedssuperior roomst juliansbed and breakfast basishalf boardindoor poolcleaned every dayhotel barpublic areasbars and restaurantsplenty of sunbedsomelettenight lifebus stopsea
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,486 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

A nice hotel in a good position on the bay. Our superior standard room was plain, but clean and quite modern. TV rubbish for Brits (news and Eurosport only), but internet usually ok. Hotel had plenty of sunbeds (early season), small indoor pool and sauna, larger outside pool and access to bay in calm weather. Breakfast buffet style, but fine. I would have found half-board buffet basis too samey, I think, but handy for families. I had the same problem as a previous reviewer re hairdryer, but took it straight to reception for exchange. Staff friendly and helpful, in the main. Building work is a little tiresome in the background, but happening all over Malta, so hard to avoid.

Room Tip: Superior, bay-side room preferable. Good view and less noise.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgaAVA, guest relations agent at Cavalieri Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Helen S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations in all aspects of your stay with us, at the Cavalieri Art Hotel. This is definitely not the standards our hotel. Kindly note that we take guest feedback seriously and the staff and Management will try their best to improve the products and services that we offer to our guests.
We do hope that you would give another chance serve you once again should your travel plans find you in Malta again.

Best Regards,
Anna Debnarikova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Hence the title, the destination you get is awesome, really accessible for bus stops + you can go to anywhere from this location. Every morning I woke up with a view of Azure blue water, amazing view!

There is a tourist reception where they are really helpfull, appreciated that.

Our room was okay… wel not the most beautifull room but we were two students so we did not need that much luxury. The room was a bit like a dining hall. But nevertheless we enoyed our stay.

I cannot say anything about the food because we did not eat there.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SebaDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgaAVA, guest relations agent at Cavalieri Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear SebaDev,


We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and for once again choosing the Cavalieri Art Hotel.


We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel’s facilities and services to your satisfaction during your stay.

On behalf of all the staff I thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor. We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Cavalieri Art Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Anna Debnarikova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Let’s begin with the positive: the hotel is located at a very central location in St Julian’s. The bar terrace is very nice overlooking the bay area. Nice to sit there. There is a cozy outdoor area with a pool. Nice if you want/can have breakfast outside on the terrace. Breakfast inside is a nightmare. Humid hot air with bad smells from the kitchen. Loads of older tourists fighting for food and especially the coffee machine (coffee is not even very good). On the first morning I just thought of leaving immediately. Most of the breakfast is self service. You can have fresh omelette from a cook which was good. There is a range of cheese, salami and other stuff. Toast, Bread, Brötchen (not the German standard either but that of course is normal for Malta). English breakfast available. Again, the selection is broad and ok. Definitely not a super-breakfast but I would say a higher standard for Malta. There are waiters (very friendly) but the service level is not very high (3 stars compared to German/US standards). Plastic Pepper mills looking like just bought from a supermarket shelf which you then have to pick up / locate on your own are probably not “four star” though.
Rooms are very old and it doesn’t seem they renovated anything in a long time.
When I arrived I had to pay the whole stay in advance which I found very odd. Later I realized it was probably about all the construction going on around the hotel and most probably guests are fleeing due to the noise. Potentially, paying in advance is a way to bind guests to the hotel. Another option could be the hotel being near insolvency. These are only speculations but I heavily recommend the management to change this policy to avoid these kinds of speculations.
Recommendations: NEVER book a room toward the street. There is a huge construction going on on the other side of the street.
Luckily I was there on business as there was another construction site on the other side of the bay - extremely noisy starting early in the morning.
Contrary to what somebody else wrote, beds are a nightmare. Very hard.
One final thing: Wireless internet is free of charge but it is so slow you cannot use it at all. No location for business travelers requiring internet.
Message to the management: your hotel could be a gem. Please invest, renovate and install some high speed internet.
Bottom line: a good 3 star hotel but currently nothing more.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
3  Thank Dominic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgaAVA, guest relations agent at Cavalieri Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Dominic H,

We would like to thank you for choosing Cavalieri Art Hotel and for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike in order to improve our product and services. Therefor we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during breakfast, as this is certainly not the service and impression we aim to provide. Your comments with regards to the utilities have also been forwarded to the management in order for the correct action to be taken.

I would like to take the opportunity to address the issue of payment. Kindly note that as stipulated in your booking and as per hotel’s procedure payment must be taken upon check in .

We also regret to inform you that unfortunately there is nothing we could do with regards to the Construction asit is being carried out by a private and separate entity. However, the hotel does its best to minimize any disturbances to our guests which unfortunately we did not succeed.

Nevertheless we appreciate your comments and hope you give us the opportunity to have you back the next time you visit Malta.

best regards,

Anna debnarikova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

A bit dated, with some flaws (moisture in the ceiling above the window, bathroom could do with some refurbishing especially ceiling again, toilet did not really flush all too well, swimming pool is relatively small, ...). We were aware of the construction works and had asked for a room as high up as possible, which we got. Otherwise, rooms are clean and big, the staff is generally friendly (which - we found out - is saying a lot in Malta). Ample choice at breakfast, not the best we've ever had, but definitely more than ok. The only issue we had was that on the day we were checking out, we found a note charging us for using the minibar, which we hadn't (a bottle was indeed unscrewed but we had nothing to do with that, perhaps a thorough check after people check out is advisable?). However, when we discussed the matter with the lady at the reception, she solved it with a smile. All in all this is a decent hotel at a fair price which is also not badly located if you intend to use public transport (several lines to valletta and direct line to Gozo ferry at the nearby bus stop). Do note that Spinola bay has a lot of traffic and St. Julian's is a large construction site. If you like an active holiday, i.e. the hotel is just for sleeping and you're gone for most of the day, this hotel is a safe choice. If you want peace and quiet and if you will mainly stay in the hotel, there are probably better options up north (Mellieha).

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 9230StiRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgaAVA, guest relations agent at Cavalieri Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear 9230Stira,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us after your recent stay at The Cavalieri Art Hotel.

We must apologise for the fact that we did not meet your expectations on different levels during your stay with us and please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you encountered. Unfortunately the construction is out of the hotel’s control, however we do try our best to minimise the disturbance to our guests. Therefor I do apologise if we did not succeed in this matter. We usually pride ourselves on our high level of service and hospitality and where an issue is identified then we strive to learn from it and improve our service for future guests.


Whilst thanking you once again for your insight, I nevertheless hope you had an enjoyable time exploring the island, and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Always at your service,
Anna Debnarikova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Really nice hotel and a great location for us, only a 5-15min walk to great restaurants, breakfast bars, Paceville nightclubs etc. Still really nice and quiet road. We had a room facing the bay and the construction on the other side didn't bother us.
Room furnitures are a little worn out but kept spotlessly clean every day and the beds were really comfortable. Pool area was great, sun was shining from morning to 6pm and the pool waiter was really nice to us. Definitely coming back!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Dunia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgaAVA, guest relations agent at Cavalieri Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018


Dear Dunia V,

We would like to thank you for choosing Cavalieri Art Hotel and for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike in order to improve our product and services.

We appreciate your kind comments and hope you give us the opportunity to have you back the next time you visit Malta.

Best regards,
Anna Debnarikova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews