We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George, Urban Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$311
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$394/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Meridien St. Julians(Saint Julian's)
US$220
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$193
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$349
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$220
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Spinola Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jules Suites(Saint Julian's)
US$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$201
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$189
US$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hugo's Boutique Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$568
US$433
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveler rating
529
536
169
48
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
536
169
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmolton brown toiletriespenthouse suitecourtyard roommodern hotelsteam roomspa areaparty areast juliansair conditioningspinola baynoisy at nightperfect hotelbusy areanight lifereception staffreception area
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

2 night business stay. Great breakfast. Great spa area. Rooms are big, super comfy bed. Friendly staff that goes the extra mile for you. If its your first stay in Malta and you dont know what hotel to choose, The George is your place!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Knut1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear guest,

We are really glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience and submitting your glowing recommendation, Please do feel free to get in touch with us direct for our best rates if you are visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Rude staff, cold drab decor, chairs that need cleaning (stained fabric - in the lobby), Net curtains in the lobby need cleaning and ironing, two large lobby carpets next to the entrance/ exit doors are dangerour and need re-attaching to the floor.....................the list goes on. One of my biggest complaints is the fact that a large ptoportion of the staff DON'T speak English, which is alarming, since what happens if an emergency takes place and people need instruction/ advice in English. SORT THIS OUT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P7258RAdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi David,

We appreciate your feedback about some lobby issues reported and we have taken action accordingly, however we have serious concerns about this unfair review posted.

I will not go into depth about the issue , however you are well aware that we have reported your harassment of our staff to your travel company and we feel that you have unjustly negatively reviewed the hotel with this in mind.

We can assure all prospective customers that our staff do speak English and we are fully committed to ensuring full customer satisfaction throughout their stay.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had an excellent 6 night stay, there was lots to do around the area. The local bus service is excellent and very cheap. Loads of good restaurants close by and we had an amazing meal in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi Anne,

Very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our locatioan allowed you to explore the wonderful island. We do hope to see you again soon.

All the best from all of us at The George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Nice Hotel, but unfortunately the Sauna and swimming pool appears to be leased off to an Oriental company who couldn't speak English. They appeared to be using this section of the Business for seedy services with Nude clients walking about which prevented my wife and I using the facilities. Not suitable for families especially children. Notices should have been displayed to warn guests before they enter! Maybe the owners were not aware of what was going on!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tillwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time in giving us this feedback. Further to your comments we will be reviewing our procedures and limiting times when children can use spa facilities in order to reduce any uncomfortable situations. Please also do understand that many clients from central Europe are used to using spa facilities in the nude and this is actually the recommended way of use. We will also place signage that will advise clients accordingly.

Regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Expected more from the other reviews we had read. Room too hot and although there was a thermostat and we kept putting it down it would always revert to 22 degrees and we are sure it was warmer. Ac shut off if you opened balcony door or left room so you have to stay inside in the hot room until it cools down, and even then it wasn’t cool enough. In 4 nights in penthouse the sheets were never changed - there was a hole in our bottom sheet so we could easily tell. The floors weren’t swept as a lead beside in the floor stayed for a leaf on the floor stayed for days, the tea wasn’t replenished, and the room phone connection to the front desk/concierge didn’t work so we had to go down to the front desk when the a/c wouldn’t turn on. We would press the on button and it would keep reverting to off. After 2 days we realized after trying on/off for about 10 minutes it would eventually turn on, but would not go to your desired temp. Every few hours in the night had to get up and reset the a/c so it would come on again. Also learnt that there is a 3 digit code to get the phone to dial front desk but they don’t tell you what it is. Very disappointing. 4 star’s in other countries we have visited are usually excellent room and service but with less amenities so we were very disappointed. We moved to a different hotel and are very happy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dangelis1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to review The George. We are as disappointed as you are on not meeting your expectations. As in most hotels our AC system has a lower temperature limit and also switches off when the balcony doors are open. This is an energy saving measure as we do try to reduce our carbon footprint. Saying that if one wants to lower the temperature (which set at 22 should be very comfortable) this may be done.

Your housekeeping issues have also been noted and will definitely look into why these shortcomings were present.

You may also get in touch with me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com if you prefer .

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews