We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$223
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
be.HOTEL(Saint Julian's)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alexandra Hotel Malta(Saint Julian's)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$203
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Spinola Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burlington Apartments(Saint Julian's)
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Cavalieri Art Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$163
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Allegro Hotel(Saint Julian's)
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$350
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$413
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,319)
Filter reviews
1,319 results
Traveler rating
533
545
171
48
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
545
171
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmolton brown toiletriespenthouse suitecourtyard roomlovely hotelsteam roomspa areaparty areaspinola bayst juliansair conditioningnoisy at nightnight lifereception staffreception areayoung peoplebuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,319 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Expected more from the other reviews we had read. Room too hot and although there was a thermostat and we kept putting it down it would always revert to 22 degrees and we are sure it was warmer. Ac shut off if you opened balcony door or left room so you have to stay inside in the hot room until it cools down, and even then it wasn’t cool enough. In 4 nights in penthouse the sheets were never changed - there was a hole in our bottom sheet so we could easily tell. The floors weren’t swept as a lead beside in the floor stayed for a leaf on the floor stayed for days, the tea wasn’t replenished, and the room phone connection to the front desk/concierge didn’t work so we had to go down to the front desk when the a/c wouldn’t turn on. We would press the on button and it would keep reverting to off. After 2 days we realized after trying on/off for about 10 minutes it would eventually turn on, but would not go to your desired temp. Every few hours in the night had to get up and reset the a/c so it would come on again. Also learnt that there is a 3 digit code to get the phone to dial front desk but they don’t tell you what it is. Very disappointing. 4 star’s in other countries we have visited are usually excellent room and service but with less amenities so we were very disappointed. We moved to a different hotel and are very happy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dangelis1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to review The George. We are as disappointed as you are on not meeting your expectations. As in most hotels our AC system has a lower temperature limit and also switches off when the balcony doors are open. This is an energy saving measure as we do try to reduce our carbon footprint. Saying that if one wants to lower the temperature (which set at 22 should be very comfortable) this may be done.

Your housekeeping issues have also been noted and will definitely look into why these shortcomings were present.

You may also get in touch with me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com if you prefer .

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Had a great time at George hotel very good location and excellent staff. Go for a high room of you can with sea view a penthouse ideally as balcony is so large and gives ability to enjoy the weather in privacy

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our penthouse suites.

Please do get in touch with us again if you intend to visit Malta again.

All the best from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I stayed at the George Hotel when on business so I did spend very little tie in the hotel, but the time I did spend was great.

The service of the staff was excellent, from the front desk, the bar and the restaurant.

The room, normally not the most important to me as I dont plan on spending much time in there, but the room was fantastic, if was clean, bright and inviting after a long day at work and the bed and bedding made for a really great sleep.

I did not have time to use the pool facilities located on the roof, they looked first class, and given more time I would have liked to make the most of it.

The only thing that the hotel lacked for me, and probably not an issue for the high percentage of the hotel visitors was the lack of a gym. - Even a small token gym area, a couple of free weights and a couple of cardio machines would have finished the hotel perfectly for me.

I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank NormanDaiquiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The George for your recent business trip to Malta. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room comfortable after your day. We will certainly take your request for gym equipment into consideration as this is an excellent idea and well worth implementing.

Please do get in touch with us direct if you are visiting the island again so we can offer you our best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We stayed there for five days. A bus stop is nearby. There is a nice pool with sea view on the roof. The staff is friendly, breakfast very good. A lot of small cafes and shops you also can find around the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank uwem256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The George for your first visit to Malta. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again soon. As you will notice from our website, booking direct gives you the most preferential rate and range of options to get the most out of your stay.

Regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We weren't disappointed of what we expected. Staff was very friendly and helpful, room spacious and comfortable. Minor defects on the furniture, but nothing serious. Location is perfect for going out in the evening as there are lots of good restaurants round the hotel and the bus connection is great for trips around the island. Hotel and pools were clean. Great view from the rooftop terrace. All in all recommendable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Nora,

Thank you for your review., we are happy to read you had a great time with us and found our staff welcoming and friendly as well as our location perfect for your needs.

Please do get in touch with us directly if you visit Malta again

Regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews