We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
152
187
108
68
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
187
108
68
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view hotel breakfast big hotel nice hotel conference facilities warm and cold dishes pay nok nice balcony pedestrian zone excellent breakfast pleasant stay only drawback worth a visit stayed one night big selection an upgrade english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

A relatively traditional Scandic Hotel, not the most modern hotel and not recently renowated but very clean, tidy and well maintained. The staff is very kind and helpfull and the location and the views from the hotel and hotelrooms is second to none with the hotel placed quayside in the old and very picturesque inner harbour of Haugesund.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
Thank SRNCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I have stayed at Scandic Maritime before, and I like Scandic, but today Maritim is out of date. They have no climate control in the rooms, which results in a hot room with really bad air quality.

The standard room is, as a friend of mine said it, like a prison cell. I do necessarily not agree with him, but my room is so basic that it cannot be more basic without removing the floor. You want more luxury than your garage; choose another hotel, e.g. Scandic Haugesund, uptown.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past when it was Rica Maritim, not too much has changed thankfully.. It is very well located on the quayside close to all the amenities in the centre of town.
We had a superior room with balcony overlooking Smedasundet, the water that the town. It was very comfortable.
Breakfast may not be as good as it was when it was a Rica hotel, but nevertheless is very good with a good selection of both warm and cold foods. Allergy information was clearly identified wherever relevant.
One point to be aware of, the hotel has two parking places adjacent, both of which are operated by independent companies and are not a part of the hotel. One night we returned to the hotel, tired after a long day and forgot to buy a parking ticket, the next morning we had a fine of NOK 760.

Room Tip: Overlooking Smedasundet, preferably on higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid Helen O, Front Office Manager at Scandic Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Mark
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay. Very nice to read that you, as a returning guest, didn't notice any big changes after we went from Rica to Scandic. Then we have handled the change as planned :) The breakfast should actually be better now then before, and that is also to mainly feedback we get from our guests. Please tell us if there is anything you miss. We are always trying to get better and we love feedback and tips from our guests. I am so sorry for your parking fine. Another tip from us to our guests is that the parking down with the sea at the south side of the hotel is free every evening/night!

Looking forward to see you at Scandic Maritim another time. With the best wishes for a lovely summer.

Kind regards,
Astrid Helen Ove
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The location of this hotel is excellent and the staff is positive but the rest is not as we expected. I ordered a single room for one night and got one facing the yard. The room was tiny, the bed very narrow, the temperature very high, the air in the room was stale/smelly and there seemed to be no ventilation. On request, I got a better room facing the sea with more space and better air but, seemingly, without proper ventilation/AC. There might be AC but, if so, it must be central without any possibility to adjust in the room. Hence, I did not have a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was average, bar was good and the crew both places very helpful.

I make over would do the hotel much good - especially if proper ventilation could be installed.

It is a pity since the location is perfect that the staff did utmost to assist.

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms facing the street/yard.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brutusOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid Helen O, Front Office Manager at Scandic Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay. Very nice to read that you liked both the location and our staff. Our room have different standards in different price levels. Our economic and standard rooms are facing the town/street and parkingplaces. Our upgraded room, superior and so on, are all facing the see and have a private balcony. We have ventilation in every room, but sadly we don't have AC in any rooms. At the west coast of Norway I think we can count the days in one hand that we need the AC, we are then more focused on keeping the rooms warm the other 360 days of the year :)

We hope we can welcome you back another time. With the best wishes for a great summer.

Kind regards,
Astrid Helen Ove
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews