We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Currimao
Reviewed March 19, 2017

I went here with my friends back in 2016. I was my friend who booked it and I think she got it discounted from Deal Grocer, I guess. I forgot but anyway, we stayed there and had a great time. The ambiance and the scenery was fantastic. The food is too big for us but it was good nonetheless. The beach wasn't to die for but you will enjoy the infinity pool. If you want massage, make sure to have a reservation ahead of time.

Room Tip: the villas are great!
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2017

Dropped by for a single night of a long road trip.
Very nice resort and beach. Howeve there could be small improvements. Little things like the showers and other things need attention but it didnt ruin our stay. As is expected in the philippines.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. upon arrival the front desked asked if I would like my car washed after the long drive from manila. This was great because i was thinking i need to wash it before our next leg on the trip. Kudos to them for that.
All staff very kind as i mentioned.

Price was a little bit high i think.
I also notice after we booked that we could have booked through booking .com and save 1000 p. We did ask for the discounted rate but were told no.
I suggest booking online, even if one from your phone you could save 1k.

All in all. Nice place but could be better.

Room Tip: Book online and save 25% booking.com
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AgooBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Playa for 8 days in a big group of 21 people. We had rooms on the first floor. The rooms are fine in standard. Its a not a room you wanna stay in for hours but is okay for just sleeping. We experienced some difficulties with the shower which needed some repair.

The resort is designed to perfection and really suits people that wanna have a nice and quiet time to relax. The pool area is nice and the pool is huge and looks nice, however the lack of drainage worried me a bit and my son did experience a few stomach aches. I suspect the water in the pool for causing this as this is where he spent most of his time. I swam a lot myself and did notice some green algea on the side of the infant pool.

The staff is what makes me rate the resort 4 out of 5. I have travelled a lot throughout the years and this is by far the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever come across. The service in the restaurant is amazing. They always got it right and even remembered what I like for breakfast after day one asked me every morning if I wanted it again. They are very humble in everyway and truly appreciates a kind attitude towards them as well. Always willing to go the extra mile for their guests.

The hotel lacks a pool bar with music and visible alcohol/spirits, however this would also influence on the resorts current tranquil athmosphere.

I can defintely recommend a stay with Playa Tropical resort and Ilocos Norte in general. Great place amazing staff!!!!

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sanner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Checked in to private villa, expecting to have a clean private pool, but dirty.
The room dirty, with dust. The staff were told to clean it, but has to do it twice..
The bed observed with small ants, they were asked to change the sheets,
The next day a sign placed to make up the room, but they did not. We have to address
it to them that evening. I personally will not come back to this place, because of the rate we were charged on the Villa.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Leila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

This place is picturesque and quite. It's tucked away in a small town south of Laoag. It has the potential tot be a pretty amazing getaway. Except its not.

We stayed for two nights in one of the 2-bedroom villas. Don't expect the warmth and welcoming attitude of the staff like you would from any good resorts. Upon arrival there were 5-6 staff members congregating at the front desk chit chatting (not completely unusual in the Philippines). There is a small bird, caged at the lobby that does not appear to be happy (its a love bird by himself in a dirty cage and he's obviously stressed because he's plucking his hair - see photos).

Once we got to our room there was dust every where on the furniture. Normally this won't bother me but we had already been on vacation for 2 weeks before this at various resorts throughout he Philippines and those other resorts were attentive to making sure rooms were clean. After we had asked for a re-dusting they spent about 10-min and was out of the room in a jiffy. They also didn't seem to appreciate us asking to re-clean the room. At $200/night I think its fair to expect the room to not be dusty. At this price, the expectation of quality should be high, particularly in the Philippines.

On the second day it got worst. There is a private pool in the backyard of the villa that was cloudy and stained. We asked them to clean it. It didn't get any better. The main pool wasn't any better either. The kids wouldn't get in the water. Go check out the pond surrounding the main courtyard. Its filled with algae and the tilapia fish does not look healthy.

We also had white sheets with blood stains (see photos) and weird dead bugs stains or whatever else it is on some of the curtains. Oh and see the photos below of cigarette buts throughout the private backyard.

After spending a day in Pagudpud we got back to the villa around 8pm and it wasn't cleaned. They did not service the villa.

Upon checkout, we told management about everything we experienced. We got the typical "oh I'm sorry you guys aren't the first to complain" ordeal but they really didn't do anything else for us nor do I think they will be doing anything to help improve the situation for other customers. Instead of taking our complaints as constructive I think they'd prefer to just brush us aside.

Its too bad this place has a lot of potential to be a great getaway but management does not seem to make an emphasis on maintenance, upkeep, and customer satisfaction. I hope this place improves. Part of the blame is the staff but I think management needs to do better. It won't be too long before this place will feels dated and dirty. The have some work to do.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolisjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currimao
26.1 km away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
260 reviews
48.7 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
505 reviews
22.1 km away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Bellagio Hills Hotel and Restaurant
21.7 km away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
38 reviews
24.3 km away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#4 of 12 in Laoag
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Tropical Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tropical Resort Hotel

Address: Brgy. Victoria, Currimao, Luzon 2903, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Currimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Currimao
Price Range: ₱3,168 - ₱12,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tropical Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel is located at Currimao, Ilocos Norte, Philippines. It is aesthetically inspired by the intricate designs from Bali and infused with our Ilocano hospitality. Your stay would be one of warm service, tranquility and fond memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Playa Tropical Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tropical Hotel Ilocos Norte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing