We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very atmospheric”

Stari Grad, Old Town
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Travnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2018

I loved our visit to Mostar. Our only problem was we didn't really have enough time there as we had to get a coach back to our hotel in Dubrovnik. Price in Mostar are cheaper than in Dubrovnik so this is a good place to shop and/or eat. Euros are accepted here as well as kunar. As well as the 'Old Bridge', the Koski Mehmed Pasha Mosque, a large market place and many restaurants to choose from, Mostar is a place full of atmosphere and history. A step back in time.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old town"
in 14 reviews
"small museum"
in 6 reviews
"stari grad"
in 6 reviews
"nobel prize"
in 3 reviews
"nice view"
in 2 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 2 reviews
"be careful"
in 2 reviews
"bosnian coffee"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"castle"
in 7 reviews
"ivo"
in 7 reviews
"climb"
in 5 reviews
"restaurants"
in 4 reviews
"century"
in 4 reviews
"mountains"
in 3 reviews
"literature"
in 3 reviews
"home"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018

we are so glad we walked up to the old Fortress as we did see lot of old traditional homes along the way. the way the fortress has been restored in the last few years is to be commendable as it is something that needs to be preserved for the future generations. the educational part of the museum is something that should not be missed as the history will not be repeated and the new generation should now all about it. we spoke to the curator of the museum and he explained about the restoration of the fortress which was in ruins during the war in 1992 and that we just missed a beautiful concert at the Fortress that was held only few nights before we arrived. that would have been a beautiful sight and sound at night. maybe next time. the staff that look after the property should be commended on the way they care about the place and paying $2 for an entry fee will make sure the place is looked after and kept in the current condition. Thank you for that

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank azra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Travnik forteress is worth visiting, the view is superb and the small museum gives some interesting insights. We didn't really appreciate the over-crowded, plastic commercial river walk, but we can recommend a walk downtown in the evening when it is car-free and local people sit in bars and cafés in a really friendly atmosphere. If you have a car, you should also make the ride to Babanovac along the mountain meadows and spectacular views.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank martinak928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2018

STARI GRAD in TRAVNIK is one of the main old forts in the area. You may enter the fort after paying a ticket of 2 marks per adult. It has beautiful view of the surroundings, small museum and a small weaving place , where you can buy some artifacts. There is a small café on top as well, where you can spend some time sipping a coffee or a juice or having ice cream.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank SAYFAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

The view here is wonderful with all the green, the etnographic museum inside is inadequate but the fortress itself is wonderful. I think you should visit this place if you want to capture good photos of the city and its nature.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Janset N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stari Grad, Old Town also viewed

Travnik, Central Bosnia Canton
Travnik, Central Bosnia Canton
 
Jajce, Central Bosnia Canton
 

Been to Stari Grad, Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing