We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Waipoua Forest
from US$62.60
More Info
from US$66.10
More Info
from US$93.90
More Info
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
167
44
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
44
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tane mahuta new zealand giant kauri trees min walk non slip a special place short boardwalk off the highway longer walk national treasure humbling experience te matua ngahere worth the journey thousand years kauri coast take your time picnic area
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

If you're a nature buff, this is the place to stop. Easy walk to Tane Mahouta and a bit before this stop is the Kauri Walks where you can walk (easy) to Tane Matua and the Four Sisters. But there are plenty of other Kauri trees growing there. Amasing to see what it must have looked like years ago. I've never seen more that 3 Kauris in one place. Plenty of other NZ native forest to see to.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kathym1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We first went to the visitors centre to get our bearings and a map although this was in the end of limited use, then we drove to the signed car park - Kauri parking, and walked to see the “4 Sisters”, which is a 10 min walk then on to Te Matua Ngahere, a further 30 min round trip. The paths are mainly on boardwalks and you cannot get lost. Ta Matua Ngahere is enormous and really impressive and definitely worth the easy walk.
Then 5 mins drive up the road is Tana Mahuta, just a 2 minute walk from the road, although larger it is not as impressive as Ta Matua Ngahere. The day we visited there was a coffee van which served good drinks and cakes.
I would strongly recommend visited these sites esp the longer walk to Ta Matua Ngahere.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

If you are ever in the North island of New Zealand up near the Bay of Islands take a trip across the country and through the Kauri forest.
You will find an 18 km long winding road with no straight stretches at all and about half way through you will come across a parking for about a dozen cars.
Get out and go and visit a tree that is over two thousand years old.
It is guarded you have to clean your foot ware and have them sprayed (it’s done by machine while you are still wearing them) walk along the wooden walkway and be prepared to be amazed.The trunk is 17.7 meters high the girth is 13.8 meters around it is humbling.
This tree is one of the oldest living things on the planet.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Sean_westlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Picked up at our hotel for what turned put to be one of the highlights of our N Z tour. Merepaea and Brian were the most knowledgeable and caring guides. We were given a Maori prayer to keep us safe on our journey to the forest and for our stay in N Z by Brian. Then the tour really began. We drove to the forest, had to clean our boots before we entered the forest. This was to help prevent disease spreading, which harms the trees. Boots are also cleaned on exit. This is easily done at the cleaning stations.

During the walk we were given lots of interesting and relevant information about the forest and the trees, especially the kauri, a very slow growing tree. It felt like we were being introduced to them and every time we met another, Brian sang another waita or sacred chant. We met the four sisters, four seeds that germinated and grew together. The chants had an ethereal tone, even more so when Merepaea harmonised with Brian. We came up to a 3,000 year old tree and for some reason it was a very emotional moment. The last kauri tree we met was the giant Tane Mahuta, the father of the forest, only 2,000 years old, but bigger than the older tree.
This trip showed me how much respect the Moari have for their forests and how deeply spiritual this is. It was incredible to be dwarfed by these magnificent trees.

A visit to the forest by yourself would be free, but having guides made it so special.
The walk is a very easy one, suitable for anyone. Would recommend decent shoes, but the trails are well kept and on level ground.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank MarianneKamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Very hesitant to write this, since it may well sound as though I am belittling a national treasure. And perhaps I am.

Every nation should acknowledge its oldest tree as a treasure.

But these are not redwoods. Nor sequoias. They may not match even the pines of northern MN and WI. In size nor in age.

So, if you want to share in the celebration of NZ heritage, by all means. And, enjoy the roads getting there.

But if you are a tourist looking for the unique and special attributes of NZ, diverting from more efficient routes to your next destination is, in my opinion, just not worth it.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank wijram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews