We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al fresco at Thirroul Beach Pavilion”

Thirroul Beach Pavilion
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Thirroul
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Description: Down directly on the doorstep of Thirroul Beach with uninterrupted views like no other. Located inside the recently renovated heritage bathers Pavilion this beach cafe offers a casual dining experience great for families, couples, kids and those just after a beachside bevvy.
Restaurant details
Description: Down directly on the doorstep of Thirroul Beach with uninterrupted views like no other. Located inside the recently renovated heritage bathers Pavilion this beach cafe offers a casual dining experience great for families, couples, kids and those just after a beachside bevvy.
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Thirroul Beach Pavilion (formally Flanagans) is superbly situation right at Thirroul Beach. Courtesy of Wollongong City Council, heritage sympathetic renovations have recently been completed. The cafe/restaurant has two alfresco dining areas, one facing the beach and one facing the park on the western side as well as interior seating.
It's a proverbial knock-out million dollar view outlooking the beach, the waves, surfers and scenery.
We have taken friends recently for lunches and all have been highly impressed with the total package.
The well balanced menu (all day brekkie, and mains, snacks, coffee) includes daily blackboard specials. The food we ordered was extremely well presented, very tasty and comprised all fresh ingredients. Additionally the service was timely, in spite of a large number of customers. The restaurant is fully licensed, and beer, wine and spirits should be popular as meal accompaniments in the coming hotter months. Very reasonable food and drink pricings.
The restaurant is open seven days a week.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2016

There is an "order and pay at the counter" system in place which is OK, however, when you charge the premium prices on their menu table service of the food and beverages needs to be included.
We kept it simple for lunch and ordered a burger and an egg& bacon roll. The rolls were dry and the egg& bacon roll was drowning in tomato sauce. The food wasn't very hot.
The coffee lacked flavour and was presented with plastic spoons.
The location is fantastic but everything else lets it down,we won't be rushing back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieJenkins1, General Manager at Thirroul Beach Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a new small business to the Thirroul cafe scene, feedback like yours is invaluable to us and will be passed along to head management.

In future, if there is ever anything less than satisfactory with your meals please do not hesitate to bring it to our friendly staffs attention so we can rectify the issue immediately and you can go back to enjoying the relaxed beachside atmosphere.

Hoping you will dine again with us in the future - Thirroul Beach Pavilion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The fish and chips were nice. It was a good size serving with just enough chips and salad and aioli.
Lovely location.
Good service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YLisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieJenkins1, General Manager at Thirroul Beach Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi YLisette, thankyou for taking the time to provide us with the invaluable feedback. As a new small business to the Thirroul cafe scene we are still trying to get our portion sizes right! Please know that your feedback has been passed along to our head chef for training purposes.

Hoping to see you in store again soon! - Thirroul Beach Pavilion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Wow! Right on the beach, great salmon, pork belly, scallops, and kids meals. Prices $9 for kids meals, $20+ for mains. You can't go wrong!! It's a must

Thank Jude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieJenkins1, General Manager at Thirroul Beach Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Jude L, thank-you for the glowing review! We are so glad that you enjoy your experience at the Thirroul Beach Pavilion. Why not stop by for dinner - enjoy 2 main meals and bottle of house wine for $60 beachside from 5pm - 7pm every Friday and Saturday evening.

Hoping to see you and the kids in store again soon - Thirroul Beach Pavilion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We have been looking forward to the Pavilion reopening since the renovations were completed so we decided to take my Parents there for lunch on a Sunday. Create views of the beach and local coastline sitting outside and a good choice of food, although they had not received their alcohol license as yet. When was our turn to collect our food from the kitchen, one order was incorrect and the other two, both fish and chips were cold and soggy as though they had been left sitting on the counter for an extended period, disappointing for a new establishment. My Wife and I decided to give the Pavilion another ago today, this time for breakfast. Again outside you can't beat the location, however that's where the enjoyment ended. This restaurant need to address their serving staff and bring some organisation into the place! Our order was for 1 coffee, 1 Tea, the mushrooms on toast and the Beachside Breakfast with poached eggs. Our tea and coffee were served within 10 minutes from ordering, our food, well one dish took nearly 30 minutes, the other meal was given to someone else? The meal that was ready had to be sent back as the eggs were stone cold, again left sitting on the bench in front of other customers collecting their food. The other meal finally arrived 10 minutes later. Very disappointing! we over heard the table behind us say that they had just recieved a few additional meals for free as the staff had been incorrectly providing the wrong meals. Probably won't be going back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirroul Beach Pavilion also viewed

Thirroul, New South Wales
 
Thirroul, New South Wales
Thirroul, New South Wales
 
Thirroul, New South Wales
 

Been to Thirroul Beach Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing