We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
DarrenWestwell
Bury, United Kingdom

Ghyll Manor

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 13, 2020
The staff at Ghyll Manor are so friendly and helpful - worthy of a visit - accommodation is excellent and breakfast kept me going for most of the day - whilst only 1night stopover working in the area would recommend to all visiting Horsham or surrounding area
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,631
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
The Superior Room at the Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,156
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,886
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,722
  • Booking.com
4.3 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱11,298
  • Hotels.com
5.5 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
₱4,023
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
5.2 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱12,655
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
Premier Inn Gatwick Crawley Town (Goff's Park) hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
₱4,023
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
5.8 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    ₱7,348
  • Booking.com
6.3 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
View more hotels in Rusper
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
303
258
126
62
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
303
258
126
62
24
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 773 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2020

Great place to stay, food was fantastic, plenty of choice from the menu. The rate for the room was extremely good value which included a bottle of house wine each night.. Staff were very helpful and polite. Room was very comfortable and well equipped.
Location was good for where we wished to visit which was brighton.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 10, 2020

The price was reasonable at £137 for two weekend evenings, room only basis in March. However there were quite a few points were improvements could be made. Our three biggest issues with our stay, were as follows:

1) Not enough power points in the room. Had to unplug a lamp, the clock radio, or the TV, in order to plug the kettle or hair dryer and not to mention charging a mobile phone.

2) Not enough light (very dark indeed), no ceiling light at all.

3) Noise - our room 'Grey Jenet', in particular the beds headboard, backed onto the main door of the block. We were woken by a loud bang, pretty much every time someone came in or out of the block, due to the noise of the main door slamming. As we were only here 2 nights, and had already settled ourselves for the first, we didn't make a fuss. If we ever returned and this room were offered - we would stay elsewhere.

4) The pillows were the most uncomfortable we have EVER experienced. Far, far, far too soft, and the extras in the wardrobe, were no different so didn't even have an alternative. This should definitely be looked into.

5) The bathroom mirror was a little distance from the front of the sink, and no shaving mirror provided??

6) The arm chair provided in the room, really does need to go, as this was very uncomfortable to sit in.

7) No real space to make a cup of tea or coffee? Had to either use what should have been the dressing table or a pull out draw under the TV, which meant kneeling on the floor to make a cuppa.

8) Although we appreciate the building itself as being very old - there 'are' ways to bring modern necessities in, without losing character & charm.

On the plus side, the bed itself was fairly comfortable, the room was warm, the shower was powerful/hot, and the WiFi reception was good throughout. Planes going over were not a problem at all, and the hotel grounds were nice & well kept.

Would only stay here again if we were guaranteed not to get the same room & could check the items above first.

Regards

Room tip: Unless you sleep like a log, don't have the room Grey Jenet (banging doors)
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanmckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 9, 2020

Lovely rustic hotel,, full of character and very unique.The staff are all superb, helpful and attentive, they make it a pleasure to stay here. Breakfast is fantastic, only the addition of black pudding
could improve it !

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rbenne875374
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ktlouisewright19, Receptionist at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your recent stay at Ghyll Manor. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service we provide; it is lovely to hear how well looked after you were during your stay.

Our breakfast menu is in the process o being updated and I have been informed by our head chef that one of the changes will be that we will have black pudding available. I do hope that you will join us again for an equally delightful stay in the future.

Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2020

Stayed here for 2 nights with our dog. If you want luxury then stay in the main house without your pet, but your pet will love the basic cottages and the gorgeous grounds.
Food at dinner, although expensive, was divine as was the choice of wines.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sarahdN389RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ktlouisewright19, Receptionist at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Ghyll Manor. We are glad to hear how you and your fury friend enjoyed your stay in 'Bothy Cottage' and were able to take advantage of the glorious grounds.

I will also pass your kind comments with regards to your evening meal onto our head chef; they will be greatly appreciated. I do hope you visit again in the near future.

Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2020

on arrival i was pleasantly surprised, the facilities are very good. my room ( Oak Cottage) was well appointed and very comfortable. only downside was the internet connection. during my stay there was an issue with the TV Ariel and the reception was poor, which lead to me reading and going to bed early....loved it, rare treat.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nemers831789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ktlouisewright19, Receptionist at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Ghyll Manor Hotel. We are delighted to hear you found 'Oak Cottage' comfortable and enjoyable throughout your stay. Please accept my apologies with regards to the issue you faced with the internet connection and the TV service. These issues have since been rectified by our maintenance department and we do hope that this does not defer you from deciding to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews