We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
CheapTickets
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,762 results
Traveler rating
1,030
406
195
79
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,030
406
195
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the river chill spa floor to ceiling thermal suite heritage suite spa treatments moy suite voya products spa area steam room seaweed bath bar menu eggs benedict top class stunning location both mornings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,762 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

We visited here recently..very nice hotel..blended in well with surroundings..lovely reception area and lounge area beside reception..even though no-one ever really used it..we stayed in the rooms beside the spa..overlooking the river..the rooms are lovely..very big.sitting room and bedroom seperate..lovely big comfortable bed..they had netflix as well which was handy..lovely bathroom with bath..very modern room..balcony looking out on the river was nice..when water is out its a tiny bit dirt but grand..we went for spa treatment which was nice..outdoor jacuzz,sauna,was nice..breakfast was good.. its a lovely hotel in nice location

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank czburke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review. I was delighted to read of your enable stay with us.
Regards
Niall Kerins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Fantastic day at the spa and restaurant for my Mums birthday. Staff in both where so friendly and helpful and renovations and additions to the spa have made it a level up I’ve been a few times before and it’s really going to be amazing when all the work is done. Food and staff in the restaurant was fab made it really special for my mum! We had to make some changes to the bookings and you can tell with all the rules and regulations they are really trying to be as accommodating as they possibly can be. Staff in all hotels and restaurants are under huge pressure and you’d never tell here and it’s really appreciated. Can’t wait go go back.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mi0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your experience with us here at The Ice House. It was a delight to read of your enjoyable day trip. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff.

Regards
Niall Kerins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Arrived to this hotel in the middle of a covid staffing crisis stay with friends
No evening restaurant service and no spa
Rooms had lovely river view and staff made our three day stay very enjoyable. Would recommend as a great base to explore north Mayo!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank banhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Firstly apologies for the lack of facilities during your stay. Unfortunately due to some of our staff being close contacts we had to close both our Spa and Restaurant to ensure the safety of both Staff an Guests. Thankfully we are through this now and both area's are reopen.
I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff. Hopefully you will the chance to return and experience our full offering.
Regards
Niall Kerins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Very good room, with great view over the river. Although we weren't able to have dinner in the restaurant as the curse of COVID had struck the staff there, the breakfast was good and all the staff very friendly and accommodating, including at breakfast and in the bar. The location is great for being along the river but less great if you want to pop into town, which is either a long walk or a 4-5 minute drive or taxi ride.

The only obvious weakness is the reception area as you walk into the hotel on your right.....it's pretty dark and depressing (the opposite of the rooms and restaurant), and feels a bit like entering a Soviet ticket office, which is a bit heart-sinking for a first impression......

Room tip: Any room overlooking the river, but maybe they all overlook the river (?!)....
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithC165
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly take your comments on board regarding the Reception area.
Regards
Niall Kerins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

If we didn't have the misfortune to dine in the restaurant this would of been 5/5.
The Hotel was absolutely spotless, housekeeping are clearly outstanding. Nice warm welcome from reception and room service breakfast was excellent. Delivered on time and hot.

We had a booking in the restaurant on the first night. Despite arriving on time we were left standing for five minutes with staff walking past and ignoring us - not even a nod to say I'll be with you in a moment. The list of all diners and special notes was left sitting on the table right in front of us - huge breach of gdpr.
Finally a girl came and asked our name and then barked I don't have a table ready yet but then said OK follow me instantly. Bearing in mind it was now 10 minutes after our booking. We were brought to a table a young guy was setting for breakfast. She was really rude and asked him what he was at and rolled her eyes. I think his name was James but he was incredibly friendly and chatted away to us while setting it. The same waitress was rude all evening to other staff and it was really uncomfortable sitting watching it and hearing it. She was trying to do everything herself and train the new staff but i could understand her frustration - there was a clear lack of leadership. Near the end a lady appeared who must have been a supervisor as she was dressed differently but she gave no direction and we could hear her asking another manager for feedback. She should have been there seating from the start.
It was so warm, no air conditioning and the food was totally bland to add to the whole experience. Nothing had any flavour except for dessert which was lovely.

We left really disappointed which we would have said on the night had anyone bothered to ask. We cancelled dinner on the second night

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank M2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding our Restaurant service. It was disappointing to read of your experience during your stay. I will speak to the team and discuss your comments above. Should you wish to discuss further please dont hesitate to contact me on chill@theicehouse.ie.
Regards
Niall Kerins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews