We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked to eat here with two good friends the service was great, very welcoming, the food was equally good. a small dish of the curry was brought out for our freind to try just incase it was too hot (it was perfect) a nice touch from the establishment. i would recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in here on Saturday evening and hadn't booked and even though they were so busy they found us a table quickly. The service is wonderful, everyone is so friendly and happy to answer any questions and are smiley and happy. A really great atmosphere to eat good food. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aliplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fabulous review thank you for sharing it with other trip advisor members. We all take great pride in our restaurant and it makes all the hard work so worthwhile when we receive reviews like yours .Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here whilst on holiday in Bakewell. The food was really good quality with a special mention for the salmon tikka which was really tasty. The staff are exceptionally friendly. I would highly recommend if you are in the area.

Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for lovely comments and taking the time to post them on tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us at the restaurant.We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was attentive and the food delicious. We liked that taster pot to check the food was the correctly spiced for us. The waiters were lovely to our boys and made us feel very welcome. It was surprisingly busy for a Wednesday night but that proves how popular it is.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank JennyLY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The team and myself love to have families visit us as the younger ones are the future and if they enjoy themselves we feel sure that they will want to return .Thank you for sharing your praise with other trip advisor members and taking the time to post your excellent comments. Hope to see you again very soon for another memorable evening at the Shalimar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic meal, the service and food was amazing! I can personally recommend the Moti Special, it was a real treat. The whole party had a great evening, and a big thanks to the management and staff for accommodating the Birthday cake. We’ll be back very soon, also to note the local delivery service is as good as the restaurant. A big thanks again!! The Gill party

Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your fabulous review we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us at the restaurant. Hope that it was a birthday party to remember. The team and myself eagerly await your next visit . Once again thank you for sharing your comments on trip advisor .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing