We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alverton
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Trewithian)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Driftwood Hotel(Trewithian)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nare(Veryan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveler rating
616
232
82
40
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
232
82
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalverton manorbeautiful hotelwedding plannercourtyard roombridal suitescallopsrestaurant managermain buildingfour poster bedold buildingwine listlovely groundswaiting staffcity centrestayed for one nightno lifthigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 989 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed at The Alverton for a weekend. The hotel is well placed, very picturesque and extremely welcoming.
The room was large, well furnished and equipped, very clean and had modern furnishings.
The breakfast was superb and is everything that you would want from a hotel of this calibre.
Highly recommended and i will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ainsworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ainsworthian,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for highly recommending the hotel.

I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your weekend stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best wishes

Larissa Hardy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in March, wirk related, in a deluxe double room in the new Courtyard part. It was luxurious and very quiet, only the birds to wake me gently in the morning. Food and service was outstanding. Staff are very polite and helpful. Can't wait to take my husband.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank pennycat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear pennycat68,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I'm pleased that even though staying with us for work, you still found the hotel to be luxurious and quiet, with outstanding food and service. I look forward to welcoming you back again for a leisurely stay with your husband.

Best wishes

Larissa Hardy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the more recent part of the hotel, called courtyard. the rooms were tidy and clean. We also had dinner at the restaurant, very nice menu and friendly staff. We would definitively return.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Harald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Harold C,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in The Courtyard.

I'm pleased you liked our new menu and found the hotel tidy and clean with friendly staff.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes

Larissa Hardy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had not been here since the refurbishment, well what a difference, modern, sleek and welcoming yet still keeping the traditional ambience. Went for supper with a friend, menu was interesting with not an easy choice as so many ticked my boxes, finally settled on the grilled fish which was amazing, my friend chose the shin of beef but wanted to change the ravioli to hand cut chips, this was done with ease as our waitress was so accommodating. The restaurant staff were pleasant, professional, attentive but not over bearing. Will definitely be back and will not leave it so long this time. I must compliment the new owners of the fabulous refurbishment.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear kim p,

Thank you for your review. The Alverton has been through a lot of changes over the past few years and I'm pleased they have been well received. The new menu is delicious so I can understand how you found it hard to make a decision with all the choices available but delighted to hear the grilled fish was amazing and the staff were very accommodating.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes

Larissa Hardy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed overnight in the Alverton Hotel for the first time and had booked it based on its reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed.
We were upgraded (free) to a suite in the courtyard building which is only a very short walk from the main hotel building and the room was fantastic, great size, spotlessly clean with a super king sized bed, Smart tv, large bathroom with a genuine power shower - there was even a modern steel bath in the main room as well. Plenty of mod cons, tea, coffee, coffee maker, power sockets.
The bar was well stocked and not overly expensive and was very quiet.
The main hotel building has a great history (it was at one point a convent) with a spectacular Great Hall with a fabulous vaulted ceiling.
Breakfast was extremely good with plenty of choice for all tastes ie: continental, juicies, cereals as well as a cooked breakfast and again, they cater for gluten free.
All the staff (especially Andy at breakfast and Debbie on reception) were extremely friendly, courteous, knowledgable and approachable.
We would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Courtyard rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David M,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you got to experience a Junior Suite with it's super king bed, free standing bath, smart television and power shower.

I will pass on your kind comments to Andy, Debbie and the team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best wishes

Larissa Hardy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews