We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value soup & sandwich deal”

Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Availed myself of their soup & sandwich deal for lunch when visiting the shop.Although sandwich was excellent & I obviously expected a smaller portion of soup was taken aback when soup was served in container size of an egg cup in fact I was given a tea spoon to use for my soup.Have used this restaurant many times before & food quality is generally good but have noticed general decline in customer care & service on recent visits

Thank Stewy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macksh1985, Manager at Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I’m sorry you felt that the soup & chips deal wasn’t an adequate portion. We have passed this on to our restaurant team to rectify. With regards to the service, this is something that we have taken on board and are working hard to improve on. I do hope this hasn’t deterred you from coming to Mackenzies and that you will come again soon and notice the improvement. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been coming for a long time, today the young people waiting on we're more interested in their own conversations. Arriving after 2.0 clock the young man serving still didn't know what the soup was, I couldn't get their attention to ask for a pot of hot water, I eventually went up and asked. We weren't offered any sauces to have with our lunches, no one came to ask if everything was alright, We had to wait awhile at the till to pay, as all 3 staff were elsewhere, The young lady member of staff eventually came after one of the young men noticed us waiting. We've always been given a chocolate when paying which is a lovely gesture and not what we go for, but all other customers were given them when paying for lunches, either on a plate at the table or given by hand at the till. These might appear 'petty' moans but this is not what we've experienced before. I always spend a good amount in the shop on meats etc which I will continue to do

Thank Dot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macksh1985, Manager at Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent experience with us. We’ve taken all of your comments on board and are working to improve on the service. I do hope that you will come again soon and will notice the improvement. Thanks once again for notifying us of the issues you incurred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Mackenzie Smokehouse for an early coffee and cake on Saturday 31st March.
What a nice surprise to find such and interesting place to have a coffee. or a meal we will certainly be going there again.
In the shop there we bought various things, some meat for our freezer and some biscuits and cakes....a really nice drive out in the country well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skitt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macksh1985, Manager at Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so glad you had a nice time. Hope to see you at the smokehouse again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for breakfast and the food was served on cool plates and the food was also cool. We were the first customers in and were served quickly. Too quickly!
The customer service follow up was terrible and they were not bothered at all.
We will not go back!

3  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Whilst waiting to be seated in the restaurant part of Mackenzie, I observed one of the chefs sampling something he was obviously making from a large pan on the cooker, I do approve of chefs tasting their food so that they can make sure that the flavour of their creation is just how they want it to taste, as I continued to observe the chef I was expecting him to put the spoon to the wash, instead he decided to taste another spoonful from the pan using the same spoon that he had used and contaminated with his germs only seconds earlier without washing it, not good practice in any kitchen that serves members of the public and this incident definitely needs addressing by the management but I certainly won't ever go there again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gizmolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macksh1985, Manager at Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to just mention that we have hot water rinse bowls that we use to clean spoons off so as not to waste time during busy service periods. Hope this clarifies your comments & our apologies for any confusion. Many thanks
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse also viewed

Timble, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mackenzies Yorkshire Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing