We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!! ”

Tangmere Military Aviation Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Tangmere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Miltary Aviation Museum covering from the First World War to the Jet age with a selection of unique aircraft and mementos associated with this historic site.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I just had to come and complete a review of this small but fascinating museum... I genuinely found the volunteers who run it enthusiastic and informed. I spoke to four gentlemen individually and only caught the name of one, David, but all made the displays and the information come alive with their tales and memories.

I cannot recommend this museum enough, and wanted to thank the Volunteers for their time and energy. I was drawn to the story of Ann Reeves who I shared a birthday with and would have loved to have read more information of the role of the women ... in perhaps one of the pamphlets on sale? We learnt about the fabric used on the hurricane, and the difference between them and spitfires, the stories of special agents, the role of Waddingtons in POW camps and the Lysander trips... I loved it. My boys loved it. We will be back! 5*****

PS One of the volunteers recommended the book Agent ZigZag... please let him know I am thoroughly enjoying it!!

1  Thank WonderingWoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Chairman at Tangmere Military Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your recommendation. We are so pleased you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"battle of britain"
in 69 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 17 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 64 reviews
"on display"
in 43 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 8 reviews
"second world war"
in 12 reviews
"ex raf"
in 11 reviews
"excellent collection"
in 7 reviews
"full size"
in 9 reviews
"packed full"
in 9 reviews
"knowledgeable volunteers"
in 15 reviews
"few hours"
in 29 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 9 reviews
"small cafe"
in 14 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 25 reviews
"answer any questions"
in 12 reviews
"all ages"
in 25 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

As a current pilot I was particularly interested in “flying” the EE Lightning simulator, which was a lot of fun. Make sure you reserve a space when you arrive. The retired Vulcan pilot volunteer made the experience very enjoyable.

Other highlights included seeing the Spitfire cockpit almost complete for the Boultbee Aviation academy. The museum enjoys some very talented volunteers who have a wealth of experience to rebuild and display the many exhibits. A fascinating number of aircraft depicting the long, varied and interesting history of RAF Tangmere since 1916. A number of aircraft on display including a Spitfire K5054; the Swift; World Speed record Hunter WB188; Hurricane to highlight just a few.

Corridors with cabinets displaying and highlighting significant events that have occurred at RAF Tangmere over the decades, make fascinating reading and can consume hours of reading.

Cafe is small but well equipped, with quality food and drinks. An enjoyable lunch was had.

Highly recommended.

Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Chairman at Tangmere Military Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for the detailed review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Went to Tangmere military aviation museum last year with my grandson for an open weekend, it was a lovely sunny day , what an interesting day it was , we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, plenty to see and do , refreshments on site , would highly recommend this venue....

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Chairman at Tangmere Military Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you - your post is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We were blown away at the sheer volume of exhibits that were within, what looked like from the outside, a very small museum. I’ve never encountered such dedicated and knowledgable volunteers at a museum like this before. Our guide was brilliant and spent 2 hours talking to us in detail about the main aircraft exhibits. I will definitely recommend this museum to friends and family, and will certainly return to visit again in the future.

Thank Andy_given
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Chairman at Tangmere Military Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for the kind words - glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Small but has a few planes as well as lots of other RAF, Battle of Britain, SOE exhibits etc. There are great wall panels on various pilots and others such as SOE heroes. It requires a lot of reading but I like that! I was here for hours and am fascinated by such things. Perhaps not so good for younger children who may find it a bit too wordy.

Thank BobIvey633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Chairman at Tangmere Military Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you. Previous reviews seem to agree that young children enjoy the visit experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangmere Military Aviation Museum also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Tangmere Military Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing