We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$92
View deal
Expedia.com
$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/27/22
Agoda.com
$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/28/22
Trip.com$92
Hotels.com$99
Orbitz.com$99
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveler rating
1
1
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1
1
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2019

My boyfriend and I stayed at the “Hillside Resort” and there are some positive and negative aspects I would like to highlight.

My boyfriend and I both work in hospitality in New York City, so we have high expectations when it comes to accommodating. So, lets start with the negative.

1. Poolside unnecessary Drama. My boyfriend witnessed a toddler jumping into the pool with both of the parents back turned away from the child. Right when my boyfriend was about to jump in and save the child, the mother notices and puts the child back on the pool ledge. After a verbally aggressive conversation between the parents, the mother becomes even more angry, which led her to aggressively pushing her child back into the pool (mind blown) he cannot swim!. She then begins screaming, kicking, and throwing things as the father tends to the child. The poor child has a bruise on his forehead from his mother’s aggressive push. We later found out THESE WERE THE OWNERS OF THE RESORT. This situation was completely inappropriate and straight up child abuse. Is this the type of behavior you want to display in front of your guests and your staff?
2. The front desk receptionist Anj is clueless, unorganized, and clearly has no experience in hospitality. She also kept confusing us with other guests on their needs. Her coworker (who’s name I forgot but she mostly worked nights) was rude and would say “what do you want me to do?” If we needed something. If these two receptionist continue to be employed by the “Hillside Resort” the hotel will never grow among the rest of Siargao.
3. Although the food was delicious, the breakfast menu didn’t have half the stuff listed. For example. There was. No bread on the last day so anything on the menu that required bread was unavailable They were always out of something.
4. The rooms were a lot smaller than the website pictures displayed. If you are a backpack traveler the space is fine. If you are traveling on extended holiday/vacation there is one closet that can barely fit one persons clothes There was rust on the bathroom faucet and shower head. For being a new resort, this is not what to expect!
Another situation we ran into was that we booked. Land tour. We were charged $400 pesos more than the listed price on the brochure which was delivered the day before we left. When we asked anj about it she said that rate is for the “Filipino people” WHAT?!?!? EVERYONE IS A TOURIST Speaking of that brochure. There are parties nightly on the island at different spots. It’s listed wrong! We went to this jungle spot on a Monday. And it was completely closed!
I personally wouldn’t say that this is a five-star resort, more on a three-star level.

Now the positives
1. It’s located in a good location in general Luna.
2. The kitchen staff are very kind, as well as housekeeping.
3. We enjoyed happy-hour.

This is truly how we felt and other reviews mention soft opening situations. Tbh they still need to do work. This place has potential to be a place where the neighborhood can come and hang for happy hour or something greater.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank SYDNEYJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

A very clean and greenery ambiance is what you can experience in this place...the Villas were so nice design with matching high end fixtures and so quiet place,the pool has a landscape with the serenity of green surroundings and a taste of local.thumbs up!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Dorisdwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

The resort is on soft opening when we stayed. The architecture of the resort is really good. Looks something like what you see in photos of some Bali hills/forest accommodation. I saw the listing of their villa for a low price since it's on soft opening. Upon booking i was informed that we'll be staying in one of their upper floor deluxe rooms, it was a bit of a let down since the price is the same. I accepted nonetheless.

Some disappointments, when we arrived we felt like the place could improve more on cleanliness. The place wasn't dirty. Its just that you expect resorts like this to be squeaky clean. The lobby is kind of dusty. Our room has traces of the previous occupants. (there were even traces of confetti on the floor etc). The small fridge has leftover water bottles. When my companion took a shower he discovered that the electrical wiring on their wall shower lighting was broken. It smelt like burning electricity and a part of the floor actually has electricity current. We informed the front desk. Someone came in, removed the broken wire but did not come back to replace it as he had promised.

We stayed here for 6 days. On our 3rd day we asked for room cleaning. And when we came back that afternoon, to my dismay. The room wasn't really cleaned. I'm a neat freak, so i know if it was cleaned. Seems like they just dusted the floor. Unplugged a lampshade. That's it. The glasses and coffee mug were still dirty. The bathroom though i know we are clean people, wasn't cleaned. Dirty towels weren't changed. Trash bag wasn't replaced. We also found out that the water heater wasn't working that afternoon and never worked till we left.

I feel like this place is really promising and yet given that it's still on soft opening and a lot of things are already broken. Even the faucet, sink and toilet already have rust. You won't see these on the pictures, you have to be there to see them.

The staff are nice and helpful, when you ask. But they mostly stay inside the room behind the frontdesk the whole day. Except for the female staff on the night shift. So during the day, you have to ring the bell for the male staff to come out.

We feel like this place given a few more months or years would be really one those resorts who were not maintained or what "used to be". It's disappointing that the rooms are a BIT in deterioration when the fact is that it's still on soft opening.

The location is quiet. On the old tourism road. Roads aren't paved. So when it rains it really is muddy. It's a 15 min walk to general luna's busiest area were restaurants are. That is if you take the "shortcut" . If you walk on the main old tourism road. Its probably around 20+ mins before you reach the other busy part of general luna. Yes we walk going out, because tricycles don't frequent on this area.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank kuch1two9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titoli040, Owner at The Hillside Resort Siargao, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

We apologise for the inconveniences that you have encountered in our property. Since your stay, there have been plenty of improvements. We've added free shuttle service for our guests to make the commute a lot more comfortable, the staff has been replaced and the new ones are highly trained to keep the rooms and the property in top shape. Our restaurant, which was then under construction is now also open to serve breakfast and drinks all day.

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at The Hillside Resort Siargao, we hope to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

From what I understood, this little resort just opened. Room are stylish and clean, bed are comfortable and they have plenty of pillows( unusual for hotels in Philippines). There was a little construction near the reception but never bothered at all. Price was good for the quality of the stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travellingflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titoli040, Ägare at The Hillside Resort Siargao, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews