We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puppy made more than welcome ”
Review of The Moorcock Inn

The Moorcock Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Eggleston
Description: Lovely village pub with far reaching views of the beautiful Teesdale countryside. Family run pub offering good food using native shorthorn beef, lamb and tamworth pork reared on the family farm 3 miles away. We also offer bed and breakfast in our recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms and offer a hearty full english breakfast with our own dry cured bacon , homemade sausages and local free range eggs.
Restaurant details
Description: Lovely village pub with far reaching views of the beautiful Teesdale countryside. Family run pub offering good food using native shorthorn beef, lamb and tamworth pork reared on the family farm 3 miles away. We also offer bed and breakfast in our recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms and offer a hearty full english breakfast with our own dry cured bacon , homemade sausages and local free range eggs.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we booked asked if it was ok to take the dog no problem as long as it is well behaved. Food excellent as usual especially the breakfast rooms great with lovely views.looking forward to the glamping pods up and running and a farm shop going on site.well done to Joanne and Mick for all the hard work

Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent stay at this B&B. Clean, friendly service, great location with lovely views. Tried one dish in the evening, best steak and ale pie with chunky chips I've tasted. Breakfast, continental & full English was very filling and Included in the price of the stay. Landlady, Jo and bar staff were very accommodating and helpful. Pet friendly added bonus.
They were renovating the function room (respectful of noise) and building glamping pods and a shop at the back of the property, looking forward to visiting when it's finished. Overall a great stay, great food and friendly staff all at a reasonable cost. Highly recommend ✋
Christine x

Thank Christine6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannesouter, Owner at The Moorcock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Christine, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Moorcock, so pleased that you enjoyed it. Keep an eye on our website for updates on the pods and shop, hopefully we see you soon. Many thanks Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

This restored my faith in a Sunday lunch.
Chicken liver pate to start which was clearly home made and fantastic and then a beef dinner which had beef which was just as it should be, thick juicy and completely delicious. The veg which were cauliflower broccoli carrots swede and carrot mash,new potatoes and roast potatoes were just right, not too hard not too soft. I must mention the gravy, plentiful and it had definitely seen the joint and the veg it was stunning. The puddings looked amazing but sadly I was just too full !
Thank you we will be back

Thank Janking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannesouter, Owner at The Moorcock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Many thanks for your great review. We love to hear from customers and are pleased to hear you will be back.
Many thanks
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We went for the Sunday Lunch there today. It was a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The meat is sourced from the owners farm. They have a new chef and the cooking was superb.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannesouter, Owner at The Moorcock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review your Sunday Lunch at The Moorcock, Alan B, we are so pleased you enjoyed it. Hope we see you again soon, the new chef is adding some new dishes to the menu using our own meat and local produce.
Kind regards
Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

As a party of 11 staying just a short hop skip and a jump away from The Moorcock, this became our “weekend local.”
We honestly could not have asked for much more and were welcomed into the Eggleston Fold by the friendly landlady and locals.
We also ate there on the Sunday evening - the food was fabulous. Good honest down to earth homemade pub food with the meat coming directly from the farm also owned by the landlady.
We had a great time at this brilliant pub and will be back to visit same time next year!

Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannesouter, Owner at The Moorcock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Many thanks, pleased you enjoyed your weekend. Look forward to seeing you next year. Just hope England play better next time. Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorcock Inn also viewed

Eggleston, Barnard Castle
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to The Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing