We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
₱2,052
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Daniel
Taytay, Philippines

Absolutely fantastic mind and body stay close to everything

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 3, 2023
We stayed at Kahanamoku during our family trip to Baler after reading about it online. The place is fantastic and we were treated like family here. Outstanding doesn’t do it justice owing to how personalised our stay was made. We ended up extending and would have stayed longer if we didn’t have to return to Manila.
Sensational foods, vegetarian options, the property is meticulously maintained and overall a sense of extreme inner peace when staying here. It’s only about 15 minutes drive to Sabang beach too although there are waves and options closer by. We will definitely be returning here.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Approximately 15 minutes drive from Sabang beach but tricycle available also if you don’t...
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₱2,088
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱1,853
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Room service
Priceline
₱3,202
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    ₱2,992
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,912
  • Trip.com
    ₱5,556
2.9 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱3,675
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,675
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Breakfast included
Multipurpose Area at the Baler Safe Haven Bed and Breakfast
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
nice room don't you think? clean and spacious
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
7.9 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,777
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱1,458
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    4.1 km from Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Baler
    Reviews (20)
    Filter reviews
    20 results
    Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    1
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    1
    1
    See what travelers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 20 reviews
    Reviewed December 28, 2021

    Away from the bustle of Baler town and Sabang beach, Kahanamoku is quite, relaxing and has a lovely vibe. Rooms. are clean and staff are super helpful and friendly as are the owners and family, who made us very welcome. The best thing is the fantastic vegetarian breakfast options. Yummy vegetarian tapsilog, delicious nut and seed oatmeal, veggie omelette - what a great way to tart the day! Lots to do and see in and around Baler even if you are not a surfer. If you are a surfer then this bed and breakfast is close to some great surf spots too. Highly recommend a stay at Kahanamoku!

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Thank Minsih
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 23, 2021

    Our expectations were low, but what the f***?

    We booked the "Premier Suite" which was described in the website as a room "with an en-suite toilet and bath with hot & cold rain shower stocked with natural toiletries." The room was also claimed to be put together "with a keen eye for detail to appeal to your epicurean taste buds yet a feel not far away from home." They claim that the room has a "private balcony with a view of the sea and the lush mountainside."

    I don't think that's entirely accurate. . .

    Going to this place was a great ordeal. To be fair, they were helpful in processing our S-PASS. Unfortunately, we were not informed beforehand that the road going to their place was closed. So we had to circle back and traverse the Pantabangan road. We were delayed for more than 3 hours. We called them and asked if there were any restaurants open nearby their place since we were really hungry and we don't want to stop over causing more delay. They informed us that the restaurant beside their resort was open. We arrived at around 5pm only to find out that the restaurant beside them was closed and does not serve on weekdays. After more than 10 hours of driving, we had to go back to Baler centro to look for food. After 30 minutes of looking for a decent restaurant, we decided to just drive thru Jolibee Baler. That was probably the saddest chickenjoy we've ever tasted.

    So yeah, we returned to the place to finally rest and freshen up but we found out that the only "toiletries" they had was a shower gel. So we had to go back again to Baler centro to buy essentials at 9pm. The road btw is very dark since there were no lightposts. It was the worst.

    We just want to highlight some weird things in the room that doesn't make sense. For one, the toilet smells musty, probably due to the fishport nearby. Another is the TV which does not really have any chanels. The balcony doesnt really give a clear view of the sea since the resort is on the other side of the road across the ocean. Lastly, the "toiletries" were bit of a scam.

    We just prayed that the breakfast was good but then again... they served cold bread.

    We didnt really expect much from this place since the whole country just came from a pandemic. We really wanted to give a good review and look at the brighter side but really, all we remember are the stress from staying at this place. It was horrible. Traumatic.

    If you can't deliver basic hospitality, might as well close down. Sorry, but we should have just claimed for a refund.

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    1  Thank 801renss
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 31, 2020

    A beautiful quiet Guesthouse surrounded by Coconut trees and the Ocean! The place is very stylish, the best design you can find in Baler - it's truly made with a lot attention to details. The room we stayed in was very clean, had A/C and a balcony where we could dry our wet clothes after surfing. The staff is very kind and helpful and prepared a delicious and healthy breakfast every morning. We stayed here during our entire trip because we enjoyed the peaceful place and the vibes so much. Highly recommend staying there, you will enjoy it...

    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Lee-aison
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 9, 2020

    Duke Kahanamoku from whom the place was named will surely be happy to have this as his home away from home. The food was healthy yet scrumptious, the rooms clean and the linens crisp and fragrant. This is worth every cent we paid for...

    Room tip: Advice as to what time you'd like your breakfast served so that you can have them piping hot
    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jetter87
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    endless_somar, Owner at Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

    We appreciate you kind words! We always try our best to give our guests the best service here in Baler, Aurora. We look forward to your next visit! You will always be welcome here in your home away from home.

    Love & Light

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms and stayed here for 2 nights. 1 suite with sea view and another standard room.
    To our dismay, at 3pm when we arrived, the suite room is not ready and hotel owner cited confusion on the booking. He kindly upgraded the other room to a suite room. Then when we finally got the room, it is so basic that it doesn’t have hair dryer, nor hanger, wardrobe, hanger or tissues, there is no amenities at all. The quilt doesn’t even have quilt cover. To our dismay, the basin leak, they came to repair.
    The next day, when we return from our trip, we found that they did not made our bed and that the basin leaks again. They were kind enough to change our room but the toilet stinks. We have no choice as it is already late and we check out as early as we can the next day.
    It wasn’t a very pleasant experience though the owner is very hospitable.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Traveled with friends
    2  Thank 924jacquelined
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    endless_somar, Owner at Kahanamoku Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

    Hello Jacqueline. First of all, I'd like to apologize for not meeting your standards, we tried our best to provide you with the best possible service we could. With regard to our amenities, they are all written clearly on both our website and partner booking sites, again, we apologize if you expected otherwise. We try to be as straightforward in our listing to avoid any disconnect with our guests.

    I'd like to thank you for your feedback and rest assured we will work on this moving forward. We hope you were still able to enjoy your trip to Baler despite this dissatisfaction.

    Love & Light

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews