We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
21
10
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
10
6
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We enjoyed our stay in a quiet superior room (with kitchenette), which was large, beautifully restored and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was adequate, but nothing special. The whole house oozed character, matching the beauty of neigbouring buildings and the adjacent, splendid, old part of town. Cheap parking behind the house was a bonus, no wifi a minus, decent breakfast options are a two-minute walk away right at the beginning of the pedestrian precinct. Not having an in-house reception was a bit unusual, but communication with the owner was swift and efficient. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ijnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We showed up at Altstadt Gastehaus Drewes Wale not knowing what to expect. This was wonderful...built in the 1400's. Totally renovated, very quaint, comfy, large bed, modern bathroom, very large room-we had a fridge, sink and 2 burner cooktop and table and chairs! You would never expect this from looking at the outside. The owner is off site-so make sure you have your password number handy to get in the building. We would definitely stay here again. It's within walking distance of everything in town.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wifeofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Altstadt-Gästehaus is not a hotel, so if you are looking for a hotel it might not be for you. We were looking for a place to stay for a long weekend in August and all of the hotels were booked solid. Our daughter found this place on the internet and we decided to try it. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We had a suite with a fully equipped kitchen (which we didn't use because our stay was just two nights), a large living-room upstairs and a bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The house itself is a gem, lovingly renovated and furnished, and very close to the town center. And the price was no more than a good hotel. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank living-in-germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of February to attend a great friend's Memorial Service and found this Guest House to be a great base within easy walking distance of the restaurants, shops and sights of Luneburg. We even walked there from the station with cases on wheels when we arrived!
Yes there are no staff available apart from at breakfast but this wasn't a problem apart from the first night when we needed more pillows so if and when we stay again I would email beforehand to request these. We had breakfast on two mornings which we enjoyed and found the owners (Mother and Son) pleasant and helpful.
We had room 9 which consists of a large bedroom plus a living area and shower room. In the living area there is a small kitchen unit and table and chairs so it would be possible to be self catering but because we were there for a short time and spent a lot of it with friends we just had lunch there on one day.
For what you get we thought it was very good value.

Room Tip: We liked Room 9 which is more like a small apartment!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThruppResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Its a guest house...not a hotel.
You get a code for door opening at the time of your booking confirmation(took approx 2 hrs after booking in booking .com)
With this code you enter the house after 3pm and your room is ready and key is inside the room.
No reception, no restaurant or any other staff around.
Only for breakfast and payment somebody shows up.
Cas payment only.
If you are aware of all this its a very clean and nice little house to spend a night or two.
Very important is that you book a parking slot for your car...very big problem in this area.
its very close to the old town ...just 2 min walk.
Was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: more important than room is to reserve a parking space for your car...very tight area around the guest house...rooms are all ok
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews