We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
98
60
28
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
60
28
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel couldn't do enough a great place to stay espresso machine bread croissants recommend this hotel cold cuts excellent hotel small city city centre parking cheese hall paintings cappuccino stylish
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Chose an executive studio room. Great big room, awesome bathroom with high quality Clarins lotions and soaps. In room espresso machine was great in the morning but some milk would have been nice too. Breakfast was tasty but a little slow having to wait for juice, coffee and eggs. Will be back again.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank anmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you for the great review. You were a guest in one of our Thomas Schweicker suites. That building is a protected landmark and, at 550 years, the eldest of the four antique houses that make up our hotel. We took great pains to properly restore the building and bring it up to a modern luxury standard without damaging its considerable history. Obviously, we take a lot of pride in those rooms and we want you to have a great experience. That includes fitting 100% linen sheets, goose down pillows and duvets, and the softest cotton toweling all handmade by Bellora Milano. We provide amenities from London’s chic White Company. Hopefully they make showering and getting dressed a better experience. There is a reason our breakfast takes a moment longer. We squeeze our juices from fresh fruits only at the exact moment they are ordered. All of our coffee drinks are barista prepared. We use single origin coffee and we make your cappuccino with whole milk from a local organic dairy. We use a hand-made espresso machine from La Marzocco in Florence, Italy. We have the only such machine in the area. Our eggs come from the Stutz family farm in nearby Bibersfeld. They are never more than three days old and we only prepare them to order. It wouldn’t be right to take such a terrific natural product and ruin it before it gets to you. I do hope the quality is worth a moment’s wait. Please do come back again. This is a family business, and we will be very happy to host you. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The room was very comfortable and spacious. It’s a little gem with very sensitively refurbished, given the age of the houses the hotel is made up of. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back:>
lovely short break near city centre
The room was very comfortable and spacious. It’s a little gem with very sensitively refurbished, given the age of the houses the hotel is made up of. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back:>

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smoothie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

How lovely it is to read your generous review. Traveling is an ever more anonymous experience. We are all folded and spindled into packages that are easy for big airlines and chain hotels to manage. Honestly, it is difficult for small family businesses like ours to make ends meet. We feel that our only choice is to put all of our passion and energy into building the highest quality experience we can offer. That is the only way we can offer a valid alternative to mass-produced travel. We are very proud of our international staff. We are from at least twenty countries. Everyone is happy together and happy to give our guests a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Please do come back. It would be our honor and pleasure to host you again. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I have stayed in Hotel Scholl regularly over the last 10 years and have seen it grow, expand and keep up with trends. It has also been my go-to hotel in Schwabisch Hall. The last stay was disappointing though. Missed the great vibe and good reception. Breakfast is now from a menu (Euro 19 per breakfast if you forgot to included it in the booking) and I was the only client in the breakfast area.

Would like to see the Hotel Scholl from last year again.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stephanb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I see that we are your first review on TripAdvisor, which suggests that you really weren’t happy. Of course, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We try to make the check-in as streamlined and simple as possible. However, we do want to explain the how the security door works and where to find everything. This can seem a bit intrusive if you are just in from a long voyage. Also, it looks like you came on a day when our reception bar was closed. The bar atmosphere sets the vibe for our hotel, and it might seem a bit off if it is closed. Our bar staff take off Sundays and Mondays. We have been working on improving our breakfast for the last several years. Honestly, no-one, not even five-star hotels, put on a breakfast the way we do. We import all of our charcuterie and cheese ourselves, directly from Italy and France. We serve only artisanal breads, and they are baked fresh every day in a wood-fired oven. Every single thing we serve is top quality. We don’t make eggs until a customer orders them, so they are as fresh as can be. Also, we discovered that some things just don’t do well on a buffet. Bircher Muesli, a specialty of our, looks like wallpaper glue when you just dump it in a bowl and put it out to dry on a buffet. Instead, we make this dish to order so that what you eat is the absolute best that it can be. The same goes for fruit salad, and so on. Fresh is fresh, and we don’t want to claim it if we cannot deliver it. Our Schweicker rooms have been upgraded with new espresso machines from Sweden, new sheets in 100% linen and new towels from Bellora in Milano, new cosmetics from Clarins Paris, and new guest amenities. Yes, we have a menu in the breakfast room. Our prices range from 1,40 to 8,40 euros. There is one all-you-can-eat option that costs about twenty euros. That means you can order ten cappuccinos and 75 scrambled eggs, if that is what you really want. Finally, we think it makes more sense to give you a fairly priced room and a fairly priced breakfast instead of hiding the so-called “free breakfast” in the cost of the room. This is absolutely a fairer approach for our guests. Finally, our business customers tend to take breakfast early. On weekdays we hold the dining room open until eleven for travelers who want to sleep in. Of course, we don’t control who comes when. Thank you for remarking on our path of improvement. We are committed to keeping our hotel the number one in town. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The room is very modern and nice. The bed is amazingly soft. Our room is on the streetside. The noise of the street is very loud and therefore you cannot watch tv while having the window open. The location is amazing! In the middle of the center. Parking is easy but not for free.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 844mareenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for the positive review. Our hotel is made up from four antique houses knit together internally. The eldest of the four buildings is more than 550 years old. Of course, the advantage of medieval architecture in the middle of a thousand-year-old town is that it is authentic and charming. The slight disadvantage is that rooms either face the front or the back, there is no in-between. Rooms that face the back are extremely quiet, though they don’t have any views. Rooms that face the front have nice views of the forest and the church (depending on the room). However, those rooms can be a bit noisier in the summer. We could solve this with air-conditioning, but this is not possible because the houses are protected national monuments and the arts commission won’t allow us to place machines that will be visible from the outside. Our staff is always happy to help our guests choose the best room for their needs. No two of our rooms are alike, and there really is an excellent choice. Finally, parking is likewise a function of our location and the nature of antique houses. There is parking directly in front of the building, and the cost is quite low. Otherwise there are two parking garages with more than 800 covered spaces at less than five minutes walking distance from the front door. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will have the honor of hosting you again in the future. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my family was here fir a long weekend in this nice and small city. We book this hotel for 3 days . It was clean and the waiter were very kind. Very good breakfast included in my formula. If i will come back i choose this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Stevei9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are proud of our family hotel, now in it’s fourth generation. Especially the breakfast is a passion project of ours. We import our own charcuterie and cheeses from Italy and France. Our bread comes fresh everyday from an artisinal baker who bakes in a wood-fired oven. Our eggs come from a farm in nearby Bibersfeld, and we prepare them to order. It’s a bit harder, and it takes a bit longer to do things this way, but we believe our guests deserve the best and can taste the difference. It would be an honor to host you again. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews