We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”
Review of SEA LIFE Konstanz

SEA LIFE Konstanz
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.45*
and up
Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Konstanz Admission Ticket
Ranked #17 of 51 things to do in Konstanz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Diving into the fascinating world of approximately 3.500 sweat and salt-water fish on dry ground: Over 35 naturally shaped tanks offer the visitors a graphic insight into the native and tropical areas of life.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced. Small corridors are blocked by parents with strollers!! Sometimes we have to wait 5 minutes just to pass a corridor. This place is attractive for kids. But for adults it is poor. Most of glass parts of aquariums have so many stretches that it is not pleasant to look through.
Pinguins are adorable.

Thank Cheshire_cat_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin E, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SEA LIFE Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cheshire_cat_ua,

thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you weren’t completely satisfied with your visit.
You expressed concerns about our prices. Unlike zoos, the SEA LIFE Konstanz as a part of a non-public company, does not receive any subsidies. Despite the missing subsidies we offer different discounts to our guests such as online tickets, vouchers or family tickets.The Lake of Constance nature museum is also included in our ticket price.

Right now we have holiday season and therefore there are more visitors. Sometimes even regular controls by our staff cannot prevent that groups of visitors back up at some tanks. We are aware that with a high number of visitors there isn't time to see everything in your own time. Therefore our tickets are always valid for the whole day so you can roam our center several times until closing time.
You told us, that the attraction is not attractive for adults. We are very sorry to hear that. Our entertainment team is always available to tell worth knowing facts about marine creatures to our visitors. We will try to improve that kind of performance so our information`s are even more interesting for our adult visitors.

We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed spending time with our penguins. They are indeed adorable. We are constantly enhancing our enrichment program which makes sure that the life of our penguins is diversified and exciting. The program should also supports the natural play instinct of the animals. We are especially proud that we just started to present single parts of our enrichment program to our visitors at the beginning of this year whenever possible as it is great to watch and also very interesting. Our staff would love to give you additional information about our different enrichment programs at your next visit.

Our most important purpose is to guarantee customer satisfaction on the highest possible level every day therefore we would be glad if you would give us and our attraction another chance to convince you of the quality of the exhibition and our customer service.

Please feel free to e-mail us via slc.konstanz@sealife.de, if you have any other concerns/ questions or wishes.

Kind regards, your SEA LIFE Konstanz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
"octopus"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful aquarium"
in 2 reviews
"interesting things to see"
in 2 reviews
"small kids"
in 2 reviews
"english descriptions"
in 2 reviews
"late afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"many places"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"railway station"
in 2 reviews
"jellyfish"
in 8 reviews
"creatures"
in 2 reviews
"nemo"
in 2 reviews
"inhabitants"
in 2 reviews
"bodensee"
in 4 reviews
"constance"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 775 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

Went there in the late afternoon, wasnt very crowded. Had the opportunity to see most bassins and creatures, could taken my time viewing. You can ciew some bassins from within, which is nice. I Saw a sign which said that the price was €39,90 or something for an adult. Dont know if that was correct, but I dont think it is worth that price. (My ticket was included in my Holiday) I didnt have any children in my group, but it seemed like it could entertain them well enough!
So basicly, I dont think it was bad, but it wasnt the best I have seen.

Thank LisettexO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin E, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SEA LIFE Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear LisettexO,

thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed spending your time at SEA LIFE Konstanz and that you recommend to visit the attraction with children. Referring to your comment on the price of 39,95€ for an adult I would like to tell you that it is the price of an annual pass. The normal admission prize is much cheaper. Please feel free to e-mail us via slc.konstanz@sealife.de, if you have any other questions or wishes. We are looking forward to seeing you at another time at SEA LIFE Konstanz.

kind regards
your SEA LIFE Konstanz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

At 15 euros, surely you expect more than 10 + - aquariums. Informations is sparce and the penguin enclosure brought me to tears to see how small it is. No coffee facilities available. Nothing to be missed if you skip it. The museum above is interesting if you speak German.

Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin E, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SEA LIFE Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear Elizabeth Z,

thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you weren’t completely satisfied with your visit.

Concerning your remark about our prices: SEA LIFE Konstanz is part of a private company, the Merlin Entertainments Group. This means that we, unlike e.g. zoos, do not receive any subsidies. However, despite the missing subsidies we offer different discounts to our guests such as online tickets, vouchers or family tickets. You can use it for your next visit.
If you are interested you can learn a lot while just talking to our team members. They could offer you information you`ve never heard before.
You expressed concerns about the penguin area. After they moved to SEA LIFE Konstanz already three times (2012, 2016 and 2017) they had offspring. This is the best sign that they feel well here. Our display team is taking care of all our creatures day by day. The penguins and other animals are kept in species-appropriate surroundings and are in best care. There is no need to worry.
We are sorry you couldn`t find coffee at our center. We have a small restaurant on the 1st floor. You can not only drink coffee but also eat something there.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us on slc.konstanz@sealife.de if you have any further questions or suggestions.

Kind regards,
your SEA LIFE Konstanz-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018

Nice place to spend a day,
You can relax, enjoy wide variety of sea life,
Penguin feeding is a nice addon
Includes some puzzles for kids

Thank NimishShikerkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin E, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SEA LIFE Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Dear NimishShikerkar,

thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you and your kids had fun at our center.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. If you have any questions or wishes please feel free to contact us any time at slc.konstanz@sealife.de.

Kind regards,
your SEA LIFE Konstanz-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

Small and tiny aquarium. Lots of tourists standing in line during high seasons such as eastern or summer holidays. Rather take a walk to Seeburgpark in Kreuzlingen with your kids and enjoy the animals over there for free and close to the lake.

Thank Nebulous911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin E, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SEA LIFE Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Dear Nebulous911,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on Tripadvisor! We are sorry to hear that you didn´t fully enjoy your visit at SEA LIFE Konstanz and that you recommend not to visit the aquarium during peak season times.
Our advice: we recommend to visit us on warm and sunny days especially during the Easter and summer holidays. Generally, there is a significantly smaller visitor rush and shorter waiting times than on rainy days. That way you can enjoy our exhibition and all of its animals in your own time. Right now we have holiday season and therefore there are some more visitors. Sometimes even regular controls by our staff cannot prevent that groups of visitors back up at some tanks. Therefore our tickets are always valid for the whole day so you can roam our center several times until closing time.

Our center has around 35 different tanks with around 3500 creatures, including sharks, penguins and turtles. We have 5 different shark species and our biggest tank has an 8 m long tunnel and contains about 320.000 litres water. Another highlight is our new rainforest area with the unique piranha tunnel.

Please feel free to e-mail us via slc.konstanz@sealife.de, if you have any other concerns or wishes. We are looking forward to seeing you at another time at SEA LIFE Konstanz.

Kind regards,
your SEA LIFE Konstanz-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SEA LIFE Konstanz also viewed

Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to SEA LIFE Konstanz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing