We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounded this has such high ratings”

L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$94
Description: L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, welcomes you in a cosy and contemporary atmosphere with a "Savoyard style" decoration of the 70s. The cuisine that we are proud to serve you is fine and creative, and all our dishes are "home-made" with fresh products : our ambition is to make you discover the pleasure of the French-style gastronomy, with a "Savoyard touch" in every dish. So see you soon at L'Arti. So see you soon at L'ARTI for a fine diner or a nice brunch. L'ARTI, Mountain restaurant in the center of the Lavachet in Tignes
Restaurant details
Description: L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, welcomes you in a cosy and contemporary atmosphere with a "Savoyard style" decoration of the 70s. The cuisine that we are proud to serve you is fine and creative, and all our dishes are "home-made" with fresh products : our ambition is to make you discover the pleasure of the French-style gastronomy, with a "Savoyard touch" in every dish. So see you soon at L'Arti. So see you soon at L'ARTI for a fine diner or a nice brunch. L'ARTI, Mountain restaurant in the center of the Lavachet in Tignes
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Before you read on this may take a while to describe our experience at this restaurant, so apologies for the length of this review...
We’ve been coming to Tignes from the early 2000’s so have seen lots of changes and many restaurants come & go. We like to try new ones and use TA to give us ideas for where to visit. L’Arti is currently number one and despite it being at the opposite end of the resort to where we stay we decided to give it a try.
Our first thoughts on arrival were that they had crammed too many tables into a small space. Ours was a table for 2 right by the kitchen entrance, 6 inches away from the next table, and quite frankly I kept getting bashed on the back as there was not enough room for the constant flow of people passing me. The chairs are uncomfortable plastic ‘IKEA’ style but at least we weren’t on a high table with stools, as they looked even less relaxing and I feel if we had been asked to sit at one of those we would have left. The decor is that of a place trying to be modern but it’s just 1970’s concrete walls painted bright red with a pair of retro red skis on the wall to add ‘charm’.
There was only one waitress so it took about 10 minutes to be asked what we would like to drink - too long in my opinion, and she wanted to take our food order at the same time, which we were’t ready to do.
The menu is quite pricey, with cheapest three course option at €37. From this we chose snails, in a deep fried balls which my husband really enjoyed. I had courgette soup, which was ok but nothing special.
After that the beef check was delicious but there was nothing on the plate as a filler, so we were glad of extra bread. The risotto however was a very small portion and had one large prawn in it - very disappointing and left me wanting more food.
Which leads us on to desert! Cold puddings never impress me but these had been pre-prepared and arrived a minute after we ordered them. The ‘Tiramisu’ bore no resemblance to the classic Italian delicacy and can only be described as a glass Kilner jar full of pale slop which lacked flavour. Having said this, the ‘Crumble’ was even worse and I couldn’t eat it. Again, another glass pot filled with a chocolatey mousse with enormous pieces of biscuit mixed into it - they were too big for a mouthful and too hard to break with a spoon so I gave up.
This restaurant is trying to be something different, which it is I suppose, but with such small portions and uncomfortable surroundings we left feeling dissatisfied and disappointed. There are so many other restaurants in Tignes better than this we are astounded it has such a high rating. Perhaps it is the best option for those staying in Lavachet but you only have to jump on the bus to get to other superb places in Le Lac or Val Claret.

Thank YorkFudgebrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel A, Propriétaire at L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Madam,
First of all you do not have to apologize for the length of your review ; everyone can express himself the way he wants and give as many details as he wants in his review.
You can anyway believe that we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your evening in our restaurant. Our aim is to make everyone happy because this is what motivates us everyday.
L'ARTI is a small institution that had 66 seats before we bought it last year. For the comfort of everybody we reduced this number to 52 and all our customers now really appreciate it.
You obviously did not like the style of our restaurant but you cannot say that our furniture come from IKEA (even if this company does some very nice products) because they come from the best renowned Italian and Danish designers.
Alexandra that served you is not a waitress ; she is with me the owner of the place and to be more effective we always work together in the restaurant to serve our customers. And indeed, 10 minutes to take an order, in peak season when the restaurant is full, is according to most of the customers a very good performance!
The question of the price of our menus (from 31 € for the cheapest option to 45 € for the most gastronomic) is very subjective and depends on the budget of everyone. For most of our customers the set-menu of 37 € is very good for value and that's why they come back so often to our restaurant. We shall mention that these customers come from everywhere in Tignes, especially from the Val Claret and Le Lac, and even now from Val d'Isère.
We shall finish on a positive note and are glad to see that you really enjoyed our Crispy Snails and that our Beef cheek was delicious.
Kind regards.
Stefan & Alexandra
L'ARTI, Mountain Restaurant in Tignes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent meal. Booked based on TA reviews and totally not disappointed. Loved everything about it. Not too expensive either. The owner is so passionate about the food he cannot fail to impress. Booking for Friday night before we leave.

Thank Johnatshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel A, Propriétaire at L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello and thanks a lot for your review.
We give indeed the maximum to our customers so they spend a beautifull evening in our restaurant.
We are happy you enjoyed it and are very glad to see you again on Friday evening.
See soon then.
Stefan
L'ARTI, Mountain Restaurant in Tignes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Over the last 5 years it has been hard to find a creative vegetarian meal in Tignes but no more! Last night the food was delicious, the atmosphere friendly, the music just right and the interior decor contemporary with a Savoie twist. Good wine list, excellent service and a great menu. My husband enjoyed the chicken and the escargot, I had a delcious plate of vegetables with a basil mouse and a risotto. The pistachio cake to finish was divine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cvpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel A, Propriétaire at L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hello and thanks for your review.
We always had some Veggie options for our customers but we thought that we should give even more. That's why we've decided this year to propose a proper Veggie Menu: we are glad you enjoyed it.
Hope to see you again at l'ARTI.
L'ARTI, Mountain Restaurant in Tignes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

My sister and niece made a very brave decision to come skiing for milestone birthdays. They also wanted to experience Savoie food so we took them to L’Arti.
Fabulous welcome, superb food and very reasonably priced for a top ski resort. They had the fondue and absolutely loved it. Being Welsh they called it ‘epic cheese on toast’, a great compliment!
It is a breathe of fresh air to have a traditional French restaurant with a modern twist. We will be back!

Thank Ana460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel A, Propriétaire at L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you Ana for your review in which you perfectly resumed our spirit : nice welcome, good food, reasonnable price and nice atmosphere, this is all we want to give !
Regards,
L'ARTI, Mountain Restaurant in Tignes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful meal, fab service and can honestly recommend this restaurant - only their second season and hoping they’ve many more to come!

Many thanks!

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel A, Propriétaire at L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thanks David for your review and encouragement !
And hope to see you soon again at l'ARTI.
Best regards,
L'ARTI, Mountain Restaurant in Tignes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant also viewed

 
Tignes, Savoie
Tignes, Savoie
 

Been to L'Arti, Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing