We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belesso(Fontvieille)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Le Val Majour(Fontvieille)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mas de la Tour(Fontvieille)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Regalido(Fontvieille)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/29
US$304
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Les Mazets des Roches(Tarascon)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel des Granges(Arles)
Free cancellation until 07/30
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mas de l'Oulivie(Les Baux de Provence)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$661
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
68
76
15
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
76
15
7
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The hotel is quite inexpensive, quiet, and has a nice pool (about 15-20 min drive from beautiful St. Remy). We got off to a bad start due to the fact that a door, at night time, needed to be locked. The first night I came home I had to sleep on my friends room because I was not given a key to that particular door -- not nice. We forgot to look this door twice (take responsibility and apologise for that), something that caused the owner to threaten to throw us out. We apologies, but still they insisted that we would be thrown out -- finally we made peace and were allowed to proceed with our holiday.

It seemed charming at first, but ended up being more like a horror version of the "French Fawlty Tower" -- not coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRipaille, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Sir,
We are sorry to see your comment. I just want to clear it up for the readers of this opinion. When you checked in with your friend we gave you not 1 key as for all other hotel guests but 2 keys to make things easier. We also asked you to make sure to close the door of the reception at night because it gives access to the room you occupy but also to private parts of the hotel and without forgetting the buffet breakfast in which you are copiously served in the middle of the night and leaving it in a dirty condition when you got home. An attitude that no one had ever before you in more than 8 years that we hold this establishment. So yes we insist that this door remains closed at night for the well-being and tranquility of all, including us owners. What I find curious beyond that is to apologize with a huge bouquet of flowers for my wife and a very nice bottle of wine for me and finally blame us on Tripadvisor.
Truly,
Pierre-Olivier Kieffer, the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The room was small and the fit-out was "basic" (as one expects in a hotel of this kind) but we were comfortable enough, the patio being an extra bonus. Meals were of a very good standard. (The waiter who looked after us during our stay was a delightful fellow whose warm smile and friendly manner added to the enjoyment of every meal!)

The shady, paved courtyard area, where drinks and meals can be taken, is tranquil (apart from the occasional sound of passing cars from the nearby roadway - but that abates at night, when traffic to and from the nearby attractions all but ceases).

It will be even more pleasant when the French come to realize that cigarette and cigar smoke are incompatible with the enjoyment of meals and are a gross intrusion on their fellow diners (including little children seated at nearby tables - and their own!) We do not expect to be around when France catches up to more advanced countries, in that respect - perhaps another 50 years or so.

The hotel is only a short drive from the pleasant little town of Fontvieille and is also very close to les Baux de Provence and the mind-blowingly beautiful Carrières de Lumière.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRipaille, Gérant at Hotel Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Robert,
Thank you to have took time to evaluate us.
Best regards,
Family Kieffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, very clean, rooms appropriate size. Beautiful swimming pool and surrounds.
Well recommended. Excellent price.
This hotel is a good base for nearby Les Bauux de Provence and also Pont du Gard, Arles, Saint Remy.
A good base for exploring!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank anneeb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRipaille, Gérant at Hotel Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Annee,
Thank you very much for your words. It is the reason we choose this job!
Best regards and hope to see you again.
Family Kieffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The Good: We had ais a lovely patio/arbor with small table and view of pool. The hotel was not at all full so mornings on the patio in our PJs with coffee, a lovely baguette and jam were heavenly.
The Not-So- Good: We stayed in a triple, it was tight for three adults. The electricity went off several times (also impacted the shower??), but was back on in a few minutes. Who ever tiled the bathroom shower must have been enjoying some lovely French wine at the same time. :)

Room Tip: Rooms with patio are lovely (assuming neighbors are quiet or gone)
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoanneWeigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRipaille, Gérant at Hotel Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Joanne,
Thank you very much to took time to evaluate us. It is a great pleasure to read you. Concerning water and electricity the reason is we have natural water from floor so we need a electrical pump, at all. We apologize for this inconvenient moment.
Best regards and hope to see you again,
Family Kieffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2015

stayed here for two nights before heading to Avignon. Wished we stayed longer! Although our room was small we got better than I had expected for the price paid.

You will need a car as there isn't much within walking distance and taxis are expensive 12€ into Fontvieille for 3min trip. Though the restaurant we ate at that night gave us a free lift back! You don't get that here in the UK!

I felt really at home and comfortable here. Even though I struggled communicating with the owner! (I'd advise to learn some basic French though the staff speak some English)

Food in the restaurant was lovely, as was breakfast. Nice wines from knowledgable waiter. Lovely little (hardly used) pool area and sheltered parking. Just fabulous for its odd 2 star rating. I will never book a hotel based on its star rating again!

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRipaille, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015
Google Translation

Chère Rachel,

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire. Nous espérons vous revoir dans notre région !

Amitiés,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews