We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even on a cold windy day, a great meal on the beach”
Review of Nina a la plage

Nina a la plage
Ranked #11 of 95 Restaurants in Pornichet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Four of us had a reservation at Nina on the Beach, so we were seated immediately, in our requested "outdoor" location. On a terrace well sheltered by canvas and vinyl windows, with overhead heaters, we were even offered blankets! A perfect place to watch the sand blowing on the beach like snow drifting at home.

We went for seafood, and seafood is what we had. Three of the four ordered the Plateau Mareyeur (mariner's platter), a grand selection of cooked & split Spider crab, shrimp, oysters, clams, mussels, welk and periwinkle. All was delicious, all was classic finger food (the necessary tools are provided for cracking the crab, picking meats and enjoying the mollusks. I was one of the partners in the Grand Plateau (you can order a single serving, or the double, we had a single and a double) and suspect I ate more than my share, but till I had to stop while there were a few of the bullot and bigornaut on the plate.

My companion chose an order of shrimp (I took one), they were excellent, and a Razor Clam (Couteau) in cream. I sampled that too, and it was superb.

Dessert was enough to put me over the top. Two nougat glacé, tart au citron. and Omelet Norwegian (which isn't an omelet at all, but was real good; a layer of raspberry ice-cream, a layer of vanilla ice-cream & meringue flambé on top).

Service was prompt

There are various meat dishes on the menu that none of us considered, but I noticed a few tables near us being served. They looked good too.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chasinUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2018

A very nice location in a chic town, which is reflected in the pricing policy. However, the food was very good although the staff were somewhat slow once the settling in with aperitifs was over. The price of a (very expensive) sole was not displayed, so make sure to ask if this happens.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank John_the_bee_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaALaPlage, Responsable relations clients at Nina a la plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Glad to read that you enjoyed our nice area in general and our lovely restaurant in particular !
Our staff gives indeed our guests the time to savor the tasty dishes prepared by our chef but can speed things up upon request.
Our menu offers a wide variety of quality choices and a large price range.
You choose sole wich is an exceptionally fine fish hence the price.

Best regards
Nina's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Our hotel was pretty close to this restaurant and having read other reviews we stopped there for a quick drink. We were there for five hours! The sun came out after a days rain and it was lovely sipping our drinks. We decided to eat there and were lucky to get an outside terrace table (so consider booking to be sure). My garlic butter stuffed clams were excellent. My wife had local winkles with garlic mayonnaise and these were nice and fresh. Mains were specials of scallops, which had just come into season in France and were wonderful and sweet. I had a fish similar to cod which was nicely cooked but came with a rather weird carrot like ‘mush’ which was tasty but not a good accompaniment in my view. All the food served looked great. The carpaccio was good too according to the guys sitting next to us. I finished with a rum baba which was HUGE (as were most desserts). It was moist and delicious and had a mountain of cream to accompany. The really great bit was the bottle of rum that is left for you to add as little or much as you like! It was a great idea. Overall a lovely place and we are going back tonight! I recommend you try this busy place if in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DaveLec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaALaPlage, Responsable relations clients at Nina a la plage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detail review.
Our chef and his team were glad to hear how much you enjoyed the freshly cooked dishes they prepare with so much care daily.
We'll be happy to provide you with the same lovely dining experience whenever your come back to our area.

Best regards
Nina's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped for a bite to eat on a Monday lunchtime in September. This place is extremely popular with locals based on how busy it was, but we were able to get a table on their sheltered terrace without having to wait.

The restaurant is both modern and chic in style. Service was extremely polite and friendly, with perfect English spoken. Even the menu (a glossy paper brochure, in the style of a newspaper supplement) was classy, with a good selection of dishes.

Our main courses, Fish and Chips, and the Chicken Skewer in Satay sauce, were both delicious, and both a very acceptable portion size. The ice cream (good selection of flavours) was delicious.

This would have been a lovely spot to relax all afternoon enjoying the lovely view of the harbour and beach. The outside deckchair area could be mistaken for being for a luxury Indian Ocean resort.

Perhaps a little more expensive than some of the other beach cafes, but the quality of this venue makes it good value and definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille J, Responsable relations clients at Nina a la plage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments.

We are happy to have provided you with a memorable lunchtime experience.

Best regards,
Nina's team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place after struggling to find somewhere to eat on a Monday night! We arrived without reservation and were given a booking for around 45 minute wait. They have chairs on the beach so we had a drink. Once seated the service and the food was great. Simple tasty food and at a reasonable price. Lovely place to sit and drink or have food with a fabulous view.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank amyackerman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille J, Responsable relations clients at Nina a la plage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for your kind comments.

We're glad to read how much you appreciated your time with us.

Best regards,
Nina's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nina a la plage also viewed

Pornichet, Loire-Atlantique
Pornichet, Loire-Atlantique
 
Pornichet, Loire-Atlantique
Pornichet, Loire-Atlantique
 
Pornichet, Loire-Atlantique
Pornichet, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to Nina a la plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing