We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow meat sweats”
Review of L'Instant Basque

L'Instant Basque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We "popped" in here to have early dinner before a Brive rugby game, place was empty when we got there at 7pm, got a choice of tables off a very nice man and then he suggested what we should have for dinner. Wow what a meat feast hot and cold meat starters, sliced rare steak main and cheese to finish (nearly did finish us off) plus a couple of bottles of wine between 3 - very nice! On the list to go next time for sure, Oh and the place was packed as we left at 8:45 (just 3 minutes late for the game!)

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Yorkie-EarlsdonRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I ate lunch yesterday and had a most enjoyable meal. We shared a plate of Serrano ham which was truly delicious and then had the house speciality, merlu (hake), with a tomato based sauce and garlic. It was superb, see photos, and I would highly recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 227neilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a very tasty lunch today, we shared the Serrano ham reserva, the cheaper of the two, and it was melt-in-the-mouth delicious. I did order two but the waiter advised us to share. Our main course was the house speciality, the hake with garlic and tomatoes, also some potatoes. It was very good and so filling we didn’t have a dessert. We had a bottle of No. 19 wine which is produced a short distance from the restaurant and it was also delicious. The waiter was charming, was very helpful and spoke good English and was keen to practice it unlike many other French people! We are keen to return to this restaurant to try other dishes.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 987margaretj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We were in Brive shopping on Saturday and had booked a table. We received a very warm welcome and settled ourselves in one of their cozy booths. Mr Delon (the
proprietor) explained the house speciality (merlu/hake) in English for our friends from England.We chose the hake and Mr Delon served it at the table. It was absolutely delicious and our friends were absolutely delighted and even remarked that it would even be worth considering flying over specially to enjoy the hake cooked the Basque way at L'Instant Basque.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Welshexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Whilst on a rugby trip to Brive six of us booked as a result of Tripadvisor reviews.We were not disappointed.
The head waiter recommended the cold meat platter followed by the spanish hake.As red wine lovers we added the house Rioja .All excellent.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dthew2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
instant b, Propriétaire at L'Instant Basque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

And we win !!!!
Thank's a lot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Instant Basque also viewed

Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
 
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
 
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
 

Been to L'Instant Basque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing