We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
46
13
7
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
13
7
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Pros:
* Unbelievably nice staff, and EXCELLENT restaurant on premise
* Cool bathtub & shower setup - has little romantic starry lights

Cons:
* This place is unfinished. There were bits of construction materials lying around everywhere which definitely detracts from the ambiance
* The beach is not a real beach - it's a little strip of sand on a bay. Water is kinda murky. It's not a huge deal, you want to go to a big fun beach anyway, but just don't factor in a beach as you decide whether to stay here
* This is clearly a makeover of an older structure that was there before it. The rooms have no windows - they are in these cement boxes that have been painted over on the outside and modernized on the inside.
* this hotel isn't centrally located in a little town, nothing walking distance - which would be fine if the hotel itself were more "resort-ey", ie there were other things to do on premise. But it's a very small hotel, just maybe 20 guests, and just 1 restaurant (which as aforementioned, is amazing), so you really need to get offsite. But that's just Corsica in general, I think.

Overall, really nice team, great service, great food, meh amenities. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2017

The accommodation we had was roomy and the hotel has it's own small beach area. The WiFi connection is good and the staff drive your luggage on a golf cart to you room, so you don't have to manually carry it. The food at the restaurant in the evening was tasty but compared to breakfast, it was literally night and day. The breakfast costs eighteen euros per person and in my opinion, is worth 7 euros max. Luckily we got it for free. Paying for it would not have sat comfortably with me at all. The pastries (croissants, pain au chocolat, pain aux raisins) were over cooked every day. You know when they're that dark brown colour instead of golden brown and you know they're basically burnt. I was surprised considering breakfast pastries are one of the things France is synonymous for. The fruit bowl was uninspiring with random coconut shavings in it. There was only one type of ham, which didn't taste high quality. Breakfast left a lot to be desired and I would suggest not paying for it and instead bringing food for breakfast with you e.g. on the go porridge pots/sachets or if you've hired a car, go to Bio-Delice, a new organic supermarket with lots of great products. There is a Spar nearby too. The lady on reception seemed rather serious and hardly smiled. She gave the impression of liking 'admin' over providing a great customer experience. For example, upon arrival, another woman asked if we would like to have a welcome aperitif. As we were about to answer, the serious lady interjects and asks for a passport to make a copy. I thought this was rude and not very nice on the other woman. We said we would give it to her in 30-45 mins as it was evening and we wanted to shower after a long drive. She asked about another 2-3 times even though we had already answered her the first time. Maybe she should work at the airport instead if she's so interested in passports. We also asked her about the possibility of doing some kayaking and booking it for us but we ended up calling directly and booking it ourselves because she wasn't very helpful and said there was no availability even though when we called there was availability. I feel like the hotel rating system in Corsica is different to other countries because I would say this was more three star than four star hotel. Overall, the stay was decent but is it worth the price? Not sure.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsulellaHotel, Gereral management at Isulella Hotel - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Alice Pinto,
We thank you for your thoughts.They give us the possibility to explain the services provided in the hotel**** & restaurant.
- We take customers luggage on charge before, upon arrival & at check-out time. (manually carry is advised for 3-star hotels & less)
- The receptionist accompanying you to your room and provides all the useful information concerning room (your Family Suite-75m2 plus furnished terrace) & hotel facilities.
- Complimentary welcome cocktails were offered to you & your family & hardly appreciated by all of you.
- Concierge free service provided – we made bookings, advised restaurants and visits within your stay, but strangely you don’t mention this on your aims and impressions concerning the Reception staff.
- Kayaking: your kayaking request was treated on the spot, but the kayak provider was fully booked the date on request, we spoke with Amit TAURO concerning this matter and explained that they might be some availabilities for the next day, he didn’t confirm the request because all the family had already plans for the next day.
We hope that you will agree that the hotel staff can’t be responsible for any services or external providers availabilities or external provider changes.
- Please remind that the passport or ID card is obligatory provided by each international guest at check-in time in France (Europe, and not only).

Breakfast buffet: we are really impressed that ONLY you from all the costumers (hotel fully booked) considered that the French pastries was over cooked every day during your stay.

Here is some additional useful information concerning the buffet breakfast:
Fruit fresh salad made and served each morning with dressing of grated coconut (considered by you as inspiring ….) Ham & bacon quality label A.O.C. - the Designation of Origin and the Geographical Indication give added value to typical French products.
Bakery corner – homme made bakery, cheese corner, milk & yaourt corner, home-made organic Corsican marmalades & jams (10 flavors on choice including our special Champagne jam), also gluten free products, omelets or eggs, organic cornflakes on choice, home-made cake & cookies, juice fruits, hot drinks on choice.
We confirm that your breakfast was offered (for 4 people) within your stay and we took a good note about your opinion on it. Certainly, here in Isulella Hotel**** & restaurant we don’t have any food or breakfast in the porridge, we provided a quality service to prepare and serve your breakfast each morning within your stay: eggs (as you like it), quality green & earl grey tea (your choice) or freshly cut fruits chosen by you from the fruits basket (pineapple – your favorite).

Isulella Hotel & restaurant was opened on June 2016 and is classified 4 stars hotel, according to the new national official French (not Corsican-doesn't exist) hotel rating strict and reliable system.

Do you have enough travel & hospitality experience to which could put into question the above rating? Not sure.

Kind regards

The General management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2017

One of my favorite afternoons in Corsica. Our family stopped for lunch at this fabulous hotel restaurant on our way out to Palombaggia. Honestly, it was the best food I've ever had in Corsica! So fresh and delicious and my sister and I jumped into the pool before and after our long lazy lovely lunch. We have a house, so we didn't spend the night, but I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My family of four - including two foodies! - felt we had the best meal we've ever had in Corsica at the Isulella restaurant. Frankly, it was one of the best meals I've had in 53 years of travel in France.
Everyone raved - we had Linguine with Clams, a Salade du Chef consisting of very fresh shellfish and fish, and I believe the third dish was called Ravioli Sucre which my adult daughter described as 'the best pasta I've ever had.'
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank johntbinkleyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews