We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Margarita(La Garita)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$84
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Uruka Lodge(La Garita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
75
77
53
36
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
77
53
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecosta ricazoo aveclose to the airportitalian foodpoas volcanoold world charmcredit cardeuropean feellots of fresh fruitsitting areala focacciaanimal rescueplenty of lounge chairsdefinitely stay here againa bit priceygreat night stay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

At one time it must have been impressive...grounds are nice, pool is good. Beautiful woodwork in the main building and the building with the rooms, each room with lovely hand carved wooden scenes from Costa Rica. But...pictures show a large gymnasium. It's a totally empty room. There is talk about a casino...that room is empty as well. Several newer buildings in the back of the property appear abandoned. Our room in the main section of rooms was pleasant and clean. There's a mini fridge, but it's even empty, even though there's a "mini bar" price list on the door. Planters on the balcony were empty. Wooden/leather rocking chairs on the balcony were covered with mold. The toilet bowl was full of mineral stains. Breakfast consisted of serve-yourself fruit, cheese, and (dried out) bread. Eggs were offered to order, but came cold and unappealing, along with some of the most tasteless gallo pinto I've had. Location may be good, but you can do much better than this.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aspen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Owner at Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review, we will pay attention to all your advices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This property is centrally located for the Poas Volcano and Los Chorros catarata. It is an absolutely wonderful place. Breathtakingly beautiful grounds, a terrific pool, extremely friendly staff. The rooms were top notch - spacious, kingsize bed, clean. What more can you ask for? All for a VERY low price. And I do mean low for what you are getting. Double thumbs up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank madmallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Owner at Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for your really nice words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We’ve come to Costa Rica from BC Canada
We will be holidaying in a number of places and we used trip advisor and a number of other sites to find the nicest and affordable accommodations during our vacation. We hit the nail on the head with Martino Resort and Spa! Our accommodation was comfortable, the customer service was wonderful, the grounds are nicely kept, we both enjoyed having our cocktails served to us at the pool, and the price was right! Would most definitely stay here again!! Double thumbs up

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Once again, Booking.com undersold us: at the end of our trip to CR, my wife and I simply wanted something clean, close to the airport, and with a pool so we could unwind after a long drive from Mal Pais. For $96, we got far more: a luxury resort sculpted in marble and dark hardwoods that felt more like a classic Italian hotel from the early 20th century than a construction less than 20 years old.

Our room, with a large private balcony overlooking the pool, had 16' ceilings, two comfortable beds, a paper-flushing toilet (a true luxury south of the US), and a bidet. Our deep, covered balcony was so cool and close to the pool that it felt like a cabana.

We ate dinner at the resort's restaurant, La Focaccia, and were pleased with our entrees and the service. Best of all: a decent wine list...something we'd not seen in Monteverde or Malpais.

While some travelers may find the hotel slightly outdated---there's a 70s vibe that we couldn't quite place---we really enjoyed this hotel and would spend more time here on a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jamieatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Totally ended our stay here for 2 nights! We stayed in room on 1st floor with garden view. Breakfast is included and is plentiful! They cook your eggs to order too ! Lots of fresh fruit and great coffee! We also ate dinner in restaurant 1 night and were very pleased ! The service & staff is excellent!
The buildings have an old world charm , hotel built in 1930’s . Lots of great woodwork, tall ceilings, large rooms. Baths could use some updating and the grounds are gorgeous but could use a trim ! All said, I highly recommend Resort Martino !

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank jptreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Owner at Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you very much for your nice words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews