We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveler rating
195
312
211
111
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
312
211
111
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving door seen better days step back in time former glory stunning sea marble stairs its charm stayed longer grand old lady loved this hotel an update breakfast room old building pleasant hotel excellent stay lovely room very pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 923 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A spectacular old hotel that gives it that classy character. The front of the hotel is beautiful with its glossy white paint and the old school style windows with shutters. The palm trees leading up to the hotel really sets the scene you are entering paradise. In regards to the rooms they have the feel that you are staying in a guest room of an oligarchs mansion with their vintage furniture plus the sea view which is breathtaking morning and night. At the downstairs lobby you are treated with the utmost hospitable welcome from arrival until leave by the friendly staff whos service is impeccable, especially in the restaurant which is an absolute divine delight in regards to food and wine. With only a short 2 minute dander to the beach and a 10 minute walk into the town the location of the hotel is second to none. What an absolute treat it was to stay in this hotel and one thing for sure is that I will be back.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel to embrace the view
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ryanmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelDesAnglais, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

We thank you for your review.
We promise to do always better.
The management is happy to receive advices and suggestions to make things better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I spent one night recently for a brief visit to Sanremo.The hotel is easy to find on Corso Imperatrice close to the center and parking is included if you are driving.The building offers a great seaside façade which is attractive and as you hurry to check-in,this process is quite efficient with very helpful staff.The lobby does give away a bit of the dated impression of better years gone-by but this really gets confirmed when you reach the hallways and get to your room.My room was clean with two single beds but was otherwise decorated in a spartan style,i.e. very very sparingly..but did have good AC.
I chose to go out for dinner since there was no restaurant with a terrace at the hotel and you can just go down the steps in front of the hotel for a very decent outdoors dinner or other nearby options.
Breakfast is served in a large dining room and was overall very generous with several homemade bakeries and fresh fruit but the coffee was terrible.
In conclusion, given it’s affordable rates still worth a stay in my view if you dont set your expectations too high and you should otherwise enjoy the friendly staff and hotel surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelDesAnglais, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your feedback. Any critic and suggestion wil be looked at for a solution.
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Great service minded people in the reception and the beatiful view from the window does not make up for the worn environment. The location is good, parking ok but tight as long as you dont arrive too late in the evening. I am sure this hotel has a great history and a name to live up to. They do a good job with amenities, fresh fruit in the room, toothbrushes and so forth. Still, the whole place could need some love and attention from a good painter that would just not put new paint over the omd one. Breakfast was included but was rather uninspiring.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Kjell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelDesAnglais, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Guests,

we thank you for the feedback. We will consider your points and make the normal adjustments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I really cant understand why this hotel has 4 stars .. Breakfast is poor and you will stay hungry if you want to eat healthy food .. if you complain nobody cares .. especially the director of the hotel .. she has disrespectfully attitude ..

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank edalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelDesAnglais, General Manager at Grand Hotel Des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

we thank you for your feedback

regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This Hotel is beautiful, the view from the room was idyllic, the staff are very smiley and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, beautifully presented and tastes amazing. It was no problem to order something for the children, even if it wasn't on the menu, very accommodating in every way. The room was perfect for a family, two rooms joined by an open corridor so as the children felt safe and the adults had space to watch tv or relax when the children were sleeping. Great location, a short walk (5 mins) to a choice of beautiful private beaches with a plentiful supply of umbrellas and sun loungers to hire. Safe environment for children and play area on the beach to keep them amused when out of the water. Lots of great reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance and plenty of shops and boutiques. I highly recommend this hotel and have already booked my next stay!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank lxalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelDesAnglais, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Guests,

what to say? We are delighted. Thank you. You have given us more motivation to continue doing our job.

We hope to see you very soon again.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews