We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly anything was freshly made”
Review of Caffe Centrale

Caffe Centrale
Ranked #40 of 46 Restaurants in Menaggio
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 10 August 2018

This café has the best location with a great view. We knew that you don't eat in the most popular place as the food can be very ordinary, but we were tired and hot, and wanted to sit down to see a lovely view, which it had. For coffee and dessert, it might be fine. We ordered a tagliatelle Bolognese and a salad and they were both awful and serving size quite small. Salad looked very tired and the pasta looked dry as if it had been microwaved. Upon paying the bill, we asked whether this dish was made on the premises and staff told us, all the food was made off-premises and just heated up here at the café. Worst meal we had in 5 wks travelling around Italy. The food next door looked a lot better, but only discovered this when leaving!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jillybean58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Dropped into the Caffe 3 times during our visit to Lake Como. No complaints at all. Food was decent and reasonably priced, staff were efficient and friendly, and the seating looked out to the lake. What's not to like!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

The staff were quite nice, location is terrific but seriously the mushroom pizza had tinned mushrooms. The toasties were too dry and the panini was all bread.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Pete's P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Plentifull breakfast, good coffee and great location.
Fine service at table.
Stayed at the hotel anneks which was also great.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Horrible experience. I was there alone and nobody considered me. I was sitten in the middle of the local, staff saw me, but nobody asked me anything, or brought menu. Location is old and neglected. I stayed there for half an hour, then i went away. Every other cafè in the square is very very better.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ceschina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Centrale also viewed

 
Cadenabbia di Griante, Lake Como
 

Been to Caffe Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing