We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
US$123
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
149
73
15
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
149
73
15
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2019

It’s all about the view and the swimming deck.

This is one of the early hotels on the island and it is in a very good location perched right on the water’s edge. It is a short walk to Marina Corta with plenty of shops and restaurants. The village here has a nice feel about it.

The lady at the front desk is very professional, friendly and helpful. She speaks perfect English because she lived in London. She arranged a boat trip for our small group with Salvatore (Amici delle Eolie) and it was wonderful! (see separate review). She also arranged the free pick up and drop off to and from the harbour and this is a good service.

The other staff at this hotel were fairly efficient and pleasant except the head waiter (enough said).

We elected to pay extra for a sea view room with a small balcony and I would go so far as to say that this is essential. It is the main point of this hotel. In hindsight, I think you can do much better on this lovely island.

The room and bathroom were both clean and serviceable but fairly small. The shower is just too small to be comfortable. The Spa on the top level was not operational at the time of our visit.

We had dinner here on the first night and it was disappointing even though the terrace overlooking the sea is beautifully positioned. A group of six, we tried everything on the fixed menu and none of us really enjoyed any of it. Both choices for the main course fish had seen better days.

The Breakfast is typically Italian with a reasonable selection but food is somehow not the main focus at this hotel and that is a shame
.
It is the food and people that keep us coming back to Italy.

I couldn’t really recommend staying here unless the food improves.

Room tip: Sea view is essential
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P1800KLpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2018

The oldest and probably the best hotel on the island. Great location and views. The owner, his daughter and all The staff are always helpful, friendly and obliging. To get the best out of the hotel, pay extra to get a room with a sea view.
We have stayed at the Roche Azzure on numerous occasions over the years.
Fresh fish of the day, delicious.

Room tip: Any room with a sea view is good
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PatJam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We stayed here as part of a group at the end of June.
The hotel has a lovely location overlooking the sea with views out towards Sicily.

The rooms are basic but provide you with all the amenities that you require.
The rooms are clean and new towels each day.

We were half board - food was ok but nothing special and tended to get a bit boring.
One issue was that we felt that the group were treated less well than other residents - given tables at the back of the terrace.

The one really positive part of our holiday was our Guide - he took us to some great restaurants on other islands and in the countryside near Lipari.

I would recommend the hotel as a base for exploring the islands but I would suggest that it may be better to only opt for bed/breakfast and eat outwith the hotel in the evening.

Room tip: Try to get a room overlooking the bay
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teapot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights in late June/early July. This is a family run hotel and they will do their best to make your stay a pleasant and stress-free one. We were met at the port and enjoyed the squeeze of a drive round some very tight corners. Ariana, who greeted us at reception, was born in London and speaks fluent Italian too; she runs the hotel with her father. This proved very handy when we wanted to book a trip and arrange transport on to another island - she did the ringing up and organising for us.
Our room was simply furnished, with a comfy bed, large balcony and tremendous view. There's plenty of hot water, though the shower is a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast is typically Italian - fruit, cheese, salami, cakes, pastries, rolls, juice, coffee - and there is lunch and dinner available. We were on B and B basis, but ate in the hotel twice in the evening as we found it very good value for money. There is a selection of 3 dishes per course, and it's all fresh food, cooked to order, with not surprisingly an emphasis on fish.
You will be offered bottled water - there is no water source on the islands and it's transported by tanker from Napoli. Don't expect 'tap water' to drink.
There is wifi available in the room for around a euro per 24 hours, but my phone picked up 4G so it wasn't essential.
The walk back into the town/port is very pleasant and takes at most 10 minutes. Can I also suggest that if you're up for a little challenge, ask Ariana the way to the former Observatory which overlooks the nearby island of Vulcano. The view from the top is incredible and well worth the walk uphill.
We really enjoyed our stay here. It's not the poshest hotel you'll find, but it's friendly and relaxing. Ariana and the team will do their very best to look after you. She could give many receptionists lessons in how to look after guests.

Room tip: 108 has a lovely big balcony.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HBM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariana L, Responsabile reception at Hotel Rocce Azzurre & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear HBM1954,

thank you very much for your fantastic review!
We hope that you will be our pleasant guests again in the near furure.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stayed here 3 nights and did not want to leave. The location right on the cliffs and being able to dive straight into the sea, listening to the sea lapping and a lovely quiet room with really nice staff, what more would you want! They sent a car to pick us up from the hydrofoil. Breakfast was lovely, sitting on the terrace.

Room tip: We had a wonderful corner suite with amazing views.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rattlebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariana L, Responsabile reception at Hotel Rocce Azzurre & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you very much for you lovely review.
We hope that in the near future you will come back as our guests.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews