We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
38
22
15
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
22
15
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was in “Villa d’Este” in the beginning of July 2014. To be honest based on the reviews, I’ve expected more.

There are free parking spaces on the street available near to the hotel. Additionally there are two parkings available – one for “Villa d’Este” (free of charge) and one for Hotel Touring (5 euro per day).

The pool, which you can see on the picture is in fact really small. I wouldn’t say it’s suitable for swimming.

The room was relatively small and in desperate need of renovation. There were stains all over the walls, the tiles on the floor were not in the best conditions. Time to time the hallway in front of our room smelled like feet (no joke :) ). The bathroom was clean, but again with some broken tiles, etc. Unfortunately, several times the towels were far away from clean. The shower cabin was a bit small, but obviously it tends to be a standard in 3-stars hotels in Italy. There was a small fridge, air-condition and TV in the room – all working fine. The balcony was OK as well - small, but enough for a table and two chairs.

If your room is looking towards the street – be prepared for noisy mornings! We had the “luck” to have a bunch of “early birds” for neighbors and they woke us up at 8 o’clock latest every morning.

The breakfast was good. Boiled eggs, salami, ham and cheese, muesli, yogurt and fruits together with croissants, white and full grain bread.

There is a grocery shop, pharmacy and pizza place really close to the hotel. The beach is also not far away – about 10 min. walking distance. For the ‘newbies’ in going to Italy’s sea side (as we were this year) – be prepared that you have to pay to enter the beach. The minimum amount is 2 euro/person (just to enter) and it can grow to 8-13 euro/person if you want sun-chair and umbrella.

To sum up – “Villa d’Este” was not the worst place I’ve been, but I doubt I go back.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyF82, Web Marketing Manager at Villa d'Este, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Mrs July,

we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing this review. Opinions and suggestions made by our customers are of prime importance to us in order to better understand how improve our services.
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us and did not appreciated your accomodation. However our Staff pays close attention to all our Guests’ needs, so if you had said to receptionnists your dissatisfaction, they would have done everything possible to satisfy your requests (e.g. with a change of room).
Regarding your comment on our swimming pool, we are sorry that you found it small but we assure that it is perfectly suitable for swimming.
We are glad that you appreciated our breakfast and the hotel’s location. In any case, we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!
Kind regards

Hotel Villa d'Este***
Apogia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2021
Google Translation

Room tip: Fint med rom med utsikt over bassenget
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews